We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #114 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel ever!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was the location. the hotel had messed up our booking and we were also locked out of our room twice. The hotel service was very poor and the breakfast buffet was very limited not very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReeceandChanell... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    1,881
    1,091
    365
    214
See reviews for
866
1,552
393
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Compared with other hotels we have stayed in Asia both hotel and and staff seemed tired and uninspired. Room was ordinary and decor old and none of the extras - wine glasses, crockery, jug etc. The bed was firmish. Staff helpful but lacking in knowledge and skill -it took and hour to print out some airline tickets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Win B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at Peninsula Excelsior for three days. The Hotel has two towers, the Peninsula Tower and the Excelsior Tower. They gave me a double room with pool view in Excelsior Tower. The room is spacious for Singapore hotel. The price is more reasonable compared to other business hotels within the area.
Location is within the business centre. The nearest MRT station is City Hall, which is just 5 minutes walk. Around the corner, you can find Watsons convenience store. Money Exchange stores, restaurants and Funan Digital Mall are only steps away. If you want to go shopping, you can explore Bugis area, which is only one station away. City maps are available at the concierge.
Check-in process took some times but check-out process only took less than 5 minutes. Overall, I would recommend Peninsula Excelsior for business trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junidani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I was only in Singapore for a couple of days so I wanted a hotel in a good location. Upon entering the lobby I could tell that this hotel was of a high standard and I wasn't disappointed with my stay. The room had the most amazing view and the biggest bed! The staff was friendly and helpful and looked after our suit cases after we checked out. It's about 25 mins walk from the marina bay which is where we spent most of our time and I recommend you to visit that area.
The only downside I would say it the bathroom lack the same attention as the rest of the room, a few damp patches on the ceiling which just needed a little but of TLC and paint so it just brought down the standard of the overall experience. But still a fantastic hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our second stay at The Peninsula Excelsior Hotel. A great location. Nice rooms of a good size and with large comfy beds. Good furnishings. Window from room to bathroom can be screened. We had floor 15 each time facing the direction of fire station and the park. Has two nice pools so you can have some R&R away from the street bustle. Very close to metro. An easy walk to river.

Room Tip: Get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfoxr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The location of the hotel is good being within walking distance of Marina Bay and the Gardens by the Bay and the Singapore Flyer. Also Raffles just a couple of blocks away. City Hall MRT station just a few minutes walk and the bus for the zoo pulls up outside the hotel.

The rooms are a good size with a fantastic shower but very hard beds and I found the overall cleanliness of the room and bathroom was not great but this may have been due to the fact that the rooms were a little old and in need of an update. Wifi is charged by the hour.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eslynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hi!
This is one of many stays in Singapore for us, as we like to travel there for a family friendly location (2+1).
This hotel was a disappointment, to say the least, in January, 2014 for 1 week. Don't get me wrong, the location, rooms and general facilities are great - however the general staff attitude was terrible.
When inquiring about free internet, which was clearly outlined in their room manual, I was condescendingly told that it was not possible because I was staying in a 'cheap room'.
On arrival (from a long, cold holiday elsewhere!) our TV was disconnected along with lighting - is it not regular procedure to check this when the room is vacated??
The cleaning also did not occur until after lunch time, and was never consistent - sometimes 8am, sometimes 3pm - for the same cleaners on the same floor. We all had colds from our previous holiday, and did not always leave the room, so we saw this first hand. During our week long stay we also had to ask for towels 4 times! What were they thinking? If you take our towel, we will need another one....
It was embarrassing for us, as we invited family to stay at this hotel due to recommendations, we will not be staying here again and neither will I recommend it to any others due to the attitude of staff alone.
However, objectively - room size for Singapore was fantastic - 3 beds with plenty of space! Location was great - 7/10 - close to convenience stores and mall and station. Good TV facilities. Way too expensive restaurant for the quality - we ate at much much better places for same price or a little bit more. 25-30 mins slow walk (with 3yo) to marina bay sands, with excellent food courts and shopping. A few too many people outside on the verge at night, for god knows what reason. Called taxi quickly but gave us priority as we wanted to pay whatever - should be first come first serve in my book.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#45 of 312 in Singapore
2,479 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#51 of 312 in Singapore
3,795 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#265 of 312 in Singapore
2,590 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#116 of 312 in Singapore
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing