We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great game!”
Review of BreakOut Games

BreakOut Games
Ranked #7 of 143 Fun & Games in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: BreakOut offers real life escape games for those who enjoy playing puzzle games with a difference - the game takes place in an immersive physical environment rather than a virtual one on a gaming console. Taking on the role of the protagonist in a story, you and your groupmates have to work together as a team to find clues, solve puzzles and BreakOut from the locked room you are trapped in before time runs out. Infusing both intellectual and action challenges, BreakOut offers a different yet exciting and fun way of spending time with your friends and loved ones.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The game: Our group, all first-timers save for 1, split into two with 5 members each and tried their Scientist and Forever Young rooms. The atmosphere for both rooms matched their respective themes and helped us immerse ourselves in the experience. Puzzles are logical and non-linear, and are just the right mix of challenging and playable. Teamwork is indispensable! One of the aspects which differentiate them from your average escape stuff is the use of technology, over the usual combination locks and keys. The background music also set the mood nicely for us but was a teeny bit too loud at some points in the game. It was not a big problem though. We still would have preferred having the music played to psych us up and we felt it was a nice touch. Scientist group got out with ~10-15 minutes to spare so this room is ideal for beginners. Forever Young group got so close to escaping and were so into the game that they screamed out of (unfounded) fear when the game master opened the door when time ran out! :p

Other details: Super friendly staff who made us felt at home and even accommodated the cake we had in their fridge while we played the game. The game masters will come and help you out when they sense you're in a pinch, but they'll ask you first if you want to hear the hint ;) Of course, there's a help button you can press any time you're sure you want a hint. Customer service is A+++! The place is fairly near the MRT but is tucked in one of the shophouses so you need to watch out for the sign. Waiting room is a bit squeezed but we're willing to trade that any time for the quality of the game itself. Website looks great, and booking was a breeze. Good props for photos, too!

All in all, absolutely recommended and we'll definitely be back for more!!! Bringing more friends over, too!

2  Thank gamurrgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakOutGames, Owner at BreakOut Games, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you :)

Let us know when you are coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for BreakOut Games
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 186 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

(Note: As I'm reviewing all the escape room companies that I've tried, my reviews focus on the differences between companies, not on the escape room concept itself.)

Some escape room companies have a mix of great rooms and less impressive ones. The room at BreakOut Games, however, are consistently good. Each of their three rooms has puzzles that are logical rather than arbitrary, one or two creative twists, and a few exciting physical aspects so you're not just solving combination locks all the time.

Granted, the rooms are not the most technologically advanced in town. Special effects are limited. But they're still pretty atmospheric, and at $22 on weekends, they're more affordable than most other escape room companies.

All three rooms are worth a try. Just a note on difficulty ratings: The Scientist is supposed to be their easiest room, but my friends and I thought that it was a bit harder than their 'medium' room, Forever Young. If you're a coward like me, rest assured that even their scariest room, Forever Young, is manageable.

One possible complaint you might have, depending on your puzzle-solving preferences, is that the clues are not linear. You might end up spending too much time wondering about a puzzle, without realizing that you can't solve it at this stage because you haven't found all the required parts of the puzzle yet. However, some people might prefer this instead of a very linear approach, so it really depends on your taste.

The staff are also extremely friendly and welcoming, and they don't combine your group with random strangers, which is always a plus. There is also no limit on the number of hints you can ask for, and the staff always make sure to just give hints rather than revealing the answer.

I tried all three rooms in May, with team size ranging from four to five people. For experienced escape room players, a four-person team is about ideal for these rooms. We got out of the first two rooms with plenty of time to spare, but only just made it for the hardest room, Magician's Secret.

7  Thank randomvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakOutGames, Owner at BreakOut Games, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your excellent and balanced review! We are really pleased to hear from an experienced player and love discussing escape games with our players. Even though you have finished all our games (for now), do drop by anytime for a chat :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Breakout Games is one of several "escape game" companies that operate in Singapore. They are located right near Chinatown, so after your game you can walk a few streets and have a wonderful meal or visit the phenomenal Chinese temple or the Indian temple. The game is a physical version of a computer adventure game. The group of people you bring are locked in a themed room for one hour and must discover clues and use them to solve a set of related puzzles to find the way out. The puzzles are quite challenging but fun for the group. Because there are multiple puzzles in play at the same time, and because the solution to one puzzle provides a clue to the solution to another puzzle, collaboration is essential. The staff watch your group's progress on CCTV and periodically interrupt to give a hint if you are falling behind. In this way, the staff ensure that you gave a great time by experiencing some success. Our group tried the Scientist room and found it both very demanding and great fun. Prices are very reasonable, about $19-22 sgd per person, Very highly recommended!!!

2  Thank PrincetonianMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakOutGames, Owner at BreakOut Games, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

It always warms our hearts when we hear from someone who enjoyed our games! Thank you and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were attending a conference in Singapore and had a day off for touring. One of the group had found this on-line and we decided to give it a try. We had seven Phds trying to solve one of the room puzzles and we can close -- with hint help -- but not quite in the allotted time. It was a lot of fun and the puzzles were challenging to figure out from the clues etc. Seems like every time we made a step forward we were stymied again. The staff monitored our progress and came in and gave us helpful hints. All in all I would say it was a great experience -- we tried the beginning challenge room on the advice of the staff -- and it was both fun and difficult enough. The staff were great and even though the lot of us didn't quite find the answer in time we came away smiling and laughing and glad we had done this. I'd say give it a try.

2  Thank chicagotraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hi,

Last Saturday, my friends and i went to this escape game place at Chinatown area.
The destination is near to the indian mosque, requires some findings.

We played total of 2 games continously.

1. Scientist
Games was the easiest but also the hardest. The most attractive thing is this game is the Technology they use. i was kinda surprise and have never seen that so far.
Quite interesting and requires condination between your friends.

2. Magician
The hardest games according to them. Yes, i agree.
Sugegstion to you if you are trying their game, pls play this as the last game amoung the 3.
We took quiet a long time solve the mystery. But still : Thumbs up.
If you wish to know more, play it and you will understand it :)

The staff there is very friendly and helpful. They gave a good hospitality towards us and help us in all our needs although areas are quite small (outside) but game room size is acceptable (Medium- bedroom size). Surprisingly, they do have drinks sold.. Easier for us to take a break too ^^

As for the charges.. I played during the weekends and was charged at S$22 per pax. i find it rather reasonable and attractive. Probably check it out their site if you wish to get to know more..

Nevertheless, i enjoyed their games (Action with lots of brain twisting jobs), love their service, and i will sure go back to try out the other game: Forever Young.

2  Thank JerrenTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BreakOut Games also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to BreakOut Games? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing