We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #114 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Enough.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I accompanied my husband on his 3-day business trip and we were booked in this hotel. We stayed at the Excelsior Tower. It was a good-sized room; there is a shopping mall beside the hotel which had a mini grocery and a lot of food kiosks to choose from; there is also a 7-11 across the hotel; one may reach Orchard Road by taxi. For a few nights' stay and for a business trip, this hotel will do. I have no complaints!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGMmla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    1,881
    1,091
    365
    214
See reviews for
866
1,552
393
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oz
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for one night in March 2014. We had a premier room which was on a high floor and included breakfast. The room was large by Singapore standards and had a reasonable view. Staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was very good. There is an MRT station about 500m away but I'm not sure about restaurants. At the price its hard to beat.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are on a high floor and include breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very good hotel , good service , no complaints with buffet breakfast, all good but 5 Bucks an hour for wifi, not good enough these days. We paid about $230au per night ok but include wifi like most others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Peninsula Excelsior Hotel is OK if you're there for a short stay. we found the reception staff were efficient but not as warm and welcoming as we expected. We were checked into the Excelsior Tower which overlooked the gardens and city area which are unremarkable. The deluxe room was just OK - the bed was very comfortable but the room itself was well appointed but very small and very outdated. The glass shower enclosure in the bathroom had a door that opened inwards which meant you had to be a very skinny person to squeeze between the door and the wall if you wanted to close it which is quite odd.

The breakfast buffet was average and had a reasonable selction of food but the staff were'nt very freindly and when asked where I could find the coffee bar the response was a hand signal montion toward another room before the person disappeared. The glass sided swimming pool adjacent to the lobby is a strange concept - there were sights that we didnt need to see and and it made us feel a little uncomforatable - no way I'd swim in it.

The location is good - only a five minute walk to two SMRT stations (on differnent lines) one of which terminates landside of Sentosa Island. A 20 minute walk will get you over to the Merlion statue on the bay and then another 10 minute walk to the Singapore Flyer. In between Merlion and the Flyer there are a number of restuarants you can dine in or you can opt for some street food if this suits your taste.

Room Tip: The Hotel has two Towers one of which overlooks the the water to the Marina Bays Sands which would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youstillthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had prebooked this hotel but when I arrived no room was waiting for me (bad start). The king size bed was actually two singles pushed together. The TV was an older model. The breakfast food was average at best. They charged us for water for each night.

I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mash49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Why have hotels in the Far East started charging a service charge. What's it for? Making the beds, changing the towels, cleaning the room? Isn't that what you pay for anyway. Well this hotel doesn't do any of these well, and we noticed bits of rubbish on the floor, during our whole trip. They also tried to charge us SGD60.00 + 10% service charge for my partner, even though we were on a room only deal. Only when I asked them what the extra charge covered, did they agree, reluctantly to remove it. WHAT A CON!! I wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: If you do have to stay here, go for the Excelsior Tower, much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

location was good . its centrally located in the city .. had indian restaurant near by. so being an indian it was easier to having indian food .. breakfast was continental and was good. hotel had 2 swimming pools both decent..

Room Tip: take a city view room and preferably on the above 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gg_dd1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#45 of 312 in Singapore
2,479 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#51 of 312 in Singapore
3,796 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#265 of 312 in Singapore
2,591 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#116 of 312 in Singapore
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing