We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved, great value for Singapore.”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #92 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Much improved, great value for Singapore.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

You can`t do better at this price in Singapore. Have stayed 4 times over last 10 years or so.
Used to be called Gateway Hotel so if you have an older taxi driver tell him that. Younger driver will want the street No (60) to GPS it. I paid SGD 97/night via Agoda who are very reliable as are Expedia. Excellent for short stay stop-overs in Sing.
Rooms, newly refurbed, are very good. Staff now v friendly and helpful. They have obviously paid attention to reviews.

Communications: Free local calls from your room or lobby (dial 7 for line). Free Wi-Fi is good but would not connect in my room (224). Fine in comfy lobby. Staff offered to get their IT guy in to fix it but short stay so told them not to bother.

Getting there: If you have luggage, family etc do not take MRT.It is 10 mins min walk from nearest stations (Eunos or Payer Labar) and Singapore is hot! Get a cab for 12-15 SGD.

District: Multi cultural. A bit of a red light area but you could take your grandma to this hotel. In my case difficult as there is not yet an MRT link from heaven. If you read the hotel rules beside the bed, immorality is not allowed! Quaint but it means that this is most definitely not a short time joint.
Many low price excellent restaurants. Western breakfast a bit difficult as hotel has no coffee shop. Hint to Champion, do a deal with next door. You could walk 15mins down Joo Chiat towards Parkway, past all the Karaoke joints, you`ll find good breakfast spots and wonderful old style Singapore architecture (5 mins taxi). Or wait til 9.30am, pop across rd to Joo Chiat Centre, look for the yellow chairs (near Maybank), get 2 hot boiled eggs, toast and sweet Sing tea for S$2 pp. Unless you want chloresteroll OD, ask for no lard on toast!

Last Tip: Save luggage weight, buy new shoes in Singapore. Good value, especially men`s.

Room Tip: All good but make sure wi-fi connection ok in yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank heyexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    202
    55
    15
    6
See reviews for
82
143
58
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kampong Jerudong, null, Brunei
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Newly refurbished hotel. Excellent room and amenities. My room was clean and free Wifi. The hotel is close to many eateries. I only stayed for a night but it was a pleasant stay. The staff was friendly and even helped to call taxi for me in the early morning. Good value for money even though no breakfast provided.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jefrisarean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Rooms are clean and tidy. Several eateries nearby within walking distant. Easy access to taxi. Newly refurbished. Free wifi. Spacious room and good value for money. Breakfast not available in hotel. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetLowChampionHote, Manager at Champion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for your review.

We will continue to maintain and improve our service standard
and quality, so as to provide you with an enjoyable and pleasant
stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

New urban chic hotel in Singapore. Arrived late night into Singapore and had booked this hotel which is near Joo chiat. Most taxi did not know about this hotel, closest is to let the taxi driver know this hotel is beside hotel 81.

The rooms were clean and enjoyable, aircon was cool and the room was not the fussy and fanciful kind, but spacious and adequate for a good night stay. Amenities is also provided with clean towel.


Really enjoyed my stay and value for money for the night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aliltoolate_blogspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetLowChampionHote, Manager at Champion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Aliltoolate,

Thank you for your review.

We will continue to maintain and improve our service standard
and quality, so as to provide you with an enjoyable and pleasant
stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

As a place to put your head down for a day or two, Champion is ok. But no more than that. At SG$105 (inclusive of taxes, services but not breakfast) the value is probably as good as anything in Singapore which is, IMHO, one of the most over-priced cities in the world.

My 'de-luxe' room was ok, slightly more than adequate; the double bed reasonably comfortable; pillows and sheets reasonably soft; room & bathroom reasonably clean; 'free' toiletries miserably minimal (like there's a Scrooge in Accounts).

The towels, though - the towels were terrible. I wonder if Scrooge in Accounts has ever tried to dry herself with Champion's towels? These towels must have been deliberately designed NOT to absorb water. Why are things like this allowed to happen?

'Free' coffee in the room comes pre-sugared - ghastly.

Atmosphere is 99% functional (i.e. hardly any) - the 1% provided by the single hanging basket-chair in reception, never available because it's the one place guests make for immediately as the only relief from Champion's hospital-like soullessness.

Check-in staff male staffer reasonably friendly, helpful. Check-out female staffer somewhat dour, like an old-fashioned primary school-mistress giving the impression she's wasn't sorry to see you leave and couldn't care-a-less if you never came back.

Wi-fi ok, but annoying because every time you close your laptop you have to go through the whole process of logging on again. And they change the user-name and password every day. Like the towels and the minimal toiletries, these things make the hotel management seem so untrusting, so 'mean'.

And to top up the Champion's 'meanness' come three whammies: (1) a SG$50 deposit (even though you've paid 100% hotel charge in advance) with nothing in the fridge you could consume and rush off in the morning without paying for; (2) a warning that if you lose or 'damage' the plastic key card to your room, Champion will charge you SG$55 (like WHAT!?); (3) an avaricious charge of SG$10 to extend the use of your room from the theoretical midday check-out to 1.00 p.m.

If Champion's management read these reviews and are in any way concerned about improving their service, I recommend a staff away-day to teach them how to give the impression of being pleased to have you to stay at their establishment, rather than treating their guests like money-generating automatons.

Room Tip: Based on the comfort of the de-luxe, I personally wouldn't go for anything less just to save a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank matthew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetLowChampionHote, Manager at Champion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr Matthew,

Thank you very much for choosing Champion Hotel.
It gave us a chance to serve you and also understand your valuable feedback and review of our
services.

Our apology for the unpleasant feeling you encountered during your stay.

Perhap there was some miscommunications as we don't charged for any lost of
keycard nor hourly charge for late checkout. However, we do emphasis that our guests keep
the keycard safely so as to safeguard their property while staying at our hotel.

We will worked hard to improve our service standards in term of quality room finishes. To
refine our staff service proformance, in order to provide and offer our guests a comfortable,
pleasant and safe stay at our hotel.

It will be our honour to serve you again, Mr Matthew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#56 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#125 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#120 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#100 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#116 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#123 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Property: Champion Hotel
Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing