We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #115 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights and is one of the worst hotel I ever stay in Singapore. The hotel is old but this is not the problem. The staff is not very helpful, room is dirty and full of dust in every Conor. The shower don't work. There are two building and the Peninsula side had better view. The bfast is below average. The good side is the location as can walk to City hall MRT station and can walk to boat Qary and Carlke Qary area.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Bill133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,265 - 2,271 of 4,448 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights - me, my wife and granddaughter - before . Hotel is very well situated, in walking distance to the historical parts of Singapore and close to Metro station and hop on bus. They have 2 swimming pools. From this perspective the hotel met our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nites and the only good thing abt dis hotel was its location...extremely small rooms..the staffs barely even smile at u..they are in dere "i dont care" mode..highly overpriced....!! They cant handle breakfast in the morning..they r too tired early in d morning to escort u to the table..they are extremely rude..!! Old furniture..!! D minibar in d room was empty..no complimentary water..!! Def not worth it..lot of better hotels around..!! Extremely poor service..!!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank madhu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

這不是香港的半島酒店集團, 我住在新的建築物三晚, 房間, 電梯間都有濃濃的臭味. 我住在18樓, 房間的窗簾有厚厚的灰塵已經結成球狀, 衣櫥門一打開有惡臭, 衣櫥裡都黏黏的, 我只好把衣服都放在行李箱裡. 浴室的漱口杯有一層厚厚的白色水垢, 還是放著給客人使用. 唯一的插頭, 只要插上充電器或是筆電插頭, 旁邊的檯燈馬上熄滅, 充電時, 插座會發出茲~~茲~~茲~~的聲音, 行動電源的充電顯示一會兒亮燈, 一會兒熄燈, 這是我住過最糟的飯店, 千萬別被看似低價的折扣及名字給騙了!
I have been Singapore many many times and it is the worest Hotel experience in my life. This hotel is not relate to the "Peninsula hotel in Hong Kong". They made the same name as Peninsula in Hong Kong, but this is a cheat for marketing strategy. When I arrival, the smelling from elevator was uncomfortable. I stay at the 18th floors of Peninsula Tower which is the new building of two towers, the room was dusty everywhere. The curtains with heavy dust, the glass in the restroom with heavy white stains, and the closet was nasty with heavy stinky smells, and I always keep my clothes in my suitcase and never open it again for my three nights stayed. When I plugged my laptop's power line into the outlet,the lights plugged in the next outlet was shutoff. The power outlet can not steady work even for the iPhone. This is the worest hotel in my life and I can believe agoda can rate it as 5 stars hotel. I only rate it as a one star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Overall, this is a nice hotel in a grt location ( so close to metro, marina bay sands, and la pau sat for food!) and is very good value for money. However, some important things let it down, such as very noisy air con ( making it very hard to sleep), a very crowded breakfast area, and very firm pillows (with no other options). Service from staff was very helpful and friendly. Would look at other hotels if visiting Singapore again, unless they fixed the issues mentioned above....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for 1 night. We choose this hotel because of its reasonable price and location.
Upon our arrival we were told that we could not check in until 3pm but could leave our bags behind reception. We were exhausted from our travels and the lady behind reception picked up on this and found us another available room which we could check in to straight away. This was really nice and very much appreciated.
Although we did not spend much time in the hotel (no breakfast & did not go into the pool), our room was clean and spacious. We also had complimentary wifi in our room which was great.
The people behind reception were also very helpful in assisting us with directions and attractions we should visit while in Singapore.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay and a good sleep! Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

As many others have pointed out, the location of the twin Peninsula Hotels is excellent: a few minutes walk to both Bugis Street and Chinatown - 3 minutes to Raffles - and not too far from Orchard Road, with public transport on the doorstep.
But, management needs to take a good look at things inside.
Why oh why does a major hotel stick rigidly to a 2pm check-in policy?
When we arrived at 11:30am (weary from a 13 hour flight from Heathrow) there were at least 30 people (including families with children) waiting in the lobby for their room keys - all forced to wait until the magic hour when "your room is now available".
Surely, in this age of digital communication, the front desk knows which rooms are empty at any one time, being advised by housekeeping as and when a vacated room is made-up and available.
Having guests (waiting for their rooms) sleeping in the lobby is not a good look.
Having been away from home for three months, and having stayed in a variety of accommodation styles through England, Scotland, Ireland, France Italy and Jersey it took until our very last stop to be told we had to pay for WiFi access - and not just a few cents - Sg $3 per hour??? No thank you - we found free WiFi elsewhere.
We were allocated Room 821 - right next to the elevators - THE NOISIEST LIFTS ON EARTH ("Sorry, no other rooms available" from reception who couldn't car less!). Sleep was impossible!
Other than the noise factor, the room was OK - sizable bed, great bathroom - but nothing by way of those "little extras" - no bottled water, un-stocked minibar etc. which would turn an OK hotel into a great place to stay.
Although we had pre-paid for breakfast each morning, they had no record and tried to charge us Sg$26 each for what was pretty basic fare. When we pointed out that breakfast was included, they immediately offered a 50% discount off breakfast. NO! We ate and told them to sort it out at the front desk (and ate elsewhere the following mornings). NOTE - We were not charged for the breakfast consumed.
Pensinsula Excelsior is a nice hotel in a nice area - but my report card notes "Improvement needed - could do much better".

Room Tip: AVOID rooms ending in *21 (we were allocated 821) They are beside very noisy lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyBeeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#60 of 319 in Singapore
2,526 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#65 of 319 in Singapore
3,751 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#57 of 319 in Singapore
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#298 of 319 in Singapore
2,629 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#121 of 319 in Singapore
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £96 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Splitty, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing