We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Gem of a Hotel”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #97 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed for two nights in May and loved New Majestic. Service is exceptional. Pradeep, the Guest Services Executive was so helpful when we checked in and out. Top marks.
Hotel has a great design. Rooms are modern, well designed and comfortable. Free wireless internet is very good. Stayed in a Garden Room which has a terrace and outdoor bath which was really nice. Hotel is in a very good location to MRT and China Town. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments despite the brief stay you had with us. Pradeep is especially glad that he had made your stay pleasant. We are glad to know you enjoyed our Premier Garden room, as well as the designs and the location of the hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you're in Singapore, and perhaps experience the other 29 rooms. Once again, we thank you for your warm reviews. Cheers!

Warmest Regards
Vim
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    292
    74
    27
    19
See reviews for
44
402
74
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

(+)
- Shower vanities modern
- nice bed, bed linen, bathrobe
- nespresso machine
- give us many bottle water and 1 juice.
- nice pool view but no one swims
- close to MRT station.
- Staffs are helpfull, pretty and nice.
- we still on honeymoon season
- we feel want to stay more.

(-)
- no Bath
- room is small, bedroom, bathroom.
- breakfast is not much variety, but nice food
- tv not many channel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RnWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Greetings from sunny Singapore!
We hope you had a wonderful honeymoon, and wished you could have stayed longer with us.
The next time you're here, we would be pleased to book you into our Premier Garden rooms, which has an extension to outdoor bathtub, or the Aqua Rooms, which has a glass-encased bathtub feature. We have also recently expanded our tv channels selection, and look forward to having you back in the near future.
Meantime, we wish you safe travels and take care. Cheers!

Warm regards,
Vim
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed for 2 nights from June 13 - 15 and highly recommend this little gem of a hotel!

Nestled in a convenient location in Chinatown, close to a MRT station and a short train ride away from most sites and malls, everything from the service, cleaniness and room comfort was first class. We arrived very early from our flight and was offered a room upgrade and early check-in as our pre-booked room was not ready, which we accepted given the reasonable rate. The room was cozy, clean and comfortable for 2 people and tastefully decorated - we felt at home right away!

I had read many reviews here praising the customer service at NMH prior to booking and can definitely verify that it's first class! From the check-in staff and bellhops to the restaurant staff and cleaners - excellent service with a smile. I would especially like to praise Pradeep for his friendly welcome and going above & beyond to make our stay a memorable one - thanks Pradeep.

We will definitely be coming back to this little gem on our next visit to Singapore!

Cameron & Alastair

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammy_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2010

tastefully decorated rooms with fantastic facilities, Bright, spacious and modern, What makes our stay memorable is the courtsey and the helpfulness of the staff. They learnt our names during the first day and addressed us by our names through out our stay. Whenever we needed any information about Singapore, they responded immediately and accurately, with a smile. We like a small hotel since all the facillities are so close by. There is no long hallway to walk to our room. We went up to the roof top where there is a bar. The view is quite gorgeous, and the setting is very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2010
Warmest greetings from New Majestic Hotel.
We are glad to know that the team went all out to assist you. Thank uou for taking the time to give us your review. We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel and made your stay memorable. We hope to have you back with us again and perhaps next time, in a different room? Till then, take care!
Best Wishes,
Vim
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Great position and well designed hotel which give us a very good time to stay in Singapore. The only thing that our room is a bit small, however it is very clean. The staff was so pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2010
Warm hellos from the New Majestic team in Singapore!
Thank you for the compliments, and we are glad to have been of service to you. We look forward to having you here with us again and perhaps the next time, we could book you in rooms which are much more spacious.
Sunny Regards from New Majestic Hotel,
Vim
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed at this hotel in a premier garden room for one week in March and found the room to be modern & had very comfortable bed & linen. The rooms were not large but were designed to make most of the space. The outdoor bath was fantastic. The rooms were cleaned spotlessly & regularly. The swimming pool was small but very nice. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. The location was only a couple of minutes walk to the MRT, and was only a couple of stops away from Clarke Quay. Only criticism would be regarding the beer fridge which did not keep things cold at all. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Sales & Marketing Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Good to hear that you enjoyed our Garden room with the outdoor bath (my personal favourite too!). We've noted your feedbacks on the fridge and have informed the respective department to look into it. We hope that the next time you're in town, we can be of service again. Keep well, and hope to see you soon.
Safe travels, cheers!
Sincerely yours,
Sri Wahidah Masturi
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Stayed at the hotel in March 2010 for a couple of days. The hotel was perfect in every way. Cool design hotel, very clean. The staff couldn't be better, very helpful and always friendly! Breakfast was great and everything fresh - although no big selection (definitely prefer the quality and freshness of the food!). Great location, middle of Chinatown, underground station just round the corner and lot of sights in walking distance. Would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again. If you are not staying on your own, then take the larger rooms. Free local calls, free internet, free water, free Nespresso machine on the room ... what else do you need?!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mw0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Guest Services Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you so much for the compliments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back soon.
Sunny Regards from Singapore,
Vim
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#127 of 314 in Singapore
574 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 314 in Singapore
1,544 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 314 in Singapore
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#109 of 314 in Singapore
855 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#92 of 314 in Singapore
823 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#124 of 314 in Singapore
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Property: New Majestic Hotel
Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#84 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing