We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean friendly atmosphere”
Review of J8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J8 Hotel
Ranked #5 of 81 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 days. It's a clean hotel with friendly staff.the previous reviews are really true. I strongly recommend this for an economical stay. You have to add 17% tax with the amount shown in many of the booking sites like booking. Com.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psprasanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Positive:
-) nice furniture in the hotel rooms (look new)
-) enough to eat for breakfast, although it has sometimes more common with lunch than with breakfast
-) free minibar
-) reasonable rates for Singapore
-) helpful and friendly staff

Negative:
-) bathroom/toilet smell was disgusting
-) not close to a metro - 10 minutes walk to next metro station
-) far from city center
-) the water for breakfast is not from a bottle

All in all we enjoyed our stay at J8 Hotel in Singapore!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vivilicious B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I liked this hotel a lot when I stayed here in Singapore. The hotel was hard to get to from the main road with a large suitcase (the roads are elevated from the sidewalks) so would recommend getting a taxi to drop you off at the hotel.

The room was a bit small but it had everything we needed like a safe, mini fridge, hair dryer.

The food options in the area was the best: you have Berseh Food Centre about two blocks away if you're up for hawker food centres and you also have Chinese and Indian eating places on Jalan Besar. There's also another food centre on the way to the MRT by French Rd I believe.

The MRT was about a 10 minute walk and goes directly to Raffles Place, or you can transfer at Bugis for Chinatown. All in all, very convenient and we never used a taxi to get around unless it was to the airport.

Hotel breakfast was great - free coffee/tea, toast, porridge, apples. Mostly western fare but in the morning the last thing you want to do is hunt around the area for good food especially if you're really hungry.

We didn't stay here for long since we had other destinations on our list but I would stay here again! Book early to get better rates.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank forgotten620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here last 23-24 May, 2014 for 1 night. We arrived at the Hotel at 2:00am. Receptionist Staff is attentive for check-in but nobody bothered to help us with our luggages. We we're given a room where we have use the stairs from the second floor and it is quite misleading. It is very troublesome to carry our bags by ourselves because it is heavy and we have to use the narrow stairs.

Hotel is relatively new. Room given to us is considered big compared to other rooms below (2nd floor) - it has a window but located on the the top most portion of the rooftop! There are no curtains at all. If you tend to wake up late in the morning, the room is very bright in the morning. Construction in day time is also noisy.

Breakfast is by set - we had beef bacon, bread (unlimited) with jams/margarine and hotdog. Drinks - coffee and tea (unlimited). They also serve free ice cream for dessertl. Staff in the restaurant area is very accommodating.

Location is very far to Lavender MRT Station. It seems that this Hotel is surrounded by night clubs which can be dangerous at night. We saw a lot of Indians around the neighbourhood when we are looking for food at 3:00am. My friend said that it looks like a neighbourhood Hotel because it is also surrounded by HDB Flats.

Overall, the Hotel is still considered value for the money. But I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Request for a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iTextSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The rooms were really tiny so I wouldn’t suggest it for travellers with kids.
There are no cabinets at all because the space is so small.

Staffs are very friendly and breakfast was really good. Daily breakfast changes but the staple dishes that you can see every morning are the toasts and porridge. Free flowing coffee/tea during breakfast and free soft serve ice cream.

The hotel is about 500meters away from 2 mrt stations, which is about 10-15 walk so if you are tired from all the walking from your zoo trip or city tour, it might be a problem but if you’re okay with it then the location is perfect for you.

When traveling with kids, i would recommend checking in at a hotel close to a bus stop or mrt

Also, this hotel is near “grade B” hawker areas, about 5-10 minute walk away.

The bed was a bit stiff but comfortable. The pillows were too high and hard for me. It was like a couple of pillows wrapped up in one.

There were free slippers to use, nice quality of toothbrush and soft towels.
The bar soap made my skin so dry so you might want to bring a gentler soap.

Oh! Check out time is strictly before 1pm. They will charge 10 Sgd for every hour late.

Perks: mini bar and refreshments inside the ref is free on the first day :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jotan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a friendly, clean hotel in the centre of town. Walking distance to Little India, China Town and The Arab quarters. Really enjoyed our stay here although the room was very small it was clean and cool. The toiletries and coffee making etc was perfect. Breakfast included a set menu which varied every day from Pasta, Eggs to even a chicken burger.....If this is not your thing in the morning just ask for eggs Toast, coffee and tea was available too and an apple.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hieke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

V poor staff attitude (especially asst manager Gary [--] ).
Items missing in the bathroom (No shampoo etc), when you complain take a long time to check and that too not address properly.
Also door knobs faulty.
When I complained to Gary [--] - v poor response.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank sunkk33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Boss
#150 of 317 in Singapore
1,783 reviews
Hotel YAN
#52 of 317 in Singapore
433 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#124 of 317 in Singapore
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#68 of 317 in Singapore
6,546 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#69 of 317 in Singapore
945 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#148 of 317 in Singapore
3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J8 Hotel

Address: 8 Townshend Road J8 Hotel, Singapore 207606, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — J8 Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your J8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J8 Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing