We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget n Nice Inn”
Review of Mayo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayo Inn
Ranked #183 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Budget n Nice Inn”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed with family and booked for 2 rooms. After check in been given Ground Floor and 2nd Floor. Thought got lift but cannot use. I stayed 2nd floor. Because of the hotel is just beside the roadside so will hear very clearly vehicles passing by sound and around 4 or 5 am, morning prayer can be heard. So walking up the stairs to 2nd floor is a hassle for a pregnant mom with a small child. So managed to change to GF the next day. And I didn't hear anymore of those sounds as the room is not near the roadside. Suddenly everything is nicer and better. Room is comfortable as well as the bathroom. Looks very new and clean. The rates is also acceptable and location is good with merely mins of walking distances to BUGIS shopping area.

Room Tip: Request for Ground Floor Room if possible without the hassle of walking up the stairs to your room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaCeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    90
    50
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
54
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and I would have to say that our stay was very pleasant.
For those on a budget, this Inn is really recommendable.

Located in front of Sim Lim Tower and just crossing the main road will get you to Sim Lim Square, a haven for electronics. Crossing this street will also take you to Bugis district where there are lots of shops, malls, food choices (like the familiar McDonald's, KFC, Burger King etc). It takes an average of 10 mins (500 m) from the Inn to the Bugis MRT station but this wasn't an issue for us because there are many things to see on the way. There is also a bus stop near the Inn.

The rooms are located on the 2nd-3rd floors and during our stay the elevator was working (other reviewers note that the lift is not functioning), although it was for the handicapped (meaning it's very slow), so we just opted to take 1 flight of stairs every time which isn't an issue for us as well. We also carried our own luggage since it's mostly elderly staff who are on duty.

The rooms and the bathrooms are big compared to other budget hotels. You don't feel cramped/trapped when your in the room/bathroom, like I said very spacious. Towels, Shampoo, Shower Gel (no soap available), Toothpaste/brush were provided for. Hot and cold shower was working OK and there was also even a bidet which is not usual for SG Hotels. Also 1 bottle of water/person was also provided daily.

A/C was working fine as well. For the TV, there are only 5 channels (1 Chinese, 4 English (AXN, MTV, some news channels)). Free Wi-Fi is available and I was getting speeds up to 11 Mbps.

This Inn is good for people who are just going to store all their luggage, be gone for the whole day and to sleep at night.
Since this Inn is low-storey and near them main road, it tends to get noisy during the day.

After enumerating all this, I would gladly check-in in this hotel/Inn if I come back to Singapore.
Good value for money and location.

Room Tip: Get the rooms farthest from the main road for lesser noise during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It was a really comfortable 5 days we spent at Mayo Inn in November. By Singapore standards, the price was great value-for-money and the location - within a 10-minute walking distance to 2 metro stations (Bugis and Bras Basah) and a 2-minute walk to a couple bus stops as well.

The room was perfectly functional if a tad on the smaller side. But, while it did have huge stained glass windows, they were sealed or locked and we couldn't open them. Also, the authorities have banned the use of the hotel's elevator, because of the construction of a metro station nearby, which means you trudge up one or two flights of stairs through an extremely hot and stuffy stairwell. Not recommended for those with kids or older people. However, this should only be a temporary setback until the elevator is operational again.

These were the only two negatives and by no means a deal breaker for the price.

Some interesting places for tourists to see and do here in this neighborhood. There are a couple temples - Indian and Chinese; and some really nice brunch+dinner places on the way from the hotel to the Bras Basah metro, which sits next to a Kopitiam. Arab Street is within reasonable walking distance too.

Nothing luxurious or fancy about this hotel but it's what I'd recommend if you're looking for a convenient and comfortable place without spending too much money.

Room Tip: Until the elevator is functional, I'd suggest picking a room on the first level and not on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajugyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Mayo Inn in September and were impressed with the price and convenience of the location. I had actually booked for the Friday and Saturday nights of the Singapore Grand Prix weekend without realising so to pay £50 ($100SD) per night was incredible value!

The rooms were quite basic but perfectly adequate and very clean and it was nice to have a fridge to store snacks and drinks. The staff were friendly and helpful and although breakfast isn't included, there are loads of places to choose from nearby. Little India and Bugis MRT stations are both a 5-10 minute walk away and you can walk to Orchard Road in about 20 minutes.

I would definitely recommend Mayo Inn as a good budget option in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingston34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The mayo inn is right near the main markets of bugis and a cheap as food court filled with awesome Singapore cuisine which tastes incred. It is a around $100 per night as the lift is broken now so they are knocking $10 off a night. The standard room is set out well a little on the louder side so if you are a very light sleeper it's probably not for you but if you are a normal sleeper you'll be fine. Air con works a treat.
Recommended.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniestrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Surprisingly a terrific, enjoyable stay. The roadworks & general grotty-ness of the area lowered my expectations of this hotel but inside was a clean, well appointed room. Bed was clean comfortable & spacious as was the room, bathroom was clean, modern & large. The refrigerator was cold & quiet.. Staff were helpful & friendly.. The area was between Chinatown & Little India which has markets & delicious food with-in walking distance.. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here & would recommend especially after the MRT construction finishes.. The best location in Singapore unless your a very rich person..

Room Tip: Book a superior room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here and it was the worst.

We had to lug our heavy bags to our room simply because their lift didnt work. And what did they say? "It was posted on their site so we shouldve been informed." I mean..okay..not a problem? But to not even offer help?

THEY DIDNT EVEN BOTHER TO ASSIST US! 2 flights of stairs and 2 15kg luggages. NO HELP AT ALL.

PLUS..We go out during the day only to to come back to our room LOCKED. Simply because we havent paid yet..

WHAT KIND OF A HOTEL LOCKS OUT THEIR PATRONS?! WHAT IF WE WANT TO PAY WHEN WERE DONE WITH OUR STAY?!

No help from the Staff..Very inconsiderate and they are very apathetic to the welfare of those staying in their hotel.

Not good at all. If you want affordable? Sure...Just get ready for the hotel staff to NOT CARE about you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justcallmehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayoInn, Manager at Mayo Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
It is regrettable that justcallmehans did not have a pleasant experience when he and his friend stayed with us last month.
Unfortunately, our only lift serving the Inn is shut down due to safety concerns. We hope to have permission to operate it again soon once all safety issues are resolved with the authorities.
We have no porters to help with guests' luggage but staff members have been briefed to help in any way they can. I apologize if they were of no help on that day and appreciate that you have brought this to my attention. However, I hope guests will understand if elderly staff are on duty.
Our room access key card is programmed in such a way that on the last day of the guests' stay or the day they have paid for their room till, they will be "locked out". However, it does not mean that they cannot re-access their room. If they choose to stay another day or two we will be happy to extend their room access provided we have rooms available.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#58 of 312 in Singapore
784 reviews
Kam Leng Hotel
#225 of 312 in Singapore
443 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#121 of 312 in Singapore
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#179 of 312 in Singapore
310 reviews
City Inn Mackenzie
#158 of 312 in Singapore
305 reviews
Hotel YAN
#57 of 312 in Singapore
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayo Inn

Property: Mayo Inn
Address: 9 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208786, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An economy Hotel with 22 rooms in a 4-storey conservation building on the fringe of the Little India Historical Conservation Area. Close to local eatries and restaurants. A short walk to Rapid Train stations leading to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Mayo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayo Hotel Singapore
Mayo Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing