We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice and clean”
Review of Mayo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayo Inn
Ranked #179 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
“Great location, nice and clean”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I together with my brother and his wife stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It is definitely a great location with its nice and clean room. The hotel provides water bottles, toothbrush, towels, shampoo, shower gel as well as coffee, tea facilites. The hotel is just near Bugis MRT station & easy to get a taxi as well. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The only thing is that the hotel lift is not functional but it was not a big problem to us as our room is located on the 1st floor. Also, our room is located next to the main road so its kinda noisy but again, it is not a big problem as we only use the room to sleep ;-) .
To Mayo Inn, thank you for your wonderful service and till we meet again :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyeflyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    91
    50
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
54
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husand and I stayed at Mayo Inn for four days and four nights. It is a great little place which provides you everything you would need for a short comfortable stay. The rooms are small but not too small like most hotels in Singapore. The staff were very nice and easy to work with. For a budget hotel they impressed us by providing us with new water bottles, toothbrush and towels every single day. The rooms were extremely clean and pleasant.

The location was very convenient as it was 5 minutes walk away from Bugis station! We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShehP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel is located in Little India and is a great option if you're on a budget. We needed a triple room and Mayo Inn was able to offer this with their Family Rooms. Rooms are a bit noisy (street noise) and worn; however they are also very clean, with a good AC (important in Singapore!), spacious bathroom and coffee and tea making facilities. Its a short walk to the Bugis shopping area and there is a conveinence store right across the road and a 24 hour supermarket a few doors down. We stayed early July 2013 and there was a lot of construction going on in the street which made it a longer than expected walk to the MRT which was only a hassle when we were tired at night. The staff at Mayo Inn are courteous and helpful and assisted us upon request.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natnee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel is a great place to stay, they have clean rooms, with A/C, a nice shower room and soft pillows and bed. The room is super affordable and we had a very comfortable stay. The hotel is located near little india, bencoleen and a walk near bugis. My husband and I enjoyed the coffee, tea, cute toiletries and the awesome location. Thanks Mayo Inn hotel staff! The hotel is a great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkgirl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

The inn is located at Little India district with easy access to pubs and restaurants and MRT (metro; about 500 m). Rooms are clean and nice with kettles, coffee and A/C. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

It is clean and comfortable to stay. I was really satisfied with its room and their service. Room is clean and looks rather nice. The hotel is not far from Bugis Junction, just about 7 minutes walking. Value for money to stay expensive Singapore.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter place when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Finding decent and inexpensive accommodations in Singapore is tough but Mayo Inn stands out by offering no-frills and only the essentials for a fair price. It's located in between two MRT stations: Little India and Bugis making it easy to get around. It's also a stone throw away from Kampong Glam and Little India. The room and bathroom are clean. Everything was functioning as it should. It can get a bit noisy during the day but if you're always out and about it won't matter much. The air conditioning is slow in cooling the room but after a while it gets really cold. In other similarly priced places the shower is over the toilet but not here which is a very good thing. The lift was under repair when we stayed but we did not really mind as our room was just one floor up although it was a pain bringing down luggage after a few days of shopping. The staff was helpful in assisting us with getting a cab on our way to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located along Mayo St. Rooms near Jalan Besar can be noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyapjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#56 of 312 in Singapore
796 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#134 of 312 in Singapore
215 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#158 of 312 in Singapore
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#62 of 312 in Singapore
361 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#200 of 312 in Singapore
191 reviews
Arcadia Hotel
#132 of 312 in Singapore
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayo Inn

Property: Mayo Inn
Address: 9 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208786, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An economy Hotel with 22 rooms in a 4-storey conservation building on the fringe of the Little India Historical Conservation Area. Close to local eatries and restaurants. A short walk to Rapid Train stations leading to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Mayo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayo Hotel Singapore
Mayo Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing