We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
13
25
14
17
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
25
14
17
27
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Our double room was small because part of it was taken up by a large square box covering .....what I don't know(service area I guess!)
Mattress was comfortable and the window could be opened but awkward to get at.
Had a walk through the dorm area to get to this private room.
2 showers/toilets upstairs and downstairs so adequate.
Free internet and breakfast. In fact this was a very nice breakfast because you can take it outside to eat on the verander. The street is traffic free but you do hear the call to prayer early morning if you are a light sleeper.
Staff friendly.
Minuses - small room, Mosque noise.
Pluses - breakfast and outdoor area.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twiggytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had a reservation at Green Kiwi Backpacker, but the owner told us that they had a problem with the reservation and it was already full, so they transferred us to Sleepy Sams, which now is known as Sleepy Kiwi (both names are still used). They put us in a 4 bett dorm, which had hardly space to turn yourself around, not to mention to put 4 backpacks in the room. They have only 4 toilets and showers for 60 people, which were cleaned once a day!!!! You can also ask them to clean it more often, but they won’t! The other dorms will be sold as 6 or 8 bett dorms, but it is actually 1 huge room with kind of some thin partition panel, sometimes up to the roof, mostly not. This hostel is overpriced and a dirty place. Definitely not recommended!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Having stayed in Sleepy Sam in 2009, my friend and I went back there (August 2012) as we enjoyed our first stay. However, I will have to say that I will not be going back there again as I have bedbugs bite to prove and the staff were so unfriendly !!! There was especially one who kept telling us to take the breakfast dishes back to the kitchen and kept checking to make sure we did! We found the hostel dirty and dusty. Our private room was really dusty and floor was sticky ! No thanks!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisledinBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

The biggest pros to me are the hygiene and the location. There is nothing worse than being grossed up when having to use the washrooms and this certainly didnt happen to me ar sleepy sams. I read many reports on bedbugs, but neither we nor anyone staying there at the same time we did experienced any, probably they dealt with the matter. Maybe thats also the reason why they changed the name to sleepy kiwi...
Breakfast is nice, internet rather fast. The rooms however are tiny. You will need to leave your bags downstairs so make sure to bring along locks.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schdero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here in 2011. four of us. great place. free use of computer with internet access . free wifi too. Breakfast were good. cereal, fruits, milk. juice. the front desk were attentive. (although she speak less). stayed in the mixed form. bunk bed. bed were clean. room were cosy. you dont need to worry about privacy, each bed is covered with some kind of " white flowy curtain". shared bathroom. clean. cool atmosphere. during our stay they were some japanese guy, and argentian guy staying at the dorm.
location wise - ideal. near to MRT. bus station. foodie place nearby.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank min h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews