We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Looking Tired, Meals Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #117 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Warnervale, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Location, Looking Tired, Meals Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on return to Australia. The location is perfect with restaurants, shops and MRT so close. Rooms adequate, beds so comfy, bathroom small with shower over bath, tea and coffee making facilities. Hotel is looking tired and in need of refurbishment. Pool overlooking firestation was a fabulous oasis each afternoon however sunlounges, chairs and umbrellas are long overdue for replacement. Meals appeared expensive when compared to outside restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    1,849
    1,071
    358
    211
See reviews for
850
1,513
389
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here one night, seeking a change from the Orchard Road precincts. The staff was very friendly, the room beautifully presented and clean and the breakfast was good. There were two swimming pools, the one near the Reception area was open till late which suited us as we were able to swim to unwind from the long flight from Zurich. The left luggage room worked well leaving us able to sightsee and return later before our late flight to collect our bags. The location of this hotel is very good, there is a quality shopping mall across the road where we ate our meals. The City Hall MRT station is close by and we were able to quickly get out to the new Marina Bay Botanical Gardens. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grevillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

An excellent location for exploring Chinatown, Singapore River, Fort Canning and downtown - all accessible on foot. Also close to MRT stations. A pretty standard 3 to 4 star hotel with good sized rooms, king size bed. Great view from our room over Fort Canning and Armenian Church.
Wide selection at buffet breakfast to cater for all tastes - eastern and western. Two very good pools but the price of drinks at the hotel bars were very steep.
Overall, would definitely stay there again as the stay was pleasant the price was good and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingaussie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Two years ago I tried the wotif mystery deal and got this hotel.

Coming back it was essential to stay here at an affordable rate.

The location is perfect 5 minute walk from City Hall MRT station. Central city a short 15 minute walk to China Town what more could you ask for.

I was fortunate to get upgrade to a premier room at check in that faced the river on the 17th floor! On the Saturday night there was fireworks so I got to watch it out of my window.

Thank you for a awesome stay and I will definitely be back soon :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Peninsula Excelsoir was a very enjoyable stay for a week. To get the most out of our stay we opted for the lounge upgrade and this made the stay worthwhile. The upgrade gave us free wifi, daily paper, free telephone calls to 8 countries, two pieces of laundry cleaned free, two hour cocktails and canapes in the Sky Lounge every evening and use of the Sky Lounge for coffee's and breakfast. It was a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery.The view from the lounge was excellent especially at night when the laser show is being displayed from the Marina Sands Hotel. We were lucky to witness the Singapore National Day fireworks display from the lounge. The staff in the lounge were very friendly and we met a lot of friendly people there. The rooms were clean and the service very good. We went swimming every day and you had a choice of two pools to pick from. The Gym had ample equipment and the food was very good. The staff bent over backwards to help and the location is central to most areas in Singapore and close to the MRT. Definately will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Marina Sands have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalDann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed one night at Peninsula Excelsior on a stop over to the UK.
Wished we had had longer. The location of the hotel was great.
The room was spacious and the staff very helpful.It is located close to shops and there are many
restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first hotel out of many. It was a lovely city hotel for a good price. Very clean and comfortable. The pool was great to cool down after walking round a very hot Singapore. We didn't have breakfast or eat in the hotel as it was so close to coffee shops and other restaurants along the river. The only negative was the air conditioning leaked in our room, but the staff quickly tried fixing it. I would stay here again purely on the hotels location. It is walking distance to raffles, MRT, Singapore river and marine sands hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#44 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#121 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing