We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
brendan_c130788
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Singapore wonder
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Oct 2012
If your a backpacker or travelling on the cheap this is the place to be.

Friendly staff, free internet, quiet dorm room, amazing price-per-night for Singapore and lots more.

Situated in Little India it is central to lovely pubs, sis-ha cafes and Asian cuisine restaurants.

Within walking distance of the metro line to centre of the city or the airport.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. I fully recommend this hostel.

Only lost one point as it did not provide free lockers. As I had my own lock it would have been useful to have a locker to store my valuables in. there were a few lockers available but were all occupied while I was there.

Cheers, Brendan
Date of stay: October 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£101
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Hotels.com
    £107
0.4 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
£143
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £123
  • Hotels.com
    £184
0.9 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Facade
Booking.com
£92
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Trip.com
0.3 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£101
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    £97
  • Hotels.com
    £101
0.7 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£136
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £156
  • Expedia.com
    £156
1.6 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£173
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £196
  • Vio.com
0.6 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
Booking.com
£99
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £87
  • Priceline
7.5 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
Booking.com
£131
  • Priceline
  • KLOOK
    £96
  • Vio.com
1.5 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Pool
Restaurant
Vio.com
  • StayForLong
  • MarinaBaySands
    £757
  • Trip.com
1.3 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £127
  • Agoda.com
    £103
  • Hotels.com
    £111
1.9 miles from Sleepy Sam's Bed & Breakfast
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
13
25
14
17
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
25
14
17
27
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Our double room was small because part of it was taken up by a large square box covering .....what I don't know(service area I guess!)
Mattress was comfortable and the window could be opened but awkward to get at.
Had a walk through the dorm area to get to this private room.
2 showers/toilets upstairs and downstairs so adequate.
Free internet and breakfast. In fact this was a very nice breakfast because you can take it outside to eat on the verander. The street is traffic free but you do hear the call to prayer early morning if you are a light sleeper.
Staff friendly.
Minuses - small room, Mosque noise.
Pluses - breakfast and outdoor area.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twiggytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had a reservation at Green Kiwi Backpacker, but the owner told us that they had a problem with the reservation and it was already full, so they transferred us to Sleepy Sams, which now is known as Sleepy Kiwi (both names are still used). They put us in a 4 bett dorm, which had hardly space to turn yourself around, not to mention to put 4 backpacks in the room. They have only 4 toilets and showers for 60 people, which were cleaned once a day!!!! You can also ask them to clean it more often, but they won’t! The other dorms will be sold as 6 or 8 bett dorms, but it is actually 1 huge room with kind of some thin partition panel, sometimes up to the roof, mostly not. This hostel is overpriced and a dirty place. Definitely not recommended!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Having stayed in Sleepy Sam in 2009, my friend and I went back there (August 2012) as we enjoyed our first stay. However, I will have to say that I will not be going back there again as I have bedbugs bite to prove and the staff were so unfriendly !!! There was especially one who kept telling us to take the breakfast dishes back to the kitchen and kept checking to make sure we did! We found the hostel dirty and dusty. Our private room was really dusty and floor was sticky ! No thanks!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisledinBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

The biggest pros to me are the hygiene and the location. There is nothing worse than being grossed up when having to use the washrooms and this certainly didnt happen to me ar sleepy sams. I read many reports on bedbugs, but neither we nor anyone staying there at the same time we did experienced any, probably they dealt with the matter. Maybe thats also the reason why they changed the name to sleepy kiwi...
Breakfast is nice, internet rather fast. The rooms however are tiny. You will need to leave your bags downstairs so make sure to bring along locks.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schdero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here in 2011. four of us. great place. free use of computer with internet access . free wifi too. Breakfast were good. cereal, fruits, milk. juice. the front desk were attentive. (although she speak less). stayed in the mixed form. bunk bed. bed were clean. room were cosy. you dont need to worry about privacy, each bed is covered with some kind of " white flowy curtain". shared bathroom. clean. cool atmosphere. during our stay they were some japanese guy, and argentian guy staying at the dorm.
location wise - ideal. near to MRT. bus station. foodie place nearby.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank min h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews