We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PS Cafe

PS Cafe
Ranked #84 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Italian, American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Tanglin
Description: A REFUGE FOR SOCIAL GATHERING PS.Cafe opened in 1999 as a cosy cafe hidden within Projectshop clothing store. This charming and understated spot quickly gained a following for its hearty takes on savoury cafe classics, famous truffle shoestring fries and indulgent cakes, puddings and tarts. Thoughtfully detailed interiors, lush surroundings, friendly relaxed service and generous portions have made this homegrown Singapore brand an internationally recognized local favourite. PS.Cafe is the place for legendary brunches and lazy afternoon teas, romantic dates and friendly celebrations in beautiful surroundings.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
168 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived around 9.30am on a Sunday morning and had a choice of tables on the terrace. Lovely green location, spacious outdoor space with fans and ceiling fans. Excellent food and they were very accommodating of allergies. Very good coffee. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireLassAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    311
    137
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great moment, not cheap !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had brunch with friends at PS cafe.
Food is vey good, but is a bit pricy (30$++ for a burger, other meals min. 25$++, no alcoholic drinks, 9.5$, etc.), service is ok. The burger was great ! We asked for a seat on the terrace - was great atmosphere, quiet and in the shade. The only problem can be the time you have to wait before getting a table, a the price, which makes it a "from time to time" place to have brunch.
Nevertheless, I think we will come back !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieLND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and decent food - but let down by service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Perfect place to meet up with friends in a nice ambiance within a beautiful location. Overlooking a small plot of the Dempsey "forest", P.S. Cafe offers a mood to cosy up with loved ones or to catch up with friends. I was bringing a friend out for dinner and desserts as she was visiting from Indonesia - being an interior designer, she was keen to discover places in Singapore with stunning designs; and P.S. Cafe is definitely one.

Each main would set you back by about SGD 30-40, and each dessert is around SGD 16 after taxes and service charge. Try the pecan pie and key lime pie, these were amazing. And my chocolate-fan of a friend swears by the knockout triple chocolate cake. In my opinion, the desserts here are more worth your time and stomach space.

With prices and in a setting like that, you would expect a decent level of service, however this is where P.S. Cafe disappoints with what I would sadly describe as lackluster service. It was almost impossible to get our orders and took us 3 tries speaking with the waiting staff before we were served the condiments with our food. The only time they approached our table was to give us the bill - when we didn't even call for it, and to inform us that we needed to leave in 10 minutes as it was closing time soon. Just one notification and we had to leave at that.

I believe most places would inform you when the "kitchen is closing" and also take that chance to remind you of their closing hours. We never got that alert, so having to cut short our conversation left a bitter note to our otherwise very enjoyable night out.

All in all, it's a beautiful location and a beautiful restaurant. Would I return? Perhaps, but only if I'm bringing guests out, or if i'm absolutely craving for a plate of pecan pie.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NikittaFinitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, decor and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We ate here with friends. The food is absolutely gorgeous - highly recommend the miso cod and Parmesan and truffle fries. The cakes are amazing and the portions really generous - definitely big enough to share. The atmosphere was great - busy and fun. Recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Not the best of Singapore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

A couple of friends and I headed to PS Cafe on the Monday night of a long weekend. We did not have an reservation, but they were able to seat us after a short wait. We started with a combo of wind and cocktails, which were fine.

The service was fairly good, although we had to flag down a waiter whenever we needed further service. We went straight for main courses, with a combination of the salmon salad, cod and prawn pasta. The food came quite quickly, although there was a gap before the last dish turned up. I had the fish, which was particularly disappointing, being overcooked, under seasoned and generally lacking in flavour. The salad was slightly better and the reports on the pasta were good.

Dessert was a shared pineapple meringue pie, which again was pretty average and a weird consistency.

PS Cafe was certainly not a bad meal, but for the premium price point, we certainly expected a more polished experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PS Cafe also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to PS Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing