We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh design, helpful staff, not cheap, breakfast ok, location ok”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #101 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Loved this hotel: picked it from the Wallpaper* guidebook for Singapore. Selected it for the bold interior design.

Downsides: rooms on the street are noisy. As charming as a balcony on karaoke bar can be, trying to sleep through it at 1am is no fun. Had to turn on a tornado-like fan to cover the noise and, even then... Not impressed. Complementary breakfast is ok, but scarce, with few little pieces of fruit, two different dumplings, miso soup, generic muesli and long-life yoghurt. Location is a little remote, and one has to chip in quite a few cabs to get around, but the neighbouring Chinatown is charming.

Upsides: great design, with each room done differently. Quirky washrooms, brilliant complimentary Khiels toiletry, luscious bed linen, complimentary doughnuts and non-alcoholic drinks (wow!). I tried two rooms (after asking to be moved away from the noisy room, and having to pay 90$Sing extra for it). First room was Aqua Suite, with great cube for bath and shower at the center of the room. Second room was a plush 'shag quarter' with wall to wall carpet and floor inset bed. That proved to be a comfy night of sleep, with no noise either from the overlooked pool, or from people walking down the hall. And the website is the best I have ever seen in terms of what you see is what you get; although I was 'upgraded' away from the room I had originally selected...

Overall: great design, great crowd. Not planning to make it my Singapore pied-à-terre. Too many other great places to sample, and wouldn't want to gamble an other inadvertent 'upgrade'.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikoPseudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for New Majestic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed at the New Majestic in August 2008 (yes, I know, I'm just getting around to doing my reviews).

We stayed in one of the Attic Suites, which was a really amazing room. On two levels - a large lounge/television room in one half of downstairs, and two huge baths in the other half, and upstairs in the loft one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The steps up to the bed are a little hard to handle when one has been drinking, but otherwise no complaints. The design of the rooms is clever, very cool and extremely well done - there has been no stinting on the cost here.

The hotel really does think of everything - free internet, free drinks, a coffee machine that makes very good coffee in the room, wonderful toiletries.

The staff, while seemingly a little young and inexperienced, more than made up for that with their friendliness and willingness to help. We were checked in promptly and they always welcomed us back to the hotel when we arrived back from shopping.

When we found out that our flight out of Singapore had been cancelled, they organised us a room to stay in incredibly quickly, and then just as quickly and happily cancelled it (without charge) when we found out we had been shifted to a different flight that same night. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant is good and plentiful (if not worldbeating)

Add all of that to the wonderful food at the restaurant for dinner, the great cocktails (at the usual Singapore prices unfortunately) at the bar attached to the hotel, and the location close to China Town, and this place is very hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tattoosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

The New Majestic Hotel has all of the elements of a great stay: unique rooms which are also comfortable, relaxed but well-trained staff, and a good location at the bottom of Chinatown. The swimming pool, which has portholes overlooking the dining room, is great fun, and there's an air conditioned fitness room too. This hotel gets all the extras right, with free soft drinks included in the room, free doughnuts to welcome you there, free internet access (and laptops to borrow)...as well as its owner's quirky collection of chairs. If you're a backpacker, this is worth the extra money; if you're here on business or leisure, this will be one hotel you will always remember.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journalistontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed at the New Majestic on a one night stopover in one of the lifestyle rooms. The hotel interior is cool, minimalist and the port holes in the restaurant looking straight up into the swimming pool are a nice touch. All the rooms have a different theme; the one we stayed in was the pussy parlour... Bright, colourful and not to everyone's taste but the room layout is intriguing, with a glass-encased bath as the focal point. The room facilities are great, with a Bose hi-fi, flat-screen TV, nespresso coffee maker, free wi-fi, free soft drinks from the mini bar (yes, really!) and Kiehl's goodies.

However, the best thing about the hotel is the service... A very warm welcome at reception on arrival and friendly staff throughout. As we were flying out of Singapore on a midnight flight, we were able to leave our bags with concierge after checking out... standard stuff. However, the staff were also kind enough to let us shower and change before our flight, which is almost unheard of and a really great touch after a long day walking around Singapore.

This isn't a cheap hotel, but if you're looking for a great boutique hotel away from the Orchard Road circus, give the New Majestic a go!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We loved this hotel. Stayed one night on a stopover. A stone's throw away from Outram Park MRT so we got the MRT to and from the airport. Great if you don't want to stay in an impersonal corporate gaff on Orchard Rd (we're staying in one of those on the way back home!).
We arrived at 7.30am and realised we were pushing it to expect to check in at that time, so were told to return at 12.30. We left them with our bags and got the MRT into town.
Lovely room - would really recommend spending the extra and getting a "Garden room" - comes with an outside bath on a private terrace which is fun (see picture). Room much smaller than in many other hotels but not a problem when you get used to it. Shower (brill!) and toilet were kind of "in the room" with glass walls which was a bit weird at first - but again this became a bit quirky.
Lots of lovely little extras. Don't read older reviews if you want to be surprised of what they are. Good breakfast. We had a really late flight so after we checked out (12 noon) we returned later in the evening and had a shower in one of the rooms, which was really welcome after a day in the Singapore heat. We payed 164 GBP for B& B through Agoda. Wouldn't normally pay this much for a hotel but it was a treat.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank mossleytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

My wife just spent 2 night in Singapore's Majestic Hotel.
The Majestic is located in Chinatown just 2 minutes from a MRT station, so the location is very convenient. Whether its design appeals to you is matter of taste, we found it amazing. We has a room with an outside bathtub, which is very recommendable. Service is impeccable and we found everything to our liking. But really exceptional is how professional and nice the staff was.
One example: Our flight back home was at 11.30pm. so we asked for a late checkout. Unfortunately the room was booked for the next night, so they could only offer us 2pm, So we left our luggage at the hotel and came back to pick it up at 8pm. When we came back they remembered our request and offered us a different room for a shower before we got to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mlddrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

I had some reservations about booking here, as I had on many previous occasions stayed at the Fullerton. These were swiflty got rid of on check in, by the very friendly and helpful staff whom made my stay exceptional.

The bed room was compact, but contained everything that was needed. The bathroom outside was fabulous, and the general design very good. Some of the finishing were a touch tired, and there were some general maintenance problems.

Food was excellent, and much enjoyed, as the Bar was of a high standard

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank infoatthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#134 of 316 in Singapore
580 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,562 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 316 in Singapore
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#105 of 316 in Singapore
883 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#127 of 316 in Singapore
251 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#94 of 316 in Singapore
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#88 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £598 - £638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing