We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 81 - Sakura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Ranked #194 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel for short stays in Singapore especially if you are looking for a place to rest at night after a busy day in the town...
It was very easy to book directly through the hotels website and you are not charged until you check in at the hotel
We stayed in the family room 501... The room was very clean and bathroom was clean as well.. There was the basic necessities such as the toiletries and the tea and coffee maker ...
There is aside variety eating places around the hotel and it is close to the katong mall and park way parade
The hotel is just a 15-20dollar cab ride from the airport and is 20 mins walking distance from Paya Lebar MRT which is on the circle line...
The hotel also provided free wifi for 4 devices free of charge
I would recommend the hotel as it is great value for money...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Shenali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    49
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
23
32
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Travis Air Force Base, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Room to value is very good. Desk clerks were excellent and very accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend this hotel to all our friends headed this direction. William and Alvin were very pleasant and are a great benefit to your company.

Sincerely,


Ray and Sylvia Moore

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was a good cheap hotel. It was nice and clean. The room was small but plenty of room for our suitcases. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The area had some great places to eat. Would happily do overnighters there again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in a "budget" hotel in Singapore and I am very pleasantly surprised. I decided on the Joo Chiat location as I didn't really want to be in Geylang where most budget hotels are located and for a start very pleased with the location indeed. Lively, clean, restaurants, pubs, shops and the inevitable karaoke bars - but made for a very good mix. Passing taxis readily available and easy access to CBD and airport.
The hotel itself - I arrived very early at 11 am and was checked straight in.Internet wifi free for 2 devices and worked perfectly. Reception bright, clean and efficient. Room, not large, but not tiny either. Standard room had queen sized bed, window overlooking street, good black out curtains, bathroom with shower over tub and basic toiletries. The main thing was the room was very clean, bedding and bed excellent, large LED flat TV and very efficient aircon. Tea, coffee and bottled water provided.
The aircon started leaking overnight and created a small puddle, but as I left for a meeting I reported it, the fault was efficiently and courteously noted and perfectly fixed by my return.
When you don't need a bar, restaurant, pool etc on site, but need a clean and more than functional base, then in my opinion this is it.
Very pleasantly surprised indeed - excellent value and will use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaun321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Singapore mainly due to the price which compared to most other hotels in Singapore was pretty cheap, the hotel and rooms themselves were all Japanese themed, clean and were well kitted out with wifi,tv, tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries. The staff during the day were friendly and helpful however we found the staff taking over at night to be a bit rude and unresponsive. The hotel itself is located in the red light district which posed no problems and only added more colour to the place. On the doorstep is a laundromat, 7 eleven and a variety of other shops, cafes and eateries along Joo Chiat Road and the nearest SMRT stop, Paya Lebar is also within walking distance, allowing access to all the major tourist attractions.
Good for a budget stay if you don't have high expectations and are just looking for a bed for the night after exploring the rest of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavieTheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We missed our flight going back home and we stayed there for a night. Nothing much to say about the hotel but it helped us a lot. When we missed our flight, we were looking for a cheap hotel for a night and the airport counter gave us this hotel. Surprisingly one of my wife's cousin's apartment was just a walking distance from this hotel that actually helped us a lot.

Anyway, the hotel is fine, clean and.....I should say okay for one nigh. Its very hard to find a hotel with this rate that offers this quality in Singapore. You can find many yummy restaurants around Joo Chiat road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

A very nice feeling hotel with the concept of Japanese style.
I booked a twin room for me n my colleague, it is not a spacious room but the room condition is just nice for us. Surrounding of this hotel is full of pub and restaurant, therefore it wont be a problem for us to having our dinner after our work and for sure the entertainment in the pub as well..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ah_Lai90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#149 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#214 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#244 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#131 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#123 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#258 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Sakura

Property: Hotel 81 - Sakura
Address: 181 Joo Chiat Rd, Singapore 427452, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Sakura 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Sakura Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing