We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar
Ranked #142 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very satisfied with my recent stay there (Aug 1). Everything from start to finish was smooth sailing. Dinah at the Front Desk was great in processing our check-in hassle free. The rooms are very well appointed and even some other higher end hotels could have a look and see what makes a modern hotel good. The fact that the entire property is non-smoking is also a plus. Wifi at no additional cost is also another big plus.

The only problem I have, is that the hotel is a bit of a distance from the nearest MRT and because of it's position on the corner, getting a cab may take longer than expected.

I've stayed at both Aqueen Lavender and Aqueen Jalan Besar and have nothing but good words for both.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanYung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustCareAqueen, Public Relations Manager at Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear RyanYung,

Thank you for supporting Aqueen Hotels and for being our fan. We are certainly delighted that our products and services are to your satisfaction and that our hotels provide a comfortable stay during your visits to Singapore.

Aqueen Jalan Besar is a 5-minute walk to the nearest Farrer Park MRT Station (there is an access point from the City Square Mall). This will provide convenient transfers to the attractions in Singapore. Our associates would be happy to provide guidance on the shortest path to the nearest public transport.

We thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.


Warm Regards,
Aqueen Hotels Management Team
Email: customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    112
    43
    14
    11
See reviews for
79
73
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Well located area , short distances to best shopping outlets in Singapore . The room which I stayed was so nice . The rates are affordable and this definitely fits to any budget . If it's Singapore surely aqueen .
Cheers

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramodh_nalle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustCareAqueen, Public Relations Manager at Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Pramodh_nalle19,

Thank you for your positive review of Aqueen Jalan Besar Hotel. Our guests are our best ambassadors and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

If your travels do take you to Singapore, please drop in with us again as we will be delighted to host you.


Warm Regards,
Aqueen Hotels Management Team
Email: customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

More satisfactory than expected. Rooms are compact, neatly done & very clean. All you need during your stay is there. Amenities are of quality and complete. Free Wifi 24hrs connection very good. Mustafa, City Square Mall and MRT just walking distance which is very convenient. Buffet breakfast is simple and sufficient. Staff are friendly and helpful.Would stay here on our next trip and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daw Hta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustCareAqueen, Public Relations Manager at Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Daw Hta C,

Greetings from Aqueen Jalan Besar Hotel and thank you for your warm response to our hotel. We are happy to know that the hotel’s easily-accessible location and amenities were a pleasant surprise for you during your recent stay with us. We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you and your friends on your next visit.


Warm Regards,
Aqueen Hotels Management Team
Email: customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was staying in one of their premium rooms during my recent business trip to Singapore, and surprisingly I find that this hotel was much more satisfactory than I expected as compared to IBIS during my previous trip. The front staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was very neatly done up and very clean. Breakfast was simple but nice at the cafe and the ambience was nice too. It is very conveniently located and easily walking distance with nice food, shopping centre and many local restaurants along the opposite street. I am definately returning in my next trip here, I like it very much...and yes, the strength of the free Wifi signal I get there was just unbelievable. Most businessmen would love this hotel for sure.
- PisutKriangbooraphar

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PisutKriangbooraphar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustCareAqueen, Public Relations Manager at Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear PisutKriangbooraphar,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Aqueen Jalan Besar Hotel for your recent business trip to Singapore. We are pleased that your experience with us exceeded your expectations in more ways than one. We constantly strive to provide trustworthy products and services to our guests and are delighted that these were fulfilled.

Thank you for recommending Aqueen Jalan Besar Hotel and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Singapore, for business, or leisure.


Warm Regards,
Aqueen Hotels Management Team
Email: customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is very well located especially for vegetarian Indians. Its access to all the Indian food outlets of Little India is just a stone's throw away. Another advantage is the MRT which is again within walking distance. The room was very small but very clean. So was the bathroom. In spite of the compactness of the room they have managed to add a cabinet with hangers, a safety locker, space to store extra luggage, a study table and a flat screen TV. The room was cleaned every day and the towels changed once in 2 days. Breakfast was a reasonable spread and tasted fresh.
The only disadvantage was the disturbance from other guests. The rooms have thin walls which carry sounds. So if there are guests with young children then say goodbye to your sleep.
Overall a good place to stay. Will I stay there again? Yes I certainly would.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms, the room we stayed in did not face the road nor have sunlight but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shivoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustCareAqueen, Public Relations Manager at Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Shivoham,

It is our pleasure to read your review on Tripadvisor; we are happy to learn that Aqueen Jalan Besar Hotel is your choice of accommodation in Singapore and that the hotel provided the necessary amenities for a comfortable and memorable stay.

Aqueen Hotels brand promise is that our guests enjoy rest, rejuvenation and feel refreshed regardless of their length of stay; we are glad to know that you have experienced all of these. You will be pleased to know that all our rooms have windows so guests do enjoy some natural light, although the views will differ depending on room facings.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share this review and we wish you safe travels till we meet again.


Warm Regards,
Aqueen Hotels Management Team
Email: customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I was shocked when I got inside our room as it didn't match with the pictures shown in their website. I booked a Superior Queen room and it was so small that I could barely keep our luggages inside. Bathroom has no door. Our room being adjacent to the lift was very noisy. Definitely I wouldn't recommend these rooms for double occupancy. However, the staff was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagar423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustCareAqueen, Aqueen Hotels Management Team at Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sagar423,

Thank you for choosing Aqueen Jalan Besar Hotel for your staycation and taking the time to post this review.

We are disappointed to learn that the size of the room you have booked and stayed in is not up to your expectation. Our rooms, though compact, have been designed with guests’ comfort in mind to ensure that each space is well utilised. We have different room types available for differing guests’ needs; the Deluxe rooms that are of a bigger footage are available at a slight premium that may akin to your liking.

We are however delighted that the staff impressed you during your stay with us and we hope that you will stay with us again.


Warm Regards,
Aqueen Hotels Management Team
Email: customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed with my family in my visit to Singapore and I am a frequent visitor to Singapore and was very happy with this hotel cause it was very close to Mustafa Centre it is practically walking distant. There was a food out let just across the hotel so can have food even in late night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Friend141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustCareAqueen, Aqueen Hotels Management Team at Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Friend141,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Aqueen Jalan Besar Hotel. We are pleased to learn that the hotel's convenient location and nearby amenities have made your holiday and stay a pleasant one.

We look forward to your family’s return in the very near future and welcoming you again to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Aqueen Hotels Management Team
Email: customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqueen Hotel Lavender
Aqueen Hotel Lavender
#146 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#108 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Tyrwhitt
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Tyrwhitt
#119 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#137 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aqueen Hotel Paya Lebar
Aqueen Hotel Paya Lebar
#84 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar

Property: Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar
Address: 230 Jalan Besar Aqueen - Jalan Besar Hotel, Singapore 208906, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar is located in a historically-rich conservation area in Singapore and is conveniently connected by a network of public transport systems, providing easy access to Singapore’s sights and sounds. Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar is located 20 minutes from Changi International Airport & Singapore Expo and 10 minutes from Orchard Road & the financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing