We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #114 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and after first night had to get pillow top put on the bed as mattress was to hard ..room was OK TV about 20 inches and way to small hard to sit in bed and watch .bathroom very small with shower over bath ..breakfast very nice with fresh juice and good variety of foods .pool looked good to and hotels good location made it easy to get good food

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    1,881
    1,091
    365
    214
See reviews for
866
1,552
393
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel is solid, essentially. We stayed at the start of a 5 week trip around Asia. Rooms were perfectly adequate, staff were very good. Beds a little hard but this seems to be an Asian preference as we found this in many of the places we stayed (and our group spread out and caught up at various stages). The main pool is quite nice as well, and if it's a bit full there is a second smaller pool down past the hotel bar.

It's in a great location. The free hop on/hop off City bus stops on the corner and Raffles is a block or so away. Easy walk to City Hall and Clarke Quay MRT stations, and the MRT is incredibly easy and cheap to use. It's also an easy walk to Clarke Quay and Boat Quay themselves, if you're looking for a pub or restaurant. There is a little food court in the hotel building downstairs that does good local food at a good price, too (dishes average about $5-7 AUS), and we got a good murtabak in the basement of the plaza across the road. You can get the MRT to/from the airport, or a cab will only set you back $25-$30 SGD which is a bargain by Australian standards for about a 30min trip. Overall there's no reason to avoid it

Room Tip: It does seem to be a smoking hotel, so you will get a whiff now and then through the air con. But th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have stayed here twice before and chose it again due to its great location near the river. Hotels in Singapore are expensive, so price was a big factor. We were in a deluxe twin room which was spacious but a bit tired/dated and in need of renovation. The a/c was very cold and couldn't be turned off - reception was called and they very quickly moved us to another room on the same floor which had a great river view (# 1512). Be warned - the beds are VERY hard! There was a mini-bar and tea/coffee making facilities in the room (always welcome). The bathroom was good and had a great shower over the bath. It was a pleasant 5-10 min walk across the river to Boat Quay and also handy to Clarke Quay.

A few tips - taxis are cheap (approx SG$15 from the airport)
- Skypark Marina Bay - 56 floors up to the observation deck, costs SG$23.
- A Singapore Sling at Raffles will set you back SG$27!
- Restaurant "Shah Alam" is excellent (20 Circular Rd, Boat Quay). No frills but great
food - their chicken murtaback SG$6 is the best!! No alcohol is served.
- BK Eating House nearby is also good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I found the staff very unhelpful during my stay of 4 days.My husband had to go to the hospital on landing in Singapore and I phoned to say I would be late checking in.When I finally got to the hotel I was told I was upgraded to another room but it was a smokers room but was told it would not smell of smoke.The room was putrid with the smoke smell.It was burning my eyes and throat.I phoned to advise the staff and they sent someone to spray air freshner! As if that will fix the problem!the next day when I asked to be moved they said oh but you will to get such a good view or such a big room if you move!
Also when I asked for important papers to be faxed I was told by a concierge he could not do this!
When I asked a different concierge the next day I was told yes it could be done.
The whole experience was something I never wish to repeatI had to move to another hotel and I must say that hotel was so much better!

Room Tip: Don't stay there is my advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineW5638TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Fairly good location with lots of shops and eateries around. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was quite good. On the down side I think the beds were made in Fred Flinstones day, hard as a rock. My son's bed was the same in his room and speaking to other people in the elevator they felt the same. I hardly slept for 3 nights. Would not stay there again if I visited Singapore.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ceejaycee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I was upgraded upon arrival and had a 20th floor, 180° view of the harbour and the The Sands complex. I was also given a 'Handy' - a mobile phone with permanent Internet connection and complimentary local AND international calls! I used it to call home, connect to friends, and because I could take it out of the hotel, I used Google maps to get around. It liberated my short three day trip.

My only criticism would be the sound proofing of the door, since I could hear everyone walking past.The shower also went from hot to cold after about two minutes.

Over all though, a great experience - particularly since my client paid ;)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Booked at the last minute on a great deal with Agoda. Suspect not the best room as a result. Great location 2 minutes from City Hall MRT, 5 minutes walk from Clarke Quay or Boat Quay. The hotel feels old. The lifts are idiosyncratic. Even in the room there is no free bottled water (S$5 out of the minibar). The weights in the gym are unlabelled.
However, at the discounted price and very short notice the hotel is satisfactory. Probably won't choose to stay again. I have a few other hotels in Singapore.
Nothing too wrong, but nothing too right. Probably a good hotel that has seen better days. Might be three star, but certainly not four star.

Room Tip: I suspect the budget rooms are the wrong side of the hotel for the view. Mine also had a communicati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#45 of 312 in Singapore
2,479 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#51 of 312 in Singapore
3,796 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#265 of 312 in Singapore
2,589 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#116 of 312 in Singapore
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing