We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SEA Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South East Asia Hotel
Ranked #250 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SEA Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My family stayed at SEA Hotel last 13-16 September 2013. The location is excellent as it is a mere ten minute walk from the MRT Bugis station. Along the way, you see a lot of bargain shops and fruit stalls. It was mid-autumn festival when we arrived and so the streets were lined up with stalls selling mooncakes! The hotel is beside a Buddhist temple surrounded by vendors selling beautiful flowers. The best part is that the hotel is very near hawker stalls that sell yummy and cheap SG eats!

The hotel is average. We stayed in the family room. The couple who run the hotel are friendly. The bad part is the carpeted floor that seem like they haven't been vacuumed. But overall its an okay place, just to get some sleep before going around SG. They have clean towels everyday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drishti111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    78
    72
    18
    13
See reviews for
64
57
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Worst hotel in the world!!!! Lousily customers service, especially the old man and old ladies give us see the black face !!!! No systematic for check in , waiting for half an hours for check in !!!! Summore throw my passport in to table !!!! And the worst room facilities in the world !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JordanHo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Rooms are normal. I found annoying that the ac cannot be regulated, and it is very noisy. Internet is not free. 1 hour is for 6 dollars, 3 hours for 12, the whole day for 20. The first room I stayed was clean. The second (one week later) smelled as it stayed close for a long period. Continental breakfast consists in two slices of bread, jam, butter, instant coffee and a small glass of juice. No choice. Chinese breakfast seems to be better (for those that dare to eat noodles or rice after waking up).
From the other side, staff is kind and they provide luggage storage for a reasonable price (1 dollar per day for a week).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is my "every year" hotel.
Maybe not a great hotel, but the location and the hotel itself have a higher than average value.
It's just 3 minutes away (walking) from OG Bugis. And not more than 10 minutes to reach Bugis Junction. Around 15 minutes to get to the MRT train station at Bugis.
There's a market and food center in front of it. Which are have many selections range of food, and the point is "budgeted". For about SG$4 or more.
The breakfast is okay. The options are Fried noodle/rice, slices of bread, eggs, and coffee/tea. Good enough to fill the stomach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladymilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The South East Hotel location in Waterloo street is brilliant, 5mins to Bugis MRT station or 8mins to Bras Basah MRT station.
It's right in the middle of the city and really close to great shopping and eating locations like Bugis Street and Bugis Junction.
On the other hand, in the morning till middle afternoon, Waterloo street itself, is a very interesting and colorful place with many flower stands because of the Chinese and Indian temples...
If you have a low budget, the SEA hotel is the write choice for you in Singapore.
This has been my option whenever I get a few days in Singapore on the way to anywhere else in Asia or Australia...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is our second visit to this very affordable hotel in Bugis, Singapore. The last time we were here was 5 years ago and the hotel hasn't changed, which is not a bad thing. The rates are very affordable for Singapore, which is quite an expensive city to visit. This year we have booked for 6 nights in a triple room (3 single beds) whereas last time we had the family room (double bed, 2 singles). The hotel's proximity to the smrt (Bugis station) - about 5 mins walk - allows for easy movement around the city and add to that an "ez-link" transport card and you have Singapore in your pocket.
The SEA hotel is celebrating 60 years of trade this year and the décor is still set in the 50's, but it is clean and comfortable and now they have wi-fi too. A big plus in my opinion is that the beds are softer than a lot of other beds that I've come across in Asia.
There is only one or two drawbacks to the SEA hotel - 1/ all transactions must be in cash and 2/ there is no fridge in the room, so you can't have cold water/milk or soft drinks on hand- I've now taken to drinking tea w/out milk, as I've never been able to take to the milk tea that seems prevalent in those countries settled by the British (stewed tea with evaporated milk)

Room Tip: all rooms have aircon and tinted windows with curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenncame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Hotel run by nice family, in perfect locations, free breakfes - continental or vegetarian ( about 7 dishes to chose from), close to Bugis MRT@ Bugis market . If you need just clean place to sleep in and discoveryng Singapore , highly recomended.
Will stay there next year again.

Helpful?
2 Thank 123pinki
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Summer View Hotel
Summer View Hotel
#106 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#169 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel G Singapore
Hotel G Singapore
#59 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 81-Bugis
Hotel 81-Bugis
#231 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Singapore Bugis
Mercure Singapore Bugis
#105 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South East Asia Hotel

Property: South East Asia Hotel
Address: 190 Waterloo St, Singapore 187965, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your South East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South East Asia Singapore
Hotel South East Asia
South East Asia Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing