We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #111 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Glen innes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgraceful”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arriving at the hotel the lobby is clean and inviting however the staff at reception were full of fake promises, being a smoker I was told I would be put in a room catering for this however when arriving at the room it was clear you could not smoke, I went to reception and was told I had to cross the street to smoke, later finding out there were several places to smoke within the building. The staff were rude, rooms filthy! Hairs throughout the bed and bathroom full of rust! A vary damp, messy and cramped feeling throughout the whole establishment! Would never stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_221091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    1,905
    1,103
    368
    215
See reviews for
879
1,571
396
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We love Singapore but we weren’t able to stay in our normal hotels because the Formula One car racing was on.
The Peninsular Excelsior hotel is in a good position in Singapore but we did find the rooms a little tired and a bit old.

Room Tip: Ask at time of check in if you can upgrade. My brother did and paid a little more and got a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

More bling in the lobby but as you get closer to your room, you see what is aaboutto hit you. Roomservice cart out all day, vacuum laying in the middle of the floor the whole three times.

The room smelled damped. Mold in the shower. Showerhead broken maintenance. Tv broken maintenance. Booked a double bed only got a room with two separate beds. New room was promised for the next day. After waiting all day we were told there were no other rooms.

There is no free wifi not even in the lobby. Be carefull when you book anything over one hour internet as the time will go by even when you press disconnect. So unless you are planning to use the internet 4 hours or 24 hours straight go for the 1 hour option.

We loved singapore buut were very disappointed......

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 737800lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

They couldn't find our booking so we were all place separately around the hotel. Got placed in rooms with 2 single beds (traveled as 4 couples). Staff were there but not very interactive. Definitely felt like a hotel more worried about profits than guests. Elevators are slow and didn't work at times. Dont cater for smokers however you can smoke on the roof but staff wouldn't explain that and advised us to go across the road. Wasn't overly clean and had hair in the bed. would not stay here again!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After reading some negative reviews here I was a bit worried about booking this hotel for a 7-night stay, however apart from a few niggles things were fine.

We had a deluxe room in the Excelsior tower with breakfast and wifi included. The room felt a bit dark but was clean and large enough for 2 people. The bathroom included a tub, an overhead shower and 2 handheld showers and was spotless. Wifi was reliable and fast enough for my needs. If there was a download limit I didn’t reach it.

Breakfast was a buffet with heaps of choices from bacon and eggs to fried rice and steamed buns, curry, rice porridge, cold meats and salad, croissants, etc. etc. really something for everyone. Wen

The main pool was very welcome and refreshing in the steamy Singapore weather. I didn’t use the smaller pool.

The location is excellent. It’s a short walk to the City Hall MRT station where you can get the train to anywhere, plus there are buses right around the corner. Raffles, Clarke Quay & Chinatown are also nearby.

Cons: We had a nonsmoking room but there were smoking rooms on the floor so occasional odours in the corridor – didn’t bother us but it might bother others. Staff were helpful when approached but seldom took the initiative.

Overall, recommended - we’d stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daymares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here with a friend for our last 2 nights in Singapore and we were blown away! I read lots of reviews to go for the club room experience and although it was quite a bit more decided to try it out and could not have been happier with the choice. Firstly we were greeted by the most incredible view of the Marina Bay Sands after being checked in upstairs at the Club Room lounge. The room was small but big in Singapore standards with a great big shower and bathtub which we didn't get to use but you could pull the curtain up while in it and have a view again of marina bay.

The first night we went to the Club lounge during the 2 hour happy hour and oh my god! The nibbles provided were AMAZING! Beautifully cooked marinated chicken, bocconcini tomato basil bites, incredible little sandwiches the list goes on and it changed the next night. For a country that charges ridiculous amounts for alcohol ($12 for a glass of house wine etc) it was great to have all you can drink wine and beer with attentive service always checking if you would like more to drink. The upstairs balcony was what we loved the most and stayed up there alot looking out over the view, you can watch the laser show at Marina Bay here as well.

After already being blown away breakfast was the icing on the cake, With an entire smoked ham in the webber for you to slice pieces off of, smoked salmon and even gourmet cheeses were just some of the highlights to go along with incredible pastries and all the regular breakfast foods.

This has to be the best hotel i have ever stayed in and i could not be happier that we went for a club room experience. It was in a good central location and taxis to everywhere were so cheap.

Room Tip: Just go for a club room!!! Best experience and worth the extra just for the cocktail hour, let alone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Third stay at the Penisular and probably the last. Singapore is no longer as inexpensive as it used to be and therefore the room value has also slipped.

PROS; Very large room
Good sized shower with great water pressure
Super cold and much needed air conditioner

CONS; Were charged for consuming from minibar – totally incorrect as we took nothing
King sized bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable (& I like a firm mattress)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissyGirl-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#48 of 314 in Singapore
2,483 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#60 of 314 in Singapore
3,879 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#51 of 314 in Singapore
3,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#292 of 314 in Singapore
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing