We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay value for Singapore” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayo Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mayo Inn
Ranked #182 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay value for Singapore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Accommodation in Singapore is expensive and the Mayo Inn offered us accommodation for 4 at a fair price. The room was small but the four of us squeezed in for the night. The room faced onto the street and was quite noisy. Overall adequate for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank columbiaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    87
    50
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
54
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room is very clean and neat, reasonable size room. It's about 5-8 min walk to Bugis MRT where there are lots of eateries and a mall. One bad thing of this hotel is the lifts were out of order during our stay so it was quite a hike up and down for the 6 nights but other than that, it's pretty good value for money considering how expensive the hotel prices are in SIngapore.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ftang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Average, no-frills hotel - it was what we expected given the price we paid. The room was average-sized by Singapore standards but it was clean and it had all the basic amenities (AC, TV, clean bathroom with hot water). Only two complaints: 1) it's beside an MRT station that's being built so it can get quite noisy and 2) their lift is not functioning so you may end up carrying your luggage up 3 floors.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timlimgenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadian, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This id the frist time i have been to Asian & the frist time i been to Singapore. they have some good thing.
A.helful staff .B clean room & good location.
C.the room i stayed in very small .B the street very noisy at night verry hard for me to sleep.
if i come back singapore again i will find some where else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Booked Mayo Inn because it filled our budget.
Do not expect more, if you want cheap room, just book those dormitory style backpackers' hostel with shared bathroom. Pay more for Mayo Inn, and get more privacy and own bathroom.
Have to book prior if you want a family plus room (1 double , 2singles, very comfy for family of 4).
No breakfast, but lots of food around.

Location : for me, it's just ok, lots of eatery around, Indians (behind the Inn, they are scattered everywhere), my favorite is Albert Centre/Complex, just walk around 3-5mins, supermarket is just 2 mins walk. Cheers is just across the Inn. Walk another 2mins , you can find 7-11 for light snacks behind the Inn.
Bugis Junction's MRT can be reach for 10 mins walk, but I love the surrounding of the route to get there, food (lots of food!), small stores, temples, short cut from Bugis + to MRT (if want to avoid heat)
Bus stop just a minute away. Also Little India's MRT can be reach for 10 mins walk.
Sim Lim Square and Sim Lim tower are basicly couple minutes walk.
Minus point : MRT constructions near the Inn, but didn't bother us at all, except they made the Inn can't operate their elevator (probably that's why they gave us $10 discount for all rooms).

Staffs : great staff, Miss Ana, Miss Yani, thanks for all the help you gave us :). Very helpfull and nice personallity. Very fast to reply our emails.

Rooms : we booked Deluxe and Standard room. If you a light sleeper, better ask in prior to have room NOT facing streets and max locate on level 2, quite tiring if you come back from circling the city and take stairs to our rooms on level 3.

All basic needs are provided : 2bottles of mineral water everyday, packs Teas & coffee, kettle, shampoo, soap, clean towels (altough on the first day, 1 towel has its threat thininng).
Beds & pillows: ok, blanket : not big enough for 2 adult.
Bathroom : ok, very clean. Most important.
Enough space to store luggages.
AC is super cold. Free wi-fi !
Minus point : IMHO, Floor is better off just ceramic floor, carpet looks like cheap carpet and makes the room gloomy.
Yes, they do have windows, but we can't see through them, they just coloured glass, and for safety reasons they can't be opened.

No need for late check out if you have late/afternoon flight, just ask the staff to keep your luggages.
If you only need clean room, and just for sleeping and shower, Mayo Inn is good enough.

I'll be back, especially if the MRT construction finish, might be more handy to catch train.

Room Tip: book in advance, very full Inn,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella_sigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Two couples - took a family room. $140aud pn.

Good Points: Very clean. Good bathroom. Beds ok. Tea/coffee facilities. Lovely staff.

Bad Points : Room was super small. Was on the 2nd floor - elevator not working (but were warned by hotel when we booked so knew what to expect). Located on very, very noisy street and there is no soundproofing at all. Construction happening all around the hotel including on the hotel itself. Windows don't open at all. Bathroom/shower floor extremely slippery - like walking on wet glass, need to be super careful!

Tho the staff are absolutely lovely and very helpful, and the position of the hotel is excellent - very close to Little India, Arab St, Bencoolen St - basically walking distance to downtown Singapore, we probably would not stay here again due to the noise factor....so very noisy.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear of the hotel. Street rooms are noisy!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over the Easter weekend and found the hotel adequately met our needs. We had a small room on the ground floor with no windows. This meant that the elevator being out of action didn't affect us (I believe the elevator is "out of order" due to the construction work in the area). The room had a reasonably comfy bed, adequate storage space for our belongs and free wifi was provided. However I disliked the setup of the bathroom.The shower was just a shower-head coming out of the wall with a small drain below and no shower curtain. This meant that the water went everywhere in the bathroom whenever you had a shower. The bathroom appears to be setup for wheelchair access, which is obviously nice of the hotel to provide, but I have seen wheelchair friendly bathrooms with a better setup than this one.

The location of the hotel is quite handy. Bugis and Little India MRT stations are both within walking distance (less than 10mins), which gives you access to the whole city. There are also many restaurants nearby with Little India providing plenty of options. However there is a lot of construction being undertaken in this area due to the building of the new MRT line. While it wasn't disruptive to our stay in the hotel, it didn't make it the nicest area in Singapore to stay.

In summary, we found Mayo Inn to be a good budget option to stay in Singapore. While they offer a cheap price, the rooms are basic and quite small. If you are after a room to crash each night and you will spend the majority of your days exploring Singapore, then this hotel may be suitable. However if you plan on spending any amount of time in the hotel, a more expensive hotel that can offer you more services may be a better option.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenKrumeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Kam Leng Hotel
#213 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#118 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,219 reviews
Hotel YAN
#52 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayo Inn

Property: Mayo Inn
Address: 9 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208786, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An economy Hotel with 22 rooms in a 4-storey conservation building on the fringe of the Little India Historical Conservation Area. Close to local eatries and restaurants. A short walk to Rapid Train stations leading to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mayo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayo Hotel Singapore
Mayo Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing