We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Upmarket Restaurant”

Mortons Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mortons Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #156 of 10,679 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Marina Bay
Description: Morton's is an upscale restaurant specializing in prime aged steaks and offering the finest product available to our guests. Morton's open kitchen reveals the secrets to great steak preparation as chefs prepare entrees in full view. Morton's lends an air of relaxed distinction to any affair. Rich mahogany wood paneling and etched glass set the tone, cozy brickwork and sumptuous wine and food displays punctuate the dining room and Morton's signature table-side presentation make for a truly memorable dining experience. In addition to the dining room, we offer private dining for larger parties in our Boardrooms which can be configured to suit groups of up to 40. Whether it's an elegant dinner, an elaborate cocktail reception or an exclusive wine tasting, Morton's is the perfect destination.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Upmarket Restaurant”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I really like this restaurant as do several friends. The service is exceptional as are the steaks and the rest of the menu. The wine list is also quite good. The service can be a litlte formal at times and I could imagine some people being intimadated by this but don't be. I've had occasion to return a steak or bottle of wine and this has always been handled very proffesional and courteously by the staff.
The only warning I would add is that be careful what you order, you can find yourself struggling to eat it all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    222
    103
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Should have set my expectations very low”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

You would think due to the pricing of this steak restaurant and how this restaurant is in mandarin oriental you would expect a certain level of service, atmosphere, food however this could be further from the experience there. In my experience there
1. The restaurant uses dim lighting to create the atmosphere however its more or less hiding the fact that many parts of the ceiling in the restaurant have black and brown spots - there not part of the design
2. Dress code not required as many people went in with a t shirt, with shorts and flip flops and even questionable clothing.
3. It would have been nice if management did not allow people to take photos of there food. A couple in front of me with a professional camera spend more than 30 minutes taking photos of there food using flash on there camera
4. While I understand english can be a hard language to learn - not being able to understand many of the things staff said makes asking questions and placing orders become more difficult.
5. Food - between a prime rib, potatoes, tenderloin, food was average in taste. but ok in size
Overall for the price you pay to eat here I would only say try somewhere else, but if you do come here set your expectation’s very low

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linitotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Before dinner wind down”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

A martini or two at the bar here never fails to relax me and companion before a night out. on some nights the wannabes could be a minor irritation but find a quiet corner and you can have a quiet conversation. Martinis are among the best in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank confucius73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places to dine”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Words cannot explain the steaks that are served at Morton's Steak house. Their food is just good clean wholesome goodness served on a plate with a side of decadent fries or mash.

Though this is a place that my wallet can only afford to visit once a year, it is the one place that I look forward to coming back to every time. The crabcakes are filled with chunks of real crab meat, though this does set you back 40 dollars for one piece!

The French Onion soup is one of the best soups I have ever tasted, its flavour is rich, sweet and wholesome, just like your mother used to make... but better.

Any of the steaks are a good choice, however, just note that the portions are massive. It doesn't make sense to order a smaller portion each since it is only a few dollars cheaper. Just go for the bigger size and share between two, it's more than enough for both.

Make sure to save room for dessert, they look absolutely fabulous! I have always been enticed to order the other cakes, but, I always only have space for one - their signature chocolate lava cake. This has to be the best lava cake available in Singapore.

It's definitely not cheap, but the service and the food makes it a very worth while and enjoyable visit every single time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Choongster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Service was terrible right from the start of making reservations. It was as if they wished you did not come to the restaurant.
Food was average for the price. Ordered a Prime Rib cooked medium rare, was given a raw piece of meat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iw2ttw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mortons Steak House also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Mortons Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing