We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Ranked #131 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Chennai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four days. I feel the hotel is good. very close to bus stop and walkable distance to the railway station. Though the size of the room is small, we managed to adjust as we spent most of the time in sight seeing. no restaurant. Call girls are roaming around the streets at night but need not worry about this if you could reach the hotel before 9.00 PM.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Senthil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    394
    324
    76
    42
See reviews for
139
193
83
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed at the fragrance hotel emerald for a day before I flew back home and was quite dissapointed. The room was nice and clean but when I entered the bathroom and saw the moldy ceiling it felt like a rip off. I stayed at another fragrance hotel before, the one with the pool on the roof and it was quite good but I won’t stay at this place anymore. Since I travelled through asia with my backpack and stayed in very cheap places I did not care for the moldy bathroom because I only stayed for a night, but I wouldn’t go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s34f4r3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

the location is ok, close to the bus station. good value for money.
Stayed there 3 nights to visit around, felt safe and the staff was nice.
The room was to small, and we didnt know that we had a power switch for hot water ,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flory m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Room is small three and suitcases is too much for a room. Only a short walk from Kallang on the green line. No food available in the hotel.

Families should avoid the local area at night. As the work girls collect around outside. Ok during the day.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Location: Between Kallang and Aljunied MRT station; Walked about 20-30 min from Aljunied
while from Kallang 10-15 min; Situated in middle Geylang Rd6. Many Bus route run pass Gey lang road front of Geylang 8 lane; 2,21,62,80,100 At bus stop sign show all bus route details
**At night these area will turn to be sex street; plenty of malayish;Indian girls stood for sex sell.
But not so danger there are many people walk pass by with many night light open restaurants on main road; Thai foods; Chinese; local minimart ; 7 eleven at gas station.

Exterior:8 storey building; Small lobby area with free wifi (only lobby) (wifi in room have to pay extra) 2 lift service with no abf included small bussiness area and 1 public ground floor toilet;
there a service for luggage deposit on the day you do early check out.

Interior; Big room space better than china town; room rate is reasonable; NO fridge in room; but Hair dryer ;soap dispensor; toilet kit; complimentary tea/coffee machine in room; Dressing area with clothes hanging; No bath tub only shower area with no curtain seperate.

All in all: These is one of hotel better choice more space reasonable price easy to connect to downtown where located in many street local food area!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

the location to this hotel was great.
as you walk out of the hotel and go to the left to the end of the street turn right and one will find the bus stop which will take you all over the city to china town , shopping complex , the beautiful harbor with many restaurants and the building with the boat on top ( must visit incredible ) etc etc .the bus number is 2 .
singapore is beautiful and where this hotel is located is fine.
i found the area during the day and specially at night late into the night , since sight seeing all day was very safe.
near the hotel there are lots of people around but they do not bother you at all.
the rooms are small. i can't express this any more.
since your only sleeping , its fine because you will be sight seeing all day.

Room Tip: most rooms are small so one has to accept if your staying here. wi-fi is only in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidejagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

As with the other reviews the location is 10 minutes walk from the MRT. At the hotel I had to ask for the morning coffee missing from my small room every morning. It was clean enough for a two star but the staff was unhelpful on all occasions. Alert- if you book through an internet booking service the poor internet will cost you a whooping $10 SGD for 10 hours. Just walk up to the nearest main road and you'll see an Internet cafe. Some things in the room like the TV remote needed batteries probably and there was a problem with shower drain which I mentioned twice and the staff of four behind the desk couldn't have cared less. There is a real attitude problem with the arrogant staff. Beware. There are many other Fragrance hotels in the area and throughout Singapore and I suspect they have the same negative attitudes and service.

Room Tip: Use another hotel for a few dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#116 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#138 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
#144 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#146 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#128 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sunflower
Fragrance Hotel - Sunflower
#184 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Address: 20 Lorong 6 Geylang, Singapore 399174, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Emerald 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Emerald Singapore
Fragrance Emerald Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing