We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal at Queens
Ranked #165 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having arrived off a long haul flight we just wanted a meal and bed. Ordered room service at 8.30pm, had to go through the operator who was very efficient as kitchen not answering phone. Rang again at 9.30pm, operator said they were short staffed but would give them a hurry up. At 10pm I went down to the front desk to be given the brush off and the kitchen person said all the food was in the freezer and would not even supply a sandwich or fruit. Sorry not impressed.
Room OK but lots of wee spiders under the glass topped bedside table which we didnt notice until the second day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sully233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The good: Awesome location. Great rooms. Lovely linens. Free wifi. Modern decor. Lots of storage/closet space. Quiet, even though it's a very busy hotel.
The bad: Nothing bad. Overall, a very good experience.
The ugly: the tile in the shower could use a good scrubbing and regrouting. Otherwise the bathroom was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamarskiLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Close to transportation, shopping. Room good clean and comfortable. The only problem was the air conditioner, it was soooooo cold. We actually turned it off, and i still had to sleep with a jumper on. I don't know why they had individual controls in the rooms when they obviously don't work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sophie54961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great value and staff, stayed for a week at this hotel and can not fault this stay. Location is not too fare from CBD and only 100 a 150 mt from underground train station.
We had a breakfast package and this was value for money with a full buffet selection.
I would defiantly stay again on my next trip

Room Tip: Good room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angussipad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed one night (4-5 July). Location 2 blocks away from Bugis Street and Junction mall. Room is comfortable and clean, didn't get to sample the breakfast as I had to depart for the airport at 3:30 am. As far as I'm concerned this is a good hotel for an overnight stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are staying here right now on an 18 hour layover in Singapore. We booked through the $1 SIA stopover offer which included transfers in a nice minivan. The hotel let us check in at 9 am which is just fantastic when we have stayed at other hotels in Singapore where this was not possible. We have had a brilliant sleep - they gave us adjoining double and twin so kids have their own room and showers and feel ready to face another flight. Much better than hanging around airport - although the Crowne Plaza is fantastic if you have the budget for it. Pool (small) and a gym. Rooms are much nicer than we expected from the reviews.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here from 6th to 9th July 2014.
The first impression at the reception was not so great..! But nothing to complain about their service at the checkin. In fact, one of the main reasons I selected this hotel was that they were ready to check me in at 7am and late checkout at 3pm (but this deal is not available now). The location of the hotel is excellent.

One of the booking web sites says, the executive room is 28sq.m. But I had my doubts about the size of the room..! In any case, the room was large enough for me to stay 3 nights comfortably. Bed and pillows were very good. Room and bathroom were clean. But, the bath tub is quite difficult to fit into. But for the price, I wouldn't complaint much about it. However, the worse part of this hotel is the food and beverage. The breakfast is quite below par for a 4start hotel (if this is actually 4*)..!! no fresh juice..! staff at restaurant were very unfriendly...! Almost all the restaurant staff were behaving as if the guests are real pain for them..!! Not sure if this is a cultural issue in Singapore coz I tend to experience the same kind of employee behavior at other places as well..!!

Another serious issue of this hotel is that their room service does not function at as early as 9:30pm..!! So, if you are going on a business trip and prefer to order something to eat at night while doing some work then, you should not pick this hotel..!!
Apart from the above issues, the hotel in general is an okay hotel. However, if they improve on their service, it could be an excellent place to stay..!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theekshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#122 of 317 in Singapore
1,190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Singapore
Hotel Royal Singapore
#245 of 317 in Singapore
725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#117 of 317 in Singapore
4,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Mercure Singapore Bugis
Mercure Singapore Bugis
#111 of 317 in Singapore
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#158 of 317 in Singapore
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal at Queens

Address: 12 Queen Street, Singapore 188553, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £86 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal at Queens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4-Star smoke free hotel with 231 well-appointed guest rooms, including Executive Rooms, Junior Suite & Service Apartments that are incorporated with contemporary decor that caters to both business and leisure travellers. Strategically located in the City's dynamic business, financial, convention, cultural, entertainment, and educational hubs, our hotel is located close to places such as Suntec City, Raffles City, Chijmes, Singapore Art Museum, Bugis Junction, Bugis Village, Esplanade Theatres On The Bay, Marina Square, Singapore Flyer, Little India, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay. We are also conveniently located within walking distance to 3 MRT stations - Bras Basah, City Hall, and Bugis - with Bras Basah MRT Station being only 100 meters from our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal At Queens Singapore
Royal At Queens Hotel
Hotel Royal At Queens Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing