We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at it's best! Superb Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Singapore
Ranked #26 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Luxury at it's best! Superb Staff!”
Reviewed 3 December 2009

LOCATION: The hotel is located just steps from Orchard Road in a brilliant location. The Orchard metro stop is just a 5-10 minute walk away, which gets you to your sites. As it's very hot/humid in Singapore, you may consider taking a taxi to get around some parts of the city because the rates are not that high. Your best option to/from the airport is by taxi. It cost two of us about 19$S. The shuttle bus is 9$S per person, but much slower and poor pickup times.

ROOM: The room size was very spacious. The entire room was very clean and everything was very elegant. The room had great amenities and a large flat screen TV. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The only downside, as with most of indoor Singapore, the air conditioning is very cold. The thermostat in the room was tough to control to a good level.

STAFF: Very nice staff, which is what you would expect for a St. Regis. The butler service was very nice. We only used it for our morning tea/coffee and to get us bathroom products.

HOTEL: The hotel common areas are very clean and attractive. Very elegant lobby. The spa area included free access to an outdoor secluded pool, sauna, steam room, and fitness center. There is also an indoor air conditioned tennis tennis court available on the property. They also provide racquets/balls, but the balls are used and racquets are okay. It was nice to hit the ball around for a bit.

CITY: Singapore is great. Very hot/humid, so plan accordingly. Shopping is everywhere. Construction is also everywhere. The city is very clean, if not the cleanest we've seen. People are very polite, casual, and have high standards. Take a trip to Sentosa if you have time. Nice beaches, nice nature, and things to do if you get bored of shopping and skyscrapers.

NOTE: All our reviews are not evaluated on the exclusively mutual experience at the respective hotel. Our ratings and standards are benchmarked with other hotels that we have stayed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dal-n-lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    444
    169
    81
    55
See reviews for
394
669
157
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

took me more than a year to finally write this review, for all this while i was hoping that i would get a just explanation from st regis.
room decor is nice, just like you'd expect from other five star hotels. what went horribly wrong was the morning after when my daughter felt something hard in the pillow. So she started digging in and guess what she found? BROKEN PIECES OF GLASS. Not just several pieces but many many tiny pieces. so we called the butler up and showed him the problem. The butler's response was a total letdown to a hotel that pride itself of its butler service. He just offered to bring us another pillow and left, acting as if there's no big deal with the broken glass. But we kept our cool. After a while i rang up butler service again. another butler came up and this time we complained about the broken glass pieces. Sensing that we were not happy he apologized and went out to fetch the housekeeping manager who can only manage to apologize too.
They didn't even bother to try to explain how the hell the broken glass pieces got into the pillowcase and how the housekeeper totally missed it. That only means something! They never change the pillowcase even after the guest leave!!! YUCKS, this is 5 star hotel, my goodness!!! They scrimped and save on soap and water. ZERO hygiene level.
On the same day we checked out. At the lobby we were greater by some manager who's quite senior, probably just under the general manager. This manager's apology didn't even sound sincere. they offered the 4 of us a free ride to the airport in a crammed mercedes. Come on, i could have paid sin $50 for a maxi cab that could provide us much more comfort given the no of people and the amount of luggages we had. Do they think they could appease us just like that after such a close encounter that my daughter had with the broken glass? I hate their mentality that they think they could fix everything just by offering a free little something. We are not cheap!!! We are nice people who decided not to pursue the matter, that's all.
The way they handle the situation, the initial response, the apology, housekeeping service, the butler and the manager's attitude were a total letdown. I'm sure even 3 star hotels would have handled the situation with much more grace and sincerity.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank fourseaons21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the St Regis. Had a brilliant room on the 18th floor, very large with a huge comfortable bed full of pillows, high backed chair and stool, pillow strewn sofa, huge TV and a good sized desk, plus a huge range of well lit cupboard and drawer space. The fridge was a pain as it didn't have any room for our private purchases and the mini bar was prohibitively expensive, but then it is a 6 star hotel. It took us 2 days to work out the light system is it very comprehensive!
The bathroom is marble and gorgeous. Lovely stand alone bath tub facing a mirrored wall with a TV inset. His n hers sinks, although a major draw back was there were no drawers to put your toiletries so everything has to fit onto the vanity top, odd for such a well thought out hotel room, designer must have been male! Great shower with extra jets and rainfall attachment. Toiletries are high end and everything is provided, right down to a loofah and dental floss. Good soft large towels and plenty of them.
A nice touch is free use of CDs and DVDs and you can plug your iPod into their sound system. Housekeeping put a jazz CD on for us at turndown so we always returned to the room with dimmed lights and music and a little box of chocolates, really nice touch. Along with the papers delivered every morning in a little bag, and a pillow menu.
Our room came with a Butler 24/7 which we used on a regular basis as there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. You call the butler service and pick from a menu of teas and coffees which are free. Nice touch, fantastic at first having your morning coffee from china cups on a tray, but as they delivered it by the cup only I think the butler thought he was in a revolving door to our room as we are avid coffee drinkers in the morning. Our last day the coffee being delivered was burnt, strong and tepid. The butler changed it twice but it didn't improve so we ended up making a run to the Starbucks just around the corner for a decent latte. It was the only time we felt the 6 star service let them down.
We used room service which was quick, delicious and well presented. They bring a table in with a white tablecloth beautifully set up with an orchid, etc, and the hot food is underneath in a warming drawer so no cold breakfast!
We had a drink in the bar beside the entrance, good service, champagne and macaroons were delightful. Didn't use any of the other restaurants as we were busy going out to local restaurants instead.
I used the large outdoor pool one morning. I was the only person there and obviously provided amusement for the surrounding office buildings! The pool is cool and good for laps. I didn't use the spa as it was too expensive and never found the steam rooms so can't comment.
The staff were excellent, from the greeters at the door who refuse to let you open a door yourself, to the check in receptionist who walked us up to our room at 2.30am and ordered coffee from the butler (thank you Fiona), to the concierge staff for whom nothing was too much. I would like to give a special mention to Ian Tan, Chief Concierge, who was amazing. He went the extra mile, not just the usual restaurant recommendations and bookings, but being an absolute gentleman and walking me to the Fish Spa down the road in the evening when I was on my own. A special person who makes the hotel a 6 star experience.
If we ever get the chance, we will definitely stay at the St Regis again. Hopefully next time I will find the steam rooms, sample afternoon tea, and manage to get back to the hotel in time for the complimentary wine tasting early evening.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwisLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gennes, France
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We have just completed a five night stays at the St Regis in Singapore using our SPG points and the 5 for 4 nights promotion. We had an amazing time ! It all started at Changi Airport where we were met off the jetty by an hotel representative and were wisked on a buggy through the airport terminal to the CIP terminal. Immigration procedures took 30 seconds to complete and we were seated in an elegant lounge with drinks and snacks while our luggage was being retrieved . Within 25 minutes of landing, we were seated in the hotel's Bentley on our way to the hotel. As a Platinum SPG member, I was upgraded to a deluxe corner room and we enjoyed in room check-in. The room was extremly classy, elegant, luxuriously appointed (hand painted silk pannels, lacquered wood veneer lobby with an elegant wet bar, marble floors, the usual electronics gizmos, electric drapes, etc..). The bed was very comfortable and dressed in beautiful, luxurious high quality linen. But the highlights of the room, was the amazing bathroom, with its free standing bath tub, separate wet room, and separate WC. An avalanche of marble combined with wood and expensive lighting made for a unique experience. The heating was cleverly hidden behind the various mirrors gracing the bathroom. Obviously, high quality robes, fluffy towels and top toiletries were complementing the scene. We were introduced to one of the many butlers who looked after us during our stay. I have to say that they all have proved to be extremly efficient, courteous and always there. The longest we had to wait for them to appear was 7 minutes (and that was on a very busy day). Overall, the service across the hotel was impeccable, the employees extremly polite and helpful. The breakfast in Les Saveurs is a unique, high quality experience (as a Platinum SPG, it was offered to us for free throughout our stay). In comparison, I attended a business breakfast at the Fullerton during my stay and it did not compare at all with the spread laid out at the St Regis, the variety and quality of the food on offer is superb. Please note that at peak time, you will have to wait for a table, especially at week ends. The Astor bar is a great location for well mixed, fancy and classic cocktails or a glass of delicious champagne. We also used the Spa and the Pool during our stay and they both receive very high marks indeed. Although the hotel was full, the pool was a haven of privacy and peace and quiet every time we visited. During our stay in Singapore, we visited the Fullerton, Raffles and The Mandarin Oriental. There is absolutely no question that the St Regis is the ultimate luxury hotel in Singapore at the moment. It may lack the old fashioned charm of the Raffles but its exclusive atmosphere and super decoration makes it a worthy contender as the leading house on the island. We shall return !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascalJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My wife and I stayed at the St Regis a couple of years ago after it has just opened and we were very dissapointed.

We decided to give it another try for our weedinfg anniversary just passed, and we are very glad we did.

They didn't just iron out the kinks we experienced the first time, they went over them with and very hot steam roller.

Abosolutely perfect, the staff have the balance of help versus hinder spot on, which was lacking last time, they upgraded me due to plat SPG card and the room was great, and everything worked, which was a problem last time, the breakfast was not upto Shangri-lah standards but it was none the less very very good, which is was not the last time.

But most of all you got that six star feeling, which we defintely didn't not a couple of years ago,

Well done.................

I guess like all good things they need time to mature, and the St Regis Sing, is in its prime now.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongkong
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

The best hotel I found in singapore.

Spacious room ( executive room? rm# 915). My friend booked for me. I don't know exact room type though. S$400 seems reasonable price in that area given the hotel quality.

Good service. I checked in around 1AM. The girl escorted me to the room and gave me full introduction of facilities. The butler is good. Got one free laundry a day.

Internet access. S$ 32 a day. Well, I don't like this very much although most luxury hotel charges.

Botero sculptures: several piece of Botero's work. It's fabulous. Millions of dollors for those pieces I guess.

Good audio system: 5 bose speakers hooked with tv, dvd, cd and radio

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WideEyedWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This may be the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in. It's all you'd expect from a St. Regis, but the rooms are really quite something. The only other Singapore hotel I've tried is the Grand Hyatt. I liked the Hyatt, but it seems downright spartan in comparison.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
The Westin Singapore
#41 of 314 in Singapore
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Singapore

Property: The St. Regis Singapore
Address: 29 Tanglin Road St. Regis Hotel Singapore, Singapore 247911, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#16 Business Hotel in Singapore
#20 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#30 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the city’s premier shopping district, with the world-class shopping of Orchard Road at your doorstep and the grandeurs of a 5-star hotel within, The St. Regis Singapore is the ideal residence for the discerning luxury traveller. The St. Regis experience begins when you arrive at Changi Airport. A luxurious St. Regis Bentley and chauffeur can be arranged for your journey to the address where timeless elegance resides.From its location at the most coveted address to the legendary St. Regis Butler Service, this is world-class hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Singapore Hotel Singapore
St Regis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing