We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #114 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were given a room on the 22nd floor with a fantasic view over the Marina Bay area and of course the Marina Bay Sands Hotel. The service from check-in to departure was very good. We were in Singapore for a week this visit, and had previously stayed at this hotel when we were last in Singapore 11 years ago. Singapore has certianly changed but this hotel and its service has remained. (There has certainly been refurbishments done since our last stay). By being on the 22nd floor, we were entitled to use the club lounge for drinks (free from 6.30pm to 8.00om) and to have breakfast (which was excellent).

The location of this hotel is very good to get around Singapore. The MRT only a short walk away, and the buses plentiful. There are many restaurants around the Peninsula Hotel and Plaza - including Burmese as well as fast food outlets.

The laser show which was a nightly affair from the Marina Bay Sands Hotel and Casino were seen from the club lounge or our room. Nowhere near as spectacular as the one in Hong Kong but entertaining nevertheless. There appears to be some cranes in the area in front of the hotel, so the views may be wiped out by new buildiings in the next few years.

When in Sangapore next, will definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room in the Peninsula part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,378)
There are newer reviews for Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,418 - 2,424 of 4,378 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We got an excellent deal for a De Luxe room and our check in was handled by the front desk Manager, Agus, in a most professional and friendly manner setting the scene for a very comfortable 4 nights stay. We travelled by car from Malaysia so the location was not the best for us but the MRT is about a 5 minute walk. The whole area seems to have been taken over by Myanmar migrants so the Peninsular Plaza had an amazing choice of Myanmar food which
we ate for the first time (twice during our stay). The room was a fair size with a very nice bathroom and fully functioning shower (so many hotels don't have this).
The breakfast was superb with a good choice of quality food. Hotel scrambled eggs often resemble a road accident but theirs was just like home.
Despite the location we would stay here again for sure. For Malaysians travelling by car the parking is about S$10 per night.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room above the road junction can be noisy late at night and early morning.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I'd heard a lot of good things about this property, and I wasn't disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and tidy, with all of the expected facilities. For my first trip to Singapore, it was in the perfect location, and within walking distance to the marina bay area. The bathroom was a little small, but typical of a hotel room, and the beds were very hard, but not uncomfortable for me. All in all, I enjoyed my stay here, and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here for a week towards the end of October this year. Staff were fabulous, great location and we had a lovely corner room in the Penisular Tower. When I became ill the staff were very helpful. Access to very reasonably priced foods very close.

Room Tip: Make sure you go to the Pennisula Tower until the other tower's renovation is finished.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a day stopover in SIngapore and saw a good deal on Expedia for this place. As usual, you get what you pay for. Booked a king or queen bed, got two singles. Booked a non smoking room, got a smoking room. When questioned, the staff noted that this was a special deal booked on Expedia so we get whatever is left over and available. Rooms are small and shabby. Entire hotel is due for a makeover. We have previously stayed at the Fairmont and would do so again next time. Location is good, and if you are on a tight budget it is OK. Otherwise there are lots of better choices in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very handy location to buses and downtown.
Rooms were spacious, tidy and clean.
The staff were helpful and as we had a late night flight they let us use lounge and gym facilities for a quick shower before leaving without having to go to the expense of a late check out. Bar prices high.
The left luggage staff were very helpful when we had to wait for tour bus and made sure we were picked up.
Nice cheap food in basement food mall opposite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Accompanied my daughter on a business trip - we would preferred a river front hotel but her employer uses this hotel. at check-in the staff kept us waiting for 30 minutes insisting she pay $1000 on her credit card while she insisted that it was being charged to her company. finally, they let her call the office and believed her. room with two double beds had been reserved but we were given a king - finally moved to room with two single beds. asked for an extra blanket and was refused. torn wallpaper. broken shower. first floor entrance staffed by incompetent people who can only direct you to 3rd floor lobby. we were on the "club level" above the 19th floor where we were getting"special service." Didn't use the pool since it looked unappealing and is visible to all using the lobby.

Room Tip: a corner room provides nice views of the city.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dottravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#51 of 316 in Singapore
2,494 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#57 of 316 in Singapore
3,608 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#62 of 316 in Singapore
3,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Pacific Hotel
#122 of 316 in Singapore
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £99 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing