We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bryabi1” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #113 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“bryabi1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to a room on the 16th floor overlooking the Marina. The view at night was great. The room was a bit tired looking but comfortable with a good window seat. We only had breakfast one morning. It was good but rather expensive as in most hotels in Singapore. The staff were very welcoming and the house-keeping very good. The hotel is in a good position and walking to most things was easy. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one int he tower as it has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dbryabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    1,828
    1,060
    353
    206
See reviews for
838
1,496
382
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bali
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

I stay for a night during my bussines trip before heading back to my country. Surprised about the room, this is not 4 star or 5 star hotel room, this is a budget hotel room, the bath room very small, the room layout very strange, very packed.
During my checkout i have problem with the staff,dont know if they are part of belboy staff or services staff because they use green uniform, in stead of black uniform that the young bellboy wear, they talk too much and when i asked help they ignore us, very strange, they push us to put our group bagage at 1st floor inthe left wing althougt our guide ask us to send to right wing under the restaurant, so easy for us to catch the bus. Because of him we must bring our lugage again and make us delay to go o the airport. Hope the hotel management to fix the situation soon.
For hotel recomendation, i will not recomendation this hotel to anybody, and dont want stay here any more.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bali1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great experience from the moment we arrived. Our luggage was whisked away; the reception staff was polite, friendly, and efficient. We were upgraded to a studio suite on the 17th floor. The bed was very comfortable, the room size was adequate, and it was very clean, with a nice view of the city being an added "bonus". We experienced no negatives while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outlandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed at Peninsula Excelsior hotel for a night just a few night before Singapore F1 Night Race. They have a view, overlooking a city hall and Padang which is just super great choice if you choose to stay during Singapore F1 event. As you can stay very close to the race or book a seat at their rooftop bar and enjoy view on top.
The hotel got a very easy access to Singapore National Museum, Clarke Quay and so on.
The room is clean and still new since they just newly renovated.
The staff are very tentative and willing to service the guest.
The room rates are reasonable comparing to Singapore room standard.
I would stay at this place again for my next visit to Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThitiwanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package. I was surprised how small our room was. I felt like we were in one of the budget hotels. Perhaps it is commensurate to the discounted price we paid for the rooms? I also saw some ants on the bench although there were no food around. The location is good though. It was walking distance to the MRT - Clarke Quay and City Hall. It was also close to the Raffles Hotel and 30 mins walk to the Singapore Flyer. The hotel is OK but we won't be coming back in the future. Might try other similar hotels or stay at Traders, Pan Pacific or Stamford.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesweets2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed here for 12 nights on business. I was assigned a room in the older tower with a good view over toward city hall MRT.

PROS:
- close to the action of the city, less than 5 minutes to City Hall MRT (tube station), which has great connections
- free internet (although slow). You get free wired connection, but wireless is at a charge. You can get a signal from the pool to a free wifi connection in the conference centre though.
- free use of safe in the room
- friendly, helpful staff

CONS
- Crowded breakfast room
- TV channel choice very limited and bad reception
- Limited room service choice menu
- my room had an adjoining partition to another room, which although locked, didn't stop the snoring and sneezing in the next room keeping me up some times.

There are tired looking rooms in excelsior tower, ironically though this is the tower with the best views.

Room Tip: Request a room in the tower that has been renovated if you are staying for longer than a couple of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The room is so small, I think they just renovated the toilet, thus, the dust was still there on the shower floor, the breakfast, not much choice. No 'smoking section; for smokers (had to go across the street to have coffee and smoke at the opposite hotel instead).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mar_loaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#50 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#54 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Furama City Centre
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#119 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing