We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money in Otherwise Expensive Singapore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayo Inn
Ranked #182 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for Money in Otherwise Expensive Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Can easily rely upon this Hotel if you are looking out for a comfortable stay within reasonable price in Singapore. Its a proper hotel (not a backpackers inn) with all the modern amenities. The staffs are helpful & the hotel is an absolute value for money. Only drawback is the distance from Little India MRT which is abt15 mins walk...We booked the hotel through a travel agent(3rd Planet Tours) in Kolkata.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy_quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    87
    50
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
54
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

We had stayed 2 nights in the Family Room (1 queen and 1 single) for SGD150 nett/night/room. Overall we are happy, room is clean and spacious (can add 1 extra bed), lift is very unique. But the toilet is always wet because there is no shower curtain or glass door inside the toilet. The only disadvantage is the extremely noisy street infront of our room windows, noisy day & night. The receptionists are friendly and polite. The best part is they provide free internet WiFi 24/7.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmomong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcheldean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

Mayo Inn is under major renovation as far I am aware until April 2010

It is near a Mosque so this may awake you. Ironically near a 'massage' parlour with a seedy back alley. Opposite Hotel 81 which is more expensive.

Very near a noisy main road and traffic lights.

Can walk to a western bar at night.

May have to walk up to 15 minutes to an MRT Depending on yuor Luggage size. This is a budget place but is getting an upgrade so an expected hike in room rates to be expected.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

We booked this hotel after reading tripadvisor's reviews. Our only requirement is affordability, safety, cleanliness and location. Selling point of this Inn is its location. In front of Sim Lim Tower and Sim Lim Square, so if you are into gadgets this is a very good place to stay. Second, the area is surrounded by shopping malls / shops and not too far from Orchard Road. The building itself is old with no lifts/elevator. Reception area is on the 2nd floor. Rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor. The room we got has and attahced bathroom and has 2 beds - 1 queen and 1 single. It has TV but no cable. The bathroom is passable but not sparkly clean. They give you new towels, soap & shampoo everyday. The toilet floor always gets wet because there are no shower curtains. Fragrance hotels do not have shower curtains as well. I don't know if Singaporeans really do not use one. It makes the bathroom really messy. Well, you can't have them all if you're in a budget. I wish though that they will improve on this.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blooms_gardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Affordable, Clean and nice hotel. Near to SIM LIM TOWER..Bugis MRT and night market...just a few distance away..

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheemorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

Our flights were delayed to Sinagpore which meant our originally booked hostel (Inn Crowd) gave away our room, so we walked around the corner and found this little gem. I believe we payed roughly $70SNG per night for a room on the third floor with a double and single bed. The room was very clean, the sheets were crisp and fresh and the bathroom was spotless. The size of our room was quite cosy, but we had a small fridge, a TV (the reception wasn't the best) and excellent, quiet aircon. Everything was in working order in the room, the beds were very comfy as well. Our room faced the main road, but it wasn't noisy. There are no lifts, but its only a few floors up so the excercise was ok. The owners kept to themselves but they were pleasant enough. Just around the corner was a great hawker center, and a small Indian market. The Little India MRT station was a 5-10min walk away. You're in the Indian quarter, so there's lots of great food close by. There are a few backpackers around the corner with attached pubs if you are feeling thirsty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay but not looking to pay a lot of money. If you are looking for more than this, like breakfast and a gym, then this is not recommended. I would not recommend this hotel if you have problems walking up and down stairs. I would stay here again as there are a lot of expensive 'budget' places in Singapore (if you're after a private room) but this place was quite clean and good value.

  • Liked — Clean, Good Value, Friendly, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank camak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

Price reasoable near town area , room neat but no lift with wide staircase , opp sim lim tower , korean cuisine downstair

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#117 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#118 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kam Leng Hotel
#205 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,204 reviews
Hotel YAN
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayo Inn

Property: Mayo Inn
Address: 9 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208786, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An economy Hotel with 22 rooms in a 4-storey conservation building on the fringe of the Little India Historical Conservation Area. Close to local eatries and restaurants. A short walk to Rapid Train stations leading to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mayo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayo Hotel Singapore
Mayo Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing