We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal at Queens
Ranked #159 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We went back to Singapore on Dec 2010 after the first one on Dec 2009 just to go to universal studio. The theme park was upsetting as there were many rides or shows were not ready yet at that time. However, the hotel that we stayed on was better than we expected. It was like been renovated so the lobby and the rooms looked fresh. But, the receptionist and the staff seemed to keep the distance with the guests as there was no smile or greeting as we checked in. The location was really good as it was closed to bras basah MRT and to Bugis market. Unfortunately, when we got lost and asked around, no one seemed to know the hotel, eventhough we were actually were not far from the hotel. Considering that hotel in Singapore is expensive I thought the hotel is quite ok.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

2nd visit - this time room 930, decor was fine but definitely showing signs of use and abuse but everything in the room functions fine and seems clean but the walls and carpet have taken quite a lot of wear - not surprising really, but not as pleasant as my last room because of that alone. Air con is noisier than normal, but can turn it on and off easily. Quite room despite building works on the front lobby area. Receptionist/check in friendly. TIP for wireless: I am typing this from my bed as I picked up a wireless access ticket from "Information" at Singapore airport before catching my bus connection and it is working from this room - wohoo - (this free access is good for 4 hours after you get the slip). Overall I think I may look for an alternative for next time.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
Thank vailskiier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here last week, the father-in-law chose the hotel.

As other reviewers have said, it's close to the Bras station, also to the Bugis Street Markets, where you can find a few bargains, but don't expect name brands.. It's also walking distance to Little India and Mustafa's.
Also as others have stated the shower curtain is a pain in the rear.

The staff were very good, we often didn't put 'Make up our room' on our door til after 12 and it always was done by the time we returned.

Gym is a treadmill, stepper and bike, that's it. The pool is a small lap pool, on the side of the hotel on 4th floor, doesn't get any afternoon sun, and there are only 4 sunbeds around it, so don't expect singapore slings by the poolside here.

Found each level smelt a little of smoke.

The breakfast is ok, bacon is overcooked, the highlight being the omelettes for mine, but there is plenty to choose from.

So yeah, nothing to really complain about, they are doing some reno works out the front atm, but it's hardly an imposition, just means entering and exiting through the night club.

Best thing they could do, is to give free wi-fi throughout the building, instead they just offer it in the foyer/Level 2, so you often have half a dozen people sitting in the foyer on the lounges and on the steps accessing the free internet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusTryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here as a free night stop over on the way to Europe. The stopover was paid for by Singapore Airlines and was rated in the middle of the range hotels that we considered, albeit that you really dont get much choice on a free stop over hotel.

The hotel was not somewhere we would have booked had we been paying for it but it did the job as a base for a one night wirlwind stopover in Singapore with friends who had never been to Singapore before.

The hotel is old and very tired, which is obvois from the minute you pull up.

The lobby looks good on the internet but it was probably a stock photo from 20 years ago as the lobby is also very tired and dated compared to other Singapore hotels we have stayed in.

The worst first impression of this place is the staff who gree you and check you in. I have never experienced such unattentive and gruff Sigapreans before. they really let the place down the most. The staff seem like there are always bickering with each other and all look far too stressed for a small hotel.

The rooms are OK, yest the rooms are dated and an attempt has been made to freshen them up but it is just superficial but it does the job. The bathrooms are ok, reasonably clean and overall you could do a hell of a lot worse than this place.

Im not sure of the price of a room but I would not pay more than a $140 a night for this room. Singapore is an expensive city for hotel rooms but I would not pay much more for this hotel.

Our breakfast was not included but we had a look at the half price bufet breakfst and quickly decided to run for it as it looked VERY ordinary, we found a place around the corner which was expensive but didnt feel like it would kill us if we ate there.

Overall, the location was OK, not where I would stay by coice but ist was close to Orchard Road and taxi's are so cheap it doesnt matter where you are really. As I said you could do alot worse than this place and it did the job.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zedmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for 11 nights via the Singapore Stopover Holiday. If it wasn't for that, we wouldn't normally have stayed at this hotel due to the price.

The check-in and check-out was very easy. They have seats at the front to allow for a comfortable check-in. The hotel is in a great location - only a few minutes to Bras Basah MRT station and about 10 minutes to Bugis Junction/Bugis MRT. Easy access to Bugis Junction was great, as it meant easy access to Starbucks, various eateries, the foodcourt and the supermarket (to top up on water and snacks).

On the way to Bugis Junction, you can cut through the Church (as long as you're not too early or too late, otherwise the gates are still locked).

The rooms were spacious enough. The bathroom had the typical hotel shower curtain that clings to you every time you have a shower, and doesn't do much to prevent water running along the bathroom floor.

The only issue I had with my room was when the lights wouldn't turn off, so I just slept with the lights on. It was fixed after I told reception.

A fellow traveller had to change rooms on the first night due to a water leak in the bathroom (water was leaking through the shower mirror on the wall and pooling on the floor (!!!???) and there were ants in the room. A few nights later, in the new room, they had ants crawling throughout the room (a call to reception pretty much fixed this).

Staff were polite and helpful each time we had an issue.

The hotel lobby does not have a public telephone but you can use the public phones across the road in the Oxford Hotel.

The room had a flat screen TV, bar fridge, room safe and plenty of wardrobe space. As far as hotel rooms go, this hotel is okay; but I definitely wouldn't pay full price to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingSandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

For a first-timer in SG, this hotel is very convenient to everywhere...only a few meters from the Bras Basah Station, near NUS...then when you walk further you can see the Singapore Art Museum and many places as well like restos, coffee shop, ...as they say, walking is a good exercise.. then from behind, one of the "hawker" place to eat...and bugis district is also near..

But apart from the good location of the hotel, the hotel is itself is nice and accomodating...the rooms are okay as well...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siobslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights. Excellent location 1 min walk to Bras Basah MRT. Tips buy an ez link card for travelling, use the lifts on concourse level for quick access to the platforms. Renovation works at the front so no luggage ramp up to foyer..no porters around so you may need to ask for help. Check in/out speedy. Gym consists of 3 pcs of equipment. Pool is very small but surprisingly actually ok. Breakfast is ok for the price not too much fighting for the food with others! Room was very clean and made up daily. The shower curtain problem is true! Tip, just run the water over the bottom of the curtain so it sticks to the bath and not you! Overall very good budget hotel..and you do get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zax168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Pacific Hotel
#125 of 319 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#141 of 319 in Singapore
313 reviews
Hotel Royal Singapore
#273 of 319 in Singapore
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Bencoolen
#151 of 319 in Singapore
1,434 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#124 of 319 in Singapore
4,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal at Queens

Address: 12 Queen Street, Singapore 188553, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £86 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal at Queens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4-Star smoke free hotel with 231 well-appointed guest rooms, including Executive Rooms, Junior Suite & Service Apartments that are incorporated with contemporary decor that caters to both business and leisure travellers. Strategically located in the City's dynamic business, financial, convention, cultural, entertainment, and educational hubs, our hotel is located close to places such as Suntec City, Raffles City, Chijmes, Singapore Art Museum, Bugis Junction, Bugis Village, Esplanade Theatres On The Bay, Marina Square, Singapore Flyer, Little India, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay. We are also conveniently located within walking distance to 3 MRT stations - Bras Basah, City Hall, and Bugis - with Bras Basah MRT Station being only 100 meters from our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal At Queens Singapore
Royal At Queens Hotel
Hotel Royal At Queens Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing