We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but lack of facilities”
Review of Aspinals Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aspinals Hotel
Ranked #298 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Sukawati, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location but lack of facilities”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

It was my second time to Singapore. I was traveling with lovely wife. After searching for a long time, I decide to choose this hotel. It's cheap hostel and has a great location. The bad news is there is a construction in front of hostel. But everything is okay for Us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Putude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    10
    16
    33
See reviews for
9
15
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We had a family room, one queen and one single bed. It was an old room with a television, small refrigerator ( not really working) and the smallest bathroom ever! You can shower while sitting on the toilet. Small, dirty but cheap. Don't look under the beds! We booked this hotel because when we are in Singapore we are hardly in our hotel so I would recommend this hotel to everybody who needs about 4 hours sleep a night and a nice warm shower. Free internet and breakfast is included... didn't had time to check it out. Great location, walking distance to the underground, lots of restaurants nearby and a 24hrs mega mall across the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lieumoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Single room is terrible . There is no room to keep the bag even . Rooms are not very clean . I was charged 90 sin dollar per single room . Never book this hotel online . You don't get any confirmation of what you have booked . Only they confirm is that you have booking . You land to the hotel . They give what's avilable .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alibaba321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

to all travel hunters, i would suggest never ever consider aspinals hotel (formerly claremont hotel), it was so disappointing upon entering the room. my gosh, i was barefoot when i notice that the floor was so dusty, i think they never vacuumed a long time, the bed, the blanket was so smelly, the window, the dresser, the toilet was totally dirty. mine you, am not that kinda meticulous that much, am a cowgurl considering i love travelling, secondly, they got this front desk smoker and funky rude. terrible experience,

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unluckyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This hotel situated in front of the well-known Mustapha Center. Very good location to find place to eat and to see. But the hotel room was poor, lack of cleanliness, dusty, with hard-rock bed. The good point of this hotel was the breakfast, I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Just try to book this hotel by online website....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stark86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was possibly the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The key to my door was not working and they wouldn't change the room so we had to get the receptionist to come up and open the door everytime we wanted to get in. The paint was coming off the walls and the TV was broken. What´s more, the TV was broken, the breakfast was terrible and at 7am in the morning there was a big carnival of Indians outside my door preventing me from sleeping. The curtains were almost transparent and blocked out almost night light after dawn. The worst thing is that I paid €50 a night for this! What a joke of a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveerasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Aspinal website is misleading! Other 2 star hotels for the same rates have offered clean rooms and their websites are genuine. Walk in customers have their choice for a last minute, but online customers are certainly been cheated. Receptionist very rude! When asked to clean the room and the bed sheet, she replied room cleaning only 3 days once. Yucks!!! I had to spread my shawl to sleep. Very small room with cockroaches crawling on the bed, walls and the miserable cupboard is only for show piece cant be used. I was awake killing cockroaches and the previous guest had left wall marks. Very thin see through curtains, had no privacy. Bathroom stinks. Hot kettle and cups were not clean in the room. I decided to quit my breakfast at their cafe.

It was a 1 night nightmare!!!!

I guess, the Management is aware with all complaints and trauma guests encounter, but is not bothered to make changes.

Room Tip: Not worth it. Nothing is best in Aspinal Hotel Sg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#230 of 312 in Singapore
189 reviews
Asphodel Inn Singapore
#272 of 312 in Singapore
120 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#171 of 312 in Singapore
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#156 of 312 in Singapore
1,170 reviews
Little India
Hotel 165
Hotel 165
#231 of 312 in Singapore
63 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#101 of 312 in Singapore
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspinals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspinals Hotel

Property: Aspinals Hotel
Address: 83 Syed Alwi Road Arianna Hotel, Singapore 207662, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India , Rochor
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Aspinals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspinals Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing