We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #165 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 30 November 2013

we stayed 4 nights in our 1st visit to SG. It has nice little room with twin beds, though they were a bit dusty. the staff is nice and responsive. but one thing i got annoyed is the noise from the corridor as we could hear it clearly people passing and talking. despite that, easy access to Little India MRT is a good point.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 81 Dickson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

2nd stay at hotel 81 Dickson in 3 years. Not much has changed. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Reception staff could be a bit happier to welcome you. We always feel like we're an inconvenience interrupting the reception staff. Location good with easy access to MRT.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souchyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nothing special about. I know already what to expect with the price. Was staying here for four nights for exhibition. My assistant booked this hotel for me because it looks pretty close to the place of the exhibition and meet our budget. Barely stay in the night to sleep. Out all day :)
The service was good enough. It's Singapore, can't compare to Bali though. In Bali even for 2 stars accommodation we would feel like a king.

You can just walk to Bugis Junction/Street from the hotel. Very close. Not that bad for the location if you know how to go around and didn't get lost.

Room Tip: ask them if we you could choose a room without hearing other people slam the door from the next room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank putu_bali_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our room was not ready for us. The first room had broken pieces of glass in the room, used tissue behind the toilet door and hair in the bathroom. We got shifted to another room , which was similar with dust on the window cill and hair in the bathroom. We called the housekeeping to clean the room. But he was least bothered, so we ended up cleaning the room ourselves. The location is the only advantage with a quick walk to the station. The entrance lobby and waiting area are decent enough. Not bad for budget travelers, but be ready to clean the room yourselves. Also, I could hear every conversation from the corridor. Bad acoustics.

Room Tip: Make sure to take the window rooms and check the rooms for cleanliness.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonal_2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We love the hotel, as v stayed for 2 nites, the rooms r very clean n the hotel staff r very helpful specially Mr. Wee Assistant Manager he help us to guide about the areas to look around I Singapore.
I would like to visit again in future :)

Room Tip: It is in little india every thing near to it
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueman_basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is overall average. However, for a short stay I couldn't find anything better for better value for money. We were a family of 5 and stayed in a large family room.

The room was spacious enough and clean. but the bath/toilet was quite small and a bit leaky.
There are plenty of small eateries around so finding a place to eat is not a problem. Mum enjoyed the short walk to Mustafa centre.

From western standards, this was of a 3 star motel standard but good value for money.
I would recommend this for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YohanDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

clean budget hotel with friendly staff.ideal for a budjet traveler if only seeking a bed for the night and nothing luxurios.
stayed 4 nights in a windowless room,didnt mind it at all because we spent very few hours in the room and only for sleep after exhausting full day traveling and activities.
can take bus to bugis MRT or walk 15mnts.there're few indian restraunts nearby as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockyroe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#198 of 316 in Singapore
197 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#107 of 316 in Singapore
508 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#156 of 316 in Singapore
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#153 of 316 in Singapore
558 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#166 of 316 in Singapore
336 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#181 of 316 in Singapore
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £40 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing