We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Perfect Bed for a Layover”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #104 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on a Singapore layover en route to Myanmar. What I like about the New Majestic Hotel is that it's such a contrast to the Singapore standard of skyscrapers and tower hotels. The rooms are all different with lots of personality and the hotel fits in with the very clean Chinatown. The breakfast wasn't memorable but who wants to eat at a hotel when you're in SIngapore - one of the best cities for food! Would love to stay here again! Thank you New Majestic!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptureSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear SFinLondon

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms. Housed in a conservation building, we offer guests a unique experience in Singapore where they are able to engulfed themselves in the local culture while still within close proximity to the local attractions.

Indeed, our location is also near lovely cafes, restaurants and local hawker centres where you can have authentic Singapore breakfast.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Quirky, interesting, fashionable, original, stylish unique!!!!
Not sure how to explain - maybe "fun" is the best description of our one night stay.
Located at the edge of Chinatown in a very traditional building on a smart street, there is a very contemporary "chic" feeling about this hotel, our aqua room fronted the main road, but was quiet (didn't need courtesy earplugs on bedside table) large bed and modern bathroom all very clean and tidy.
Lady who checked us in and man who greeted us (and was present on front desk most of the time) were very friendly and welcoming - unlike the restaurant staff. There were several other members of staff wandering round the hotel in a detached sort of way, I think they were staff but didn't wear uniforms.
I'm not really sure how to summarize this hotel - definitely "boutique" and "different" - maybe "trendy" - interesting "unfinished" style of decor.
Well, it's certainly an alternative option to the large chain hotels dotted across Singapore.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear manorom,

Greetings from Sunny Singapore

Thank you for choosing us to accommodate you during your visit here. The Front Office team will be very delighted to hear this compliment of them.

Housed in a conservation building, we offer our guests with a unique hotel experience away from typical chain hotels. Also, being a boutique hotel with only 30 individually designed rooms, we are able to discern our guest's preferences.

Once again, thank you for staying with us!
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you like your hotels a bit different this is one for you all the rooms are individual our room was a bit on the small side but we did have a large private outside area which included the bathtub. All the staff were extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble. Great location 10 minutes walks through China town to the centre by the river

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Graham C,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. The staff are very delighted to know of this compliment for them.

Our 30 rooms are individually designed by local artists hence no two rooms are alike!

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Till then, safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for one night sometime last December and we really enjoyed ourselves. The room was beautiful and I was really impressed.

So yes, it is a boutique hotel, each room is apparently designed differently by various artists and award winners. Apparently the restaurant on the ground floor is suppose to be amazing.. but honestly, the area of which the hotel is located is abundant with food.

We stayed in a Premier Garden Room, which btw didnt have a garden, but instead a marvelous bath tub on a patio outside the room. Of course, it is a private bath tub where it's surrounded by wooden fences(?). The creepy thing was these wooden fences linked to the next room's balcony and the entire area is not technically a balcony but rather an opening in the building. The patio is surrounded by 4 walls with your neighbours windows looking down on the bathtub, just that the bath tub is surrounded by a tentage, which btw does a good job keeping peepers out but audio wise... (Hope this is comprehensible)

Pros:
- Location
So close to China Town as well as Ang Siang Hill, which btw for those who do not know, is famous for restaurants and bars. Next to Outram Park MRT too
- Silence
Very quiet location.. well at least during that time i went to it was.
- Amenities
Even the amenities were given full attention. Branded and super nice.
- Room
Super nice with comfy bed, nice showers and good channels on the TV
- Facilities
Gym, Swimming pool

Cons:
- Parking
Limited but they do have valet
- Rules
Okay so my biggest -.- of this place is their rules. All guests are to be signed in. They make every single person whos staying over hand over their IC for it to be photocopied. They closely limit the number of people per room and even if you're a guest returning from dinner, they would demand evidence that you're from this hotel as you walk to the lifts.
Yes, security and all i get it. But i'm sure there's a better way.
- Receptionists
Didn't really know their stuff and some not very helpful.

A good hotel to stay in. Cons are minor. 4 stars due to their bad service. Well, may not be bad but I didn't really like it.

Room Tip: Ask what themed rooms are available and they'll let you choose. Or a surprise can be done too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear alyz25,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

We appreciate you taking time to write this very detailed review of your stay and are delighted to know that enjoyed your room. Indeed, each room, brimming with their own character and personality , is individually designed by local artists. Guests get to indulge in Kiehl's toiletries and all rooms are equipped with smart tvs and Nespresso coffeemakers just to name a few.

New Majestic Hotel is privileged to be located along the quaint neighbourhood of Chinatown which also boasts lovely cafes, restaurants and bars peppered within the vicinity!

We do want to address your feedback with regards to registering all guests. Safety and security is one of top priorities but do rest assured that all information are kept to the strictest confidentiality.

In addition, we are disappointed to hear that our front desk staff did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback with regards to this area, and have been addressed to the relevant department.

Nevertheless, we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back. Perhaps, you may want to try our sister property, Wanderlust Hotel, for your next staycation!

Till then, keep well.

Kind Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights for the F1 as it was a lovely hotel at great value. The Singapore transport system is so good I don't think it really matter how far away your are from the circuit. And there is a tube station right near the hotel. It is near 'real' Singapore shops and street food so I enjoyed this much more than the tourist areas.
The hotel is very stylish with original designer furniture ( eames, panton etc) which I'm a big fan of so was in my element! Clean and quirky rooms

Room Tip: Some rooms with the outdoor bath are much bigger than others so its worth asking for a larger one if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie2812UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Debbie2812UK,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel accommodation during the F1 race. We are glad you enjoyed your room. Making your stay comfortable is our utmost priority and we are delighted to have fulfilled that.

New Majestic is located along the fringe of Chinatown peppered with authentically local delights.

We look forward to having you come back to stay in the other rooms for a totally different experience.

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Special (designed) room; I loved the bathtub outside. Good facilities. The bed was excellent to sleep in. The food- choice for breakfast could be better (more fresh foods en vegetables). The coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sytske D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Sytske D,

Greetings from sunny Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for sharing your feedback with us.

We certainly look forward to having you with us again the next time your travels take you back to Singapore.

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We just finished a four day stay, recovering from jet-lag, on our way to Myanmar. The NMH was a great base for our R&R. Located on the edge of Chinatown, we had a modern, funky room. The furnishings were first rate. The bathroom/shower/tub areas were spacious and quite well appointed. There is a compact, more than adequate gym. The room came with breakfast, which was enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There also is a lovely outdoor pool.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JDOMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear JDOMJW,

Thank you for your time in sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

All our 30 rooms are uniquely designed by local designers which make for a very interesting visit each time! We are very proud to note that our team of staff had extended a level of service that led to a memorable and most enjoyable overall experience for you and your partner during your visit around Asia.

Have a safe and lovely trip in Myanmar and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Yours,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#130 of 317 in Singapore
583 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#90 of 317 in Singapore
951 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 317 in Singapore
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#103 of 317 in Singapore
905 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#96 of 317 in Singapore
839 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#128 of 317 in Singapore
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#89 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £114 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing