We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay”
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #175 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for one night stopover. The hotel is in a good location close to MRT, shops and Little India. We were able to get public transport easily too and from the hotel. Room was very small but nice and clean. Bed was comfortable and staff we nice. Hot water and wifi were good. Not sure what breakfast was like as we had to leave really early in the morning for our flight. Would stay again if it was just for a few nights :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

location is about 5mins from little india station. price is not bad for a relatively new building. walking distance to stores and food shops. area is generally safe at night. we entered a bar that looks like a house but everything is different on the rooftop. it is sort of like a sports bar. great thing about this is there is a projector showing the game which uses the wall of a neighbor as a screen!

Room Tip: book online. you may also make specific requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

On arrival at the hotel all seemed well, we checked in made our way to our small, clean room and settled ourselves in. The hotel is basic as I imagined but when you're in Singapore all you really need is a clean comfortable bed and a good nights sleep. This is where things take a sharp downturn. We arrived back at the hotel at around 1am, went to our room and got into bed. The mattress is hard and completely covered in a plastic coating, throughout the night as the sheets slid away from the mattress I became stuck to the plastic and had to peel myself off the bed. So 6 sticky, uncomfortable and restless hours later the fun kicked off. The sound of Indian music erupted into the total darkness of our windowless room accompanied by some top of his voice, out of tune singing from the cleaning staff. Raised voices, whistling, shouting, singing, the noise was unbelievable. Enough to make me think I had overslept and it must be about 10am. Nope it was 7:15. I am writing this review after making a booking at a different hotel for tonight. I can't bare the thought of another night here. As many other reviewers have stated budget accommodation is not easy to find in Singapore but please look a little further than this. It lacks the fundamentals.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessica_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It was my 2nd time in Singapore.We booked 1 twin room thru internet for 2 nights. We arrived 3 am at the hotel, one of our friend who works in Singapore fetched us at the airport. Since its too late for her to go home we asked her to sleep in the hotel. The hotel charged us SGD40 for the extra bed, too expensive since its already morning when we arrived.
The rooms are small but clean. Hotel looks new. Location is very good. Walking distance to Bugis Street , Bugis MRT station and Bugis Market.
The hotel don't offer breakfast since they don't have restaurant inside the hotel. Anyway there are a lot of small local restaurant in the area.
Free Wifi. Water, coffee and tea is also provided.
Overall our stay was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EloiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Early check in was not allowed but with additional amount( a small fee) was allowed immediately. The Hotel does not have any restaurant which means you have to go out for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. A lot of places nearby where you can eat. This is equi-distance from Bugis MRT and Little India MRT. The room is not big but should say is adequate. The mattress is good and the room is provided with Tea /coffee making facilities. A bottle of Mineral water is provided every day. There is a Flat screen TV with a few satellite channels. Free Wifi is also available. It is easy to get taxis to go around when not using the MRT. The hotel is mostly full with group bookings from tour operators.

Would definetely stay again when in Singapore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knhegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very clean room and smells good. Everyday we've got new beddings, water, coffee and tea. It is also near MRT, Bugis and Little India station. The place was also quiet, we had a good night sleep. Also near to bus, food, shopping. Free WIFI. Overall our stay was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Clean hotel but quite small. For the price paid, don't expect much. Clean, small, decent hotel. This worked well for our one night stay. Staffs were friendly. Via booking online you will provided with free wifi which was great. Lots of food places nearby as well as MRT, so easy to get around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#148 of 319 in Singapore
296 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#202 of 319 in Singapore
200 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#165 of 319 in Singapore
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#141 of 319 in Singapore
589 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#124 of 319 in Singapore
527 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#167 of 319 in Singapore
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £40 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing