We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your room very carefully”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #97 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Choose your room very carefully”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is so cool it hurts!! Gorgeous styling and art but just not comfortable. I was travelling with my 18 year old daughter. We booked a lifestyle room but each room is so different that you really don't know what you are getting! The first room we were shown to had the bed on a landing reached by a step ladder and nowhere else in the room to sit apart from the bath. We were moved to another room (no offer to help with our bags and i had to get the key myself) This room had no window and mirrors all over the ceiling and walls. Also you had to get into the bath to have a shower. Finally we spoke to a manager who was very helpful and moved us to an attic suite. The bed wa still on a platform reached by a ladder but at least we had other seating! There is no bar area downstairs and very little seating area by the pool. The hotel location is very convenient for Chinatown and the MRT but you are paying a lot for cool!

Room Tip: If a window is important make sure you specify that. Also be aware that some of the rooms have beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Fourstones,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us at New Majestic Hotel!

Set within a heritage building, the architectural constraints create for a unique take on the interior design and layout. To maximise the space and create a one of a kind experience every time our guests return, each Lifestyle Room is designed by prominent local personalities and design agencies, making every room different and out of the ordinary. Having said that, this can pose as a challenge in assigning rooms to our first time guests as each individual may have their preferences which are not communicated to our reservations department. However when the guests are open to a unique experience and we manage to provide this, the gratification is more than overwhelming.

I would like to add that, we are always happy to receive more information about guests’ necessities, likes and dislikes, before their arrival, to assign the most appropriate room depending on availability.

We are sorry to hear our Front Office Staff did not assist you with your luggage, and we will forward your concerns to the involved department.

We are happy to hear you were able to find a room that suited your needs better in the end, and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with your daughter. The neighbourhood we are in is a vibrant enclave and we have the good fortune of having some of the best coffee shops and bistros in the area. We are pleased you were able to enjoy this as well.

We hope to get a chance to welcome you back in Singapore!

Safe travels,

Cheers,
Shari Knott
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    292
    74
    27
    19
See reviews for
44
402
74
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Well worth staying at.Staff were great & the restaurant is pretty good too. Our room was clean & comfortable with a massive bed laden with pillows & crisp white bedding & overlooked the pool. Its a short walk to Chinatown & just round the corner from Outram MTR station,easy to get anywhere.Lots of interesting reading in the foyer,staff were calm & friendly.The only downside was no bar & the restaurant charged $12 (singapore dollars) for a beer which normally retails around $5 or $6.
Would highly recommended & much nicer than a huge boring monolith of a hotel,of which there are many in Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi nicola k,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel! Thank you for your kind compliment of our staff. It’s always good to know that they made your experience a memorable one; from the front desk to the room attendants.

While there is no bar in the hotel, we are in close proximity to Keong Saik Street peppered with hip and happening bars and restaurants. Nevertheless, the in-room mini bar is stocked with beers that retails around $5-$6. Should you require it to be restocked, our team will be happy to assist.

Thank you for your recommendation and do watch out for our newest hotel property closer to home for you in Sydney which is slated to be opened next year! We certainly look forward to welcoming you to our sunny shores again soon!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I spent 4 nights at the New Majestic Hotel in Singapore. Overall my experience was good. The hotel is located on a quiet street, it is clean, stylish and offers a great outdoor pool and small gym. Staff are helpful and friendly.

I did have some wifi speed issues as my room was a little far from the lobby, so make sure to ask for a room with decent wifi.

Also, if showering in the middle of the room isn't your thing, you might want to reconsider your booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripandvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Tripandvisor,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for your time in writing this feedback for all of us here at Tripadvisor.

It is heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the services and facilities that we offer. Our team of staff are delighted to know that they have extended a service worthy of a mention.

We have taken note of your comment with regards to the wifi and are looking into alternatives to make it seamless for our guests to use.

Designed for the intrepid travelers who value unique hotel experiences, each of the 30 rooms is individually designed hence no two rooms are alike. Some rooms have a bath in the middle, which makes for a unique bathing experience while some have a private patio with an outdoor bath. We also have a more conservative bathroom area for some of the rooms. Having said that, we recognise that each guests will have their own take of the rooms.

Do watch out for our latest property that is currently in the works at your side of the world; Sydney!

Till then, safe travels!

Cheers!
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for my husbands birthday and loved it. We booked an Aqua room- spacious, light and with a huge, comfy bed. The gym is small but adequate and the pool a nice place to chill out. Breakfast was good, and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Although the Aqua room we stayed in was nice, we had a poor nights sleep as it faced onto a road whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi elfish,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of accommodation during your husband's birthday. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team of staff.

We understand that some guests may be more sensitive to noise than others, hence we provide ear plugs for all our rooms. We will definitely do what we can to eradicate/minimise the noise issue you experienced.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the New Majestic after our booking at a nearby hotel was cancelled due to maintenance problems. We loved it. We had the "Fluid" room on the third floor which overlooked the pool. It had a large sitting area, very comfortable (sunken) bed, and fabulous shower. Staff were lovely to deal with and very helpful. Nice breakfast. The pool is not large but it was fantastic to cool off in at this time of year. There is also a gym but I was not energetic enough for that. Lovely Kiel toiletries. Nespresso in room.

The hotel is located in a great area with lots of restaurants and wine bars, and close to MRT and Chinatown.

We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Fluid Room was great - large and airy. Every room is designed by a different designer - different t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Lanny48

Thank you for your constructive feedback of your stay with us. We strive to ensure that all our guests have a fantastic time at New Majestic Hotel, and we are truly pleased to hear that your stay was no exception.

The Fluid room, designed by fashion designer, Wykidd Song, is soothing to the eyes with the lovely curves and calm colours. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed it! Being a boutique hotel with a total of only 30 rooms, it is an intimate setting where we get to pay closer attention to each guest's needs.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcome you back again to try the other rooms all brimming with character and personality.

Keep well and safe travels!

Kind Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

stayed in this nice ltitle hotel for 5n in a two-floor room overlooking the pool. plenty of "boutique" type quirks in this place. think of industrial lights, recycled furniture, plywood crates, etc. front desk staff were nice, the room was nicely laid out and the breakfast was good. room service was prompt. bathroom ran out of hot water easily, not enough of it to fill the bath. quite strange, given their room rates, i must say! internet was free, but logging in was not without hassles, fix they could fix the gateway page or get rid of the broken authentication arrangement altogether! location is quiet and convenient, near MRT. I almost feel like staying I would go back to this when in Singapore the next time, but I feel that for this rate I might find some other nice little hotel with plenty of hot water and a functional internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urmsu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hi urmsu888,

Greetings from sunny Singapore!
We appreciate you taking the time and acknowledging our services and facilities. It is always heartening to know that our team of staff extended a lovely service during your stay with us.

We are disappointed to hear about your comment on the water heater. Housed in a conservation building, we did face the challenge of balancing minimal alternations of the historical building while adding on new hardware to make our guests stay comfortable. Be rest assured that we are constantly finding alternatives to improve our product.

Nevertheless, we are glad to know that you found our location convenient. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a renewed experience.

Till then, safe travels.

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The service was very good and the room was great! We stayed in the 'bath' room and the design / room interior was something different and we enjoyed it a lot! The hotel is situated close to public transport and within a very nice street in old China town. People that appreciate good design will enjoy staying at this quirky hotel! We had fun!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Warno R,

Greetings from Unlisted Collection!

We appreciate you taking time to write this review. Indeed, New Majestic Hotel is designed for the intrepid traveler with a spirit of wanderlust, never settling for the norm. It is heartening to know that you appreciate our rooms and that you were well taken care of by our team of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon in our sunny shores!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#127 of 314 in Singapore
574 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 314 in Singapore
1,544 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 314 in Singapore
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#109 of 314 in Singapore
855 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#92 of 314 in Singapore
823 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#124 of 314 in Singapore
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Property: New Majestic Hotel
Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#84 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing