We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
Ranked #218 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I booked 3 night hotel via booking.com for SGD140 pernight. Once book they already charge one night from my credit card. And there is penalty if we want a early check in. Room was too small, just enough to walk around. Although is it quite clean with full amenities, kettle, hair dryer and etc, but one thing is not comfortable for me is their mattress which is to hard like sleeping on wooden bed. The rest is OK. Location wise ok and very near to NUS, groceries and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zairol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

I booked 2 nights for SGD 150 per night. When I checked in, I noticed that the walk-in rate was SGD 190 or 210, depending on the room. For this considerable sum of money, what do you get? A room that is just big enough to fit one bed. There is no proper table, no chair, and your luggage will just have to rest on the floor. There were some ants and fleas, although (I think) no bedbugs. Internet did not work when I was there. Someone also told me that the night before I checked in, a faulty fire alarm went off three times that night, roughly at one-hour intervals (1 AM, 2 AM, and 3 AM). As for the facilities, there are no facilities except for one washing machine. And the hallways are so narrow that two people would not be able to walk through at the same time without at least brushing shoulders. Also, the doors slam shut very loudly, and some rude mainland Chinese tourist woke me up at 1:20 AM by constantly knocking on the door of her tourist friends, in the room next to mine. (Also, these folks somehow felt that it was acceptable to stand in the doorways and shout between each other's rooms). In short, this felt more like a college dorm than a hotel.

The only reason that this miserable hole is able to charge such prices is that it is one of only four very small hotels near NUS or, in fact, anywhere on the West Coast of Singapore. But if you are willing to commute, then for the same money you can get a much better hotel (e.g. the Ibis at Bencoolen) for the same money. Or, you can have the same low quality elsewhere, but for much less money.

Another option is to stay in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, just across the water from Singapore, where you can get a 45-square-meter business suite for the same money as you would pay to stay in this college dorm of a hotel.

Again, stay away from this ridiculously overpriced, budget-quality (but certainly not "budget") rathole.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus_B2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Stayed here for 2 days as this hotel was near to my place of work. Rooms were of very small size but quite clean. Washroom was tiny in size but well sanitized. Staff was courteous and they didn't charged me for extended stay.

In breakfast only some bread, jam, fruits & coffee was available as their is no restaurant in this hotel. Not many restaurants are located nearby but one can try delicious Egg Paratha at "The Cheese Prata Shop".

This hotel is conveniently located and one can catch a bus from the nearby Bus stop for Clementi MRT station (or recently opened Haw Par Villa MRT station) and travel all across Singapore. Still, its too far from "Little India" which is an Indians delight.

I recommend this hotel to budget travelers, backpackers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crosswordsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 23 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 11 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Reasonably priced. Good facilities - DVD player, wireless network accessible across the building, fridge, kettle, sheets changed daily. Budget hotels normally do not provide any of these, but these are the bonuses provided by Santa Grand.

However, wireless network was unreliable. The place was under some form of renovation in Sept 06 and drilling took place as early as 9am even on Saturdays!

Customer service was decent in Sept 06, but seemed to have deteriorated toward the end of the year. Called to book a room in Dec 06 and guess what I got? Read conversation below:

Santa: "CAN YOU PLEASE CALL BACK IN A FEW HRS TO CHECK IF WE HAVE AVAILABLE ROOMS?"
Me: "Can't you put me down on the waiting list?"
Santa: "No. I don't know how to do it."
Me: "Are you trying to tell me I have to keep calling you every day at few hour intervals to check if you have available rooms?"
Santa: "Yes, because I don't know how to do a booking for you."

Lesson Learnt: Try booking via your agent if possible because those answering calls at Santa Grand seem to be idiots.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GalSoloTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lukas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaGrandHotels, Public Relations Manager at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Ocean View
#299 of 317 in Singapore
27 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Waterfront
#301 of 317 in Singapore
68 reviews
Genting Hotel Jurong
#1 of 1 in Jurong
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
#85 of 317 in Singapore
445 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#168 of 317 in Singapore
337 reviews
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#210 of 317 in Singapore
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel West Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel West Coast

Address: 428 Pasir Panjang Road Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, Singapore 118769, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Grand Hotel West Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast is located in the western part of Singapore, with the National University of Singapore (NUS) and National University Hospital (NUH) in close proximity. The five-storey building features elegant rooms and is also adjacent to the business and technology hubs of One-North and International Business Park. Guests will enjoy a warm stay because all sensory details have been carefully refined to be just right. As with all the touches, from the positioning of the high speed network link to the modern amenities, guest will feel thoroughly at home. Santa Grand Hotel West Coast caters mostly to corporate clients with offices located in the western part of Singapore. These include NUS, NUH, NTU and companies involved in the construction, oil refining, shipping & marine industries. It is primarily a corporate hotel suitable for visiting professors, foreign students or family member, senior level executives and those visiting NUH - overseas patients & family members, corporate companies - foreign expatriates on attachment or temporary lodging till they move to permanent accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel West Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Singapore
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing