We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST... ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #89 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The BEST... ever.”
Reviewed 25 November 2009

So much of traveling is the people you meet along the way. The staff of the New Majestic Hotel are such memorable people. From stepping out of the taxi, to leaving for the airport at the end of our stay, the gals and guys working there were the most genuinely enthusiastic, cheerful, helpful and welcoming gang that we've ever experienced in many years of traveling. Please just keep doing what you're doing ! It's Working !
We want to move in permanently to be close to our new family (Deine, Vim and the boys at the front desk) !
Oh yeah, Cozy Boutique Rooms, Great Location, Tasty Breakfast included...
Very Romantic !!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2009
So glad to hear that you’ve had a wonderful time in Singapore. It is an honour to be considered “family” by the both of you! We really hope you will visit us again in the near future. Once again, thank you for giving us the chance to play host during your time in Singapore. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sunniest regards on behalf of all Front Desk staffs at New Majestic Hotel,
Ain
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    290
    73
    27
    18
See reviews for
44
402
74
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We stayed for 2 days at this hotel, and it was absolutely fantastic ! The staff were amazing, and went far beyond and above expectations. The room was brilliant, the outdoor bath excellent, the bathrobes amazing and so on. The location is also really convenient, and it is easy to walk to most of the sights and also good areas for a night out. Top hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2009
Thank you for staying with us those 2 nights! First of all, it was a real pleasure having you guys on board. Our bathrobes and bed linen are of the highest quality (PLOH, if you’ve heard of it), that’s why the great comfort. Really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see more of you and your loved ones here again!

Sunny regards from New Majestic Hotel Singapore,
Angela
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Three of us went for a de-stressing time and were fabulously delighted. Each of us had a different room type (our choice) and all were fantastic. Also had a look at many of the other rooms - hard to pick the one I like best.
The staff are wonderful and could not do enough for us (even when we asked for th odd requests). Really close to the MRT which makes it easy to move around Singapore.
We appreciated the little touches the most, like the free bottled water which we could then take with us each day when we went outside and the absolutely fabulous bathrobes.
Am going to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2009
First of all, we wish to thank you three for choosing our hotel for a comfortable stay in Singapore! Well, we do have so many other rooms for you guys and your family and friends to try out. We sure hope to see you all once more, and will be glad to be of great service for your other round of holidaying in Singapore!

Sunny regards from New Majestic Hotel Singapore,
Angela
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed at the New Majestic at the beginning of our holiday and at the end before returning to London.
First time we stayed in one of the garden rooms with the outdoor cast iron bath, we loved it!
The room was quirky and fun, but without sacrificing comfort. The linen super soft, the softest bathrobes ever, and Kielh's toiletries.
The staff were all incredibly friendly and the breakfast adecuate.
On our departure first time around, we didn't have to jump on the plane until the evening but were checking out in the morning, we asked for a late check out and what we got was even better, we were allowed to come back to the hotel after exploring the city and have a shower, which was great! We had the shower in one of the loft rooms which was in two levels, again different and very cool.
We liked the hotel and the experience so much that at the end of our holiday we spent another night before flying back to the UK.
This time we had a lifestyle room, we saw three, all very different and cool, went for the one called "Untitled". It was the dream room that one would like to have at home, white, great lighting and cool furniture, loved it!!
Definitely one of my favorite hotels. Great design, great staff, great unique rooms and very comfortable.
I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nenamandarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2009
We are so glad to hear that you had fun staying with us! Since you have seen 3 of our rooms, why not come back for the rest of the 27 rooms? Just kidding! But we sure do hope to see you both and your family here exploring around again with us. Remember to tell us which are your favourite rooms so we can offer them to you if it is available!

Sunny regards from New Majestic Hotel Singapore,
Pradeep
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We had made a booking more than two months ahead for a room with a private verandah and an outdoor bathtub (Premier Garden room) and that was the only reason we wanted to stay in that hotel. At the check-in we were told that this room type was fully booked (?!) and they would give us an upgrade for a higher standard room. We were really disappointed when we were given a small loft room (Lifestyle room) and it did not feel like an upgrade at all.

When we got back home I went to their website and noticed that this room was not an upgrade but a cheaper than the one we had payed for!

After travelling around Malaysia and staying in all kinds of hotels New Majestic was the only disappointment and the only one with cockroaches!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rausku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Operations Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to express your disappointment. As we take all guest feedback seriously, your comment is important to us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall in our services, in which we have failed to provide you the original room type that you have booked for. It was not our intention to disappoint you, as it is our usual practise to do selective upgrades for first-visit time guests with no specific room preference during high occupancy.

Your booking was one of them that have been upgraded from Premier Garden to Majestic Lifestyle King.

We''ve done a check on your last stay and found that the room assigned was 309 which is one of our Lifestyle King Room and not a Lifestyle Junior.

Perhaps there might be a misunderstanding or wrong perception of the room category, as at New Majestic, there are three different loft concept rooms; one being the Life Style Junior, Lifestyle King and the Attic Suite.

You were right that the Lifestyle Junior Room is one category lower than Premier Garden but the Lifestyle King Room are two category higher than the Premier Garden which is smaller in room size.

Once again, my apologies for any inconvenience caused and we regret that the assigned was not to your preference. We certainly hope for an opportunity to redeem ourselves. In this regard, please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your future booking, i'll personally look into your reservation.

Thank you !

Regards,
Florence Guang
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

What a wicked time we had at the New Majestic. Great location in a trendy part of Chinatown with some great bars especially the hotels! The area has a similar vibe to Shoreditch/Hoxton in London. The hotel has the most amazing staff especially Zairi and Pradeep who were so helpful All the rooms are individually decorated by a designer and are fabulous, I urge you to check out the pictures on the website. The biggest and most comfy bed ever, iPOD docking station, great breakfast included, great toiletries - Kielhs and a balcony over the street. Oh and free internet in the lobby on one of the hotels laptops. How cool is that. NB however that some of the rooms share a warm with the banging bar next door so could be noisy but we were told of this when choosing a room but overlooks a quiet street with little traffic. Can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Supervisor at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2009
Glad to hear that you had a great time with us! We can’t wait for you and your friends to come visit us again too. Maybe this time you guys could try out the other rooms that we have. Do remember to leave behind a comment if you wish for a quieter room, or if there is a room you wish to try out. Anticipating your return!

Sunny regards from New Majestic Hotel Singapore,
Zairi
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
254 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Very nice hotel with a lot of details in the room like free wifi, free Nespressos, ipod dock, outdoor bath tub... Well located next to the underground.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tizibcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2009
It was a great pleasure having you here with us! Glad to hear that you had a fun time holidaying here in Singapore. Looking forward to seeing you here again!

Sunny regards from New Majestic Hotel Singapore,
Deine
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
1,481 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#96 of 306 in Singapore
790 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#82 of 306 in Singapore
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#125 of 306 in Singapore
564 reviews
Naumi Liora
#97 of 306 in Singapore
810 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 306 in Singapore
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Property: New Majestic Hotel
Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#80 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing