We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #115 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney AUS
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the begnning of our trip. It was a $25 cab ride from the airport and centrally located near Raffles - next to City Hall MBT train station.
We requested 2 beds and were given a large room with 3 single beds.
Bathroom was a great size - view was lacking.
There are 2 towers PENINSULA and EXCELSIOR - I stayed in Excelsior both times.
The club lounge was on the top floor of my tower and we were welcomed warmly to come in and enjoy the veiw.
On our second stay we had a deluxe room on a high floor with a nice view. Room was much smaller and the pillows in both rooms were just terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBSydneyAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    1,866
    1,082
    363
    213
See reviews for
858
1,539
392
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Peninsula Excelsior as part of a stopover deal with Singapore airlines. We were very happy with the staff, the room was quite small but, OK for our needs. The bathroom was good, however, the water pressure in the shower is very poor. Unfortunately, there was also a big stain on the lounge chair in the room ( which I covered with a towel). The beds were comfortable. The food at the hotel was good. The hop on hop off bus stop is just around the corner and we found this an excellent way of sightseeing. Taxis are cheap in Singapore. The staff in the restaurant were very pleasant. The concierge was very helpful with organising a tour of Changi Chapel. We did have one incident of a phone call ( from a staff member ) at 10.00pm to ask if we had been in some bar at the hotel ! We were both asleep after a long day of sightseeing....so not impressed ! We asked about the phone call the next day and were given an apology form another member of staff. However, they had charged us for drinks at the bar *( from the night of the 10.00pm phone call) which should have been billed to another room. This took about an hour to sort out which was a nuisance. Overall the hotel was good, there are probably many better hotels in Singapore ...as the position is so good we probably would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chesterella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for a week in the last week of August. The best part about the hotel was its location. A premier club room provides you with a good corner two side view of the city and is equipped with all basic necessities. The hotel has two swimming pools and both are nice and located on the 6th floor with the lobby.
One basic short coming of most hotels in Singapore is the shopping complex on the initial floors that are not in best of shape over time. Over all given the location of the hotel the expriance was satisfactory.

Room Tip: You can request for an upgrade for a better view. Its quite a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shashwat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After 6 weeks around UK and Europe in a range of accom. We were disappointed with this hotel. Rooms smelling of smoke and bathrooms less than clean. No free wifi and they wanted $10 to print out a couple of boarding passes. Couldn't help with rooms as were full up. Found staff not terribly helpful. I think they hoped we would just forget as nothing got cleaned despite assurances.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fabulous location and has the potential to be a fantastic family hotel so well as for single guests and it's not too pricey. We were put into two single rooms even though we were booked as a single and a double, it took three phone calls to reception to receive satisfaction regarding a simple issue and we were treated ordinarily by staff as we weren't 'high end' guests. Breakfast wasn't included in our stay and from all accounts we didn't miss much, the small cafe below the hotel had lovely breakfasts. I would be looking elsewhere for accommodation in future if staying in Singapore again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Staying in Singapore for a few days on my way to and from Australia, I chose to stay at the Peninsula Hotel. It was great, I had a Premier Club Room on 21st floor and the whole experience was just what I wanted. It's in a great location, and as with everywhere in Singapore, all the staff were lovely people, they are warm and friendly and very helpful! Yes, I shall be staying here again soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the hotel and had a good exp. The check in process was slow and room was small but neat and tidy. The location was great and very convenient. The food served in breakfast was good and with good spread.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunLover1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#53 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,757 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#272 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#117 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing