We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small upgraded hotel with lift”
Review of Mayo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayo Inn
Ranked #195 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 2 August 2011

UP TO 20 MINUTES WALKING WITH LUGGAGE TO NEAREST METRO STATION (BUGIS) depending on your walking speed.
Need to cross a busy road to reach at traffic lights.

Recently renovated so prices have gone up. Last time I checked it was starting around Sg $110 a night.

Near a mosque so can get disturbed from your sleep early!!. Near night Massage parlour.
Opposite hotel 81
Very Small but clean hotel and of course, no swimming pool. Have security cams.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at the Mayo Inn in Singapore at the beginning and at the end of our trip trough Malaysia, each stay for 4, respective 3 nights.

Location: The hotel is located very centrally in Little India. The MRT stations Bugis and Little India can easily be reachend within a few minutes, though if you don't mind walking you can also reach orachard road, the Naional Museum and the waterfront within a fair distance...
As the hotel is near a mosque you might wake up at 5AM, when the muezzin calls. We didn't mind this, though...

Hotel itself: Cleanliness is very good, the rooms are cleaned and the bedlinen and towels changed every day, same applieas to the complimentary tea, (instant) coffee and water within the rooms. In the bathrooms you'll find shampoo and shower gel as well.
Though european we decided to go for a japanese style room - these are really nice! There's alo a fridge and a TV on the room, though we didn't need them. WiFi is available but sometimes a bit slow...
The staff is professionally friendly - when we checked in the secondtime we were in Singapore, we arrived at 6.00 AM in the morning, and although check-in time is only at 12.00PM, the let us check into our room without any extra charge. A large thumbs-up for that and many thanks again!

Rates are 110S$, but if you pay by paypal, you'll receive a discount of 10S$ per night.

I'd recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again if I'd come back to Singapore.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JuDowillFutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed at Mayo on Jun 20 - 27, 2011 with my family (3 adults, 2 child). We took the family room (#305) with additional extra bed so we have 1 double and 2 single beds. The room still have adequate spaces for us to put things and move around. The room is nice with twi bigs windows (cannot open though), a television set, a big desk, two small desk beside the bed, one big wardrobe and a refrigerator also with a nice bathroom. The room is clean and eventhough it's right beside the busy street we all can sleep nicely at night. An incident happened in my family at my hometown (Jakarta) that make us to shortened the vacation and comeback to Jakarta on Jun 24th. We already paid the rate for the whole duration, so we just check out and inform the receptionist the reason why we do early check out - the following day we receive email from Mayo (Evelyn) mentioned that they will give us full refund for the remaining days. We really appreciate this; it's above our expectation. So thanks to Evelyn and Ana, who help us a lot in the reservation. Mayo Inn surely our #1 choice when we back to Singapore.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jthendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here in June for 4 nights the room was spacious, clean, they will come and change sheets everyday and replenish tea coffee and 2 bottle of complimentary water. The bathroom was big and they will supply everything you need shower gel, shampoo shower cap including toothbrush and paste kit, no soap. Again they will change your towels each day.
We had a deluxe room and had access from our room to a backyard which we really liked but if don't want any lizards to come inside keep the door closed. For the rate we paid the service and the cleanliness exceed expectation.
Cons. There was a construction site one street from the hotel just opposite Hotel 81 and the noise was horrific they are working 24/7 so do not expect any relief from it. We arrived after an 11 hours flight and we weren't able to get any sleep in the first night. We asked to change the room but the hotel was full so we had to endure honking and shouting and steel being dragged around each night and we bought ear plugs which allowed us to have a bit of sleep.
I did asked for a quiet room when I booked and they gave us one away from the main road but I never anticipated the construction site will be near by.
I would say it is value for money in a very expensive Singapore and I would recommend the deluxe room as is big and has a bathroom to suit.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper check with the hotel for any constructions around and make sure you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ela019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Based on TA's review, I booked the family room at this hotel. Definitely recommended! I had the advantage to pay as I arrived (meaning no down payment) and an early check-in (9 a.m.). Room was cool, clean and neat; and could accommodate 4 people nicely (2 adults + 2 pre-teens) . The bathroom was spotless with perfect rain shower; and also completed with basic amenities. There was mini-fridge and electric jug; and they gave us extra coffee & tea sachets for free in addition to the ones in the room.
Although we couldn't open the windows or see outside view, sunlight could still enter the room once you pull the curtains, of course.. well, the sights were probably a bit dull though, so no problem with the windows thingy.
No breakfast policy, but there was this delicious Indian restaurant nearby that was so rich in taste unlike other restaurants we had in Singapore. And there was a small store right across from the hotel in case you had this urge to munch on something :)
Unfortunately, there was no phone in the room; so we had to go downstairs (well, it was only one floor below) to ask for the password for the wifi and a teaspoon/small plate for the fruit we bought at a local supermarket (mind you: no durians policy).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kembangalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Even on a very short stay (one night while in transit in Singapore), I was impressed by the service, staff's friendliness, and cleanliness of the room. My husband stayed there longer and also liked it. Prior to arrival, our trip plan kept changing but they very kindly accommodated our requests. Singapore is an expensive city, but Mayo Inn gives value for money (judging from the prices of similar hotels). Easy to get around and if you like gadgets: Sim Lim Square is just across the street. No breakfast at the hotel, but food is one thing Singapore's not lacking, at any time of the day (and night). Also, free WiFi, although not the fastest connection. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnettinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The day I arrived at Mayo Inn, i was a bit worried to see the busy noisy road and the road construction nearby. Would it be okay for us n especially for our 8mo baby asleep at night. Turned out we passed out and slept through the night. We even missed to hear the door bell rings for so many times.

We stayed at the family room for 2 nights, overall the room is clean, the bathroom is great, the service is nice, even the elevator is 'cute'.

Recommended if you're looking for a budget hotel at the Bugis area and convenient for family. It's 10min walk to Bugis MRT, Bugis junction, Mustafa, Bras Basah or
Little India.

It's recommended

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rintul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#165 of 317 in Singapore
574 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#172 of 317 in Singapore
339 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#149 of 317 in Singapore
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
#185 of 317 in Singapore
35 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#183 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
City Inn Mackenzie
#176 of 317 in Singapore
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayo Inn

Address: 9 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208786, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £59 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-storey Hotel with 22 rooms on the fringe of the Little India Historical Conservation Area. Local eateries, bars and restaurants nearby. A short walk to 3 Rapid Train stations that will take you to the CBD and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mayo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayo Hotel Singapore
Mayo Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing