We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“budget traveller” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Ranked #132 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“budget traveller”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Nice and comfortable. The staff was very helpful, cheerful and friendly. The room was tiny but clean. The WiFi is only at the lobby. If you want to use WiFi at your room, you must pay for it. Please improve on that matter. Should be free WiFi access.The environment of the hotel is secure but not suitable for family especially child. So far, it is good budget hotel..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MdHelmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    394
    324
    76
    42
See reviews for
139
193
83
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The front line was very helpful especially Mr.Prakhas. He is a very cheerful and friendly staff.The staff was very friendly.The WiFi connection is very bad.Please kindly improve on that matter.The rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanta_jsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

At 50SGD/night it's an ok budget hotel. It's nestled on a one way street, within a block of one way streets so depending on which way you want to enter/exit the area the location can add a few extra minutes to your trip. I recommend walking only a couple of hundred metres to Geylang Road street to catch a taxi there. You'll need the taxi app myteksi to catch a taxi from there as by the time taxis get to this area they're already full. We waited half an hour on average to catch a taxi most days and the hotel won't call a taxi for you.
There's no free wifi in the room, it's charged at a rate of 15SGD/24 hours but limited to one machine/phone/laptop.
The room is relatively small, but not the smallest I've stayed in. It's clean enough, and housekeeping were obliging when we asked for extra pillows. The aircon is nice and cold and the tv has a decent selection of channels.
There's no in house dining or breakfast though, and if you want anything other than noodles and rice for breakfast you're fresh out of luck. There's a McDonalds 1.5km away.
Be careful when walking at night as this is in the middle of the red light district. It's blindingly obvious come about 6pm! I'm sure it's safe, it's just a little uncomfortable and surprising for Singapore to see prostitution lacking any discretion in a country like Singapore.
There's a good money changer who's trustworthy and has a competitive rate on Geylang Road. Turn left out of the hotel, and right onto Geylang Road. Walk about 50 metres or so on the right hand side and you'll see a phone repair and sales shop with a yellow sign near the 7/11. The money changer is in the phone shop.
While this hotel was probably one of the better budget hotels we've stayed in in Singapore I'll be staying in Chinatown again next time. Chinatown has better public transport access, it's easier to catch a taxi from there and a million more things to see and do. It's also a nicer area to walk around not having to watch and hear the Indian men haggling with the prostitutes over the price of their services!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieAbroad011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

There is a 24 hour reception, which is helpful, and a fully functioning elevator, if that matters. There were families with children staying there. Our room was tiny, but functional. Had an electric kettle, and free coffee/tea packets and 2 bottles of free water a day. The sheets were clean, but the bathroom was so moldy that I had to purchase my own cleanser to avoid an asthma attack. To their credit, I did not ask someone to come clean the bathroom (have never had luck with such things through our travel), so I do not know how responsive they may have been. Excellent AC.

The KALLANG metro stop is the closest to this hotel, perhaps 1 km from hotel to metro? It was about a 10 min walk for two young, fit people, and lots of lighted crosswalks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreeKoala2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Obviously, Singapore's a pricier destination than the rest of SE Asia, so you have to set your expectation's accordingly, but for £50 a night without breakfast the Emerald was a big disappointment. The bathroom was disgusting and the bathroom door wouldn't shut, despite our requests for it to be fixed.

We've stayed at dozens of hotels in Asia this year, and despite being one of the most expensive, the Emerald was the only one that didn't offer free Wi-Fi. If you want Wi-Fi, as most travellers do in the 21st century, you'll have to pay rip-off prices at this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CH132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

What a shock to my system this hotel experience was. I was there on a business trip and was misquided into staying at this hotel. Literally 2 ft of room on each side of my bed and the bathroom/shower is smaller than those in regular sized recreational vehicles. I was there for an intensive training so I had no option but to bear up. Budget, budget, budget, did I say budget.... the only saving grace is that the receptionist was very empathic and did all she could to make my stay more comfortable such as keeping the air cond on so I did not have to return to a hot room...room air is automatically shut off when you leave the room....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Its a Budget Hotel and good for short stay. A bit far from the MRT(Local Train for conveyance) but many eateries near by.

Room is kept clean and maintained. Should be cautious while walking alone in the night near the hotel area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#116 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#137 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
#144 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#148 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#128 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sunflower
Fragrance Hotel - Sunflower
#183 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Address: 20 Lorong 6 Geylang, Singapore 399174, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Emerald 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Booking.com so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Emerald Singapore
Fragrance Emerald Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing