We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent quality again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of True Blue Cuisine

True Blue Cuisine
Ranked #606 of 10,437 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: If you’re after a bit of culture to bring away with you, True Blue Cuisine offers just that, with its brand of opulence reflected everywhere – from its intricate décor in its newly-opened Armenian Street branch, to the merchandise sold in its shop.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistent quality again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

2nd visit to Perankan Museum and True Blue cuisine.
Mutiplicity of tastes and texture in these dishes - try the signature chicken and prepared local nut dish
Expensive but this is not a hawker food centre.
Enjoyable to see business people eating here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VeroniqueM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    23
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
PRINCETON
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Peranakan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

An elegant restaurant in central Singapore with a wonderful Peranakan menu. The dishes are unusual, even for Singapore, which has unparalleled gastronomic quality and variety. The food was outstanding, the service was extremely good, and the atmosphere very enjoyable. A very special dining experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincetonianMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Warm greeting and fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The concierge at Raffles made the reservation for us. We took a cab there and walked back to the hotel later.

We were greeted at the door and shown to the only available table in the place. The food is Singapore cuisine. It was new to us so our host chose for us. Everything was delicious. One dish was chicken cooked in clay pot and flavored by special nut. After we enjoyed the dish we were given the menu that said the nut was poisonous until it was treated before the cooking process. We loved the hospitality, food, atmosphere and the piano music. We may have been the only tourists there that night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseZbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A total rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This restaurant was recommended in a booklet made by the Singapore Tourism Board. As a first timer to Singapore, I thus went there to have dinner with a friend on 5 May 2014. I don't know whether reservation was hard to make as my hotel made it for me. We arrived at about 6:30 pm that night, and there were only 1 or 2 tables of people dinning. The decorations are really beautiful and that's all. The staff was rather pushy. Whatever dishes we tried to order, he would just say "not available" and then "recommended" those "yummy" or famous dishes of the restaurant. We were baffled and suspected that they only prepared a few common dishes every day. If that's the case, why did they offer us the customers a menu? Everything we wanted to order was not available. This is ridiculous. We finally ordered 3 main dishes and 1 dessert recommended by the staff and we were stunned when they arrived (See the photos). Each dish cost SGD10 to 20 and what came up on our table were in extremely small portion. Each dish only got 3 small pieces of food. Say the spicy stewed beef, it's portion was only 3 small cubes. The beef was dry and hard to chew. I really couldn't believe stewed beef could be so dry. The dessert was also ridiculous. It's just sweet rice balls, and there were only 2 balls in a dish and cost about SGD8! When we ordered baby coconuts as drinks, the staff said "not available" again, and was pushy enough to sell us the fruit juice that had been prepared. All the 3 main dishes, 2 small portions of rice (very dry without much moisture), 1 dessert and 2 glasses of fruit juice cost over SGD100! I felt that I was really a stupid tourist to believe in the recommendations of the Singapore Tourist Board. If you have too much money and don't know where to spend, just go to this restaurant and enjoy the rip off experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wisteriahwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Amazing food but very stressful Manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It's a pity for True Blue because they've got a lot of things right: first the food is awesome. Traditional Malaysian dishes, with a few surprisingly excellent dishes such as the "Chicken stew with black nuts" (an absolute must try!) or the "Banana flower salad". Flavours are rich and subtle, although it is true that portions are really small. The place itself is really cute, very "boutique" style, with lots of vintage photos and antic furniture. Unfortunately it's the service here, that is really awkward.
As rightfully said by many other Travellers, the Boss is way over the top. Although probably friendly in nature, he is extremely bossy and rather stressful. First he wouldn't let us chose our dishes according to our own tastes, and tried to influence our entire order. While we were in a casual mood with my friends, we didn't really mind, but I believe this could be very uncomfortable when in a more formal set up or when with Customers. But what I really didn't like is the way he tried to rush us out of the restaurant: first he was obsessively refilling our (already full) wine glasses. The wine was a really nice bottle from Portugal that didn't come cheap, so it was really inappropriate to push us to drink it so fast. Even when we kindly ask him to slow it down, he would come back a minute after for refill. Second, he was way too present. Always standing next to us, watching on us and interrupting our discussions abruptly with nagging comments. It amused us, but again in a less casual mindset it would have been plain upsetting. Last, he really started to piss us off when he kept asking a countless times if "we needed taxi", arguing that the "Kitchen was going to close very soon". We felt rushed in a harsh way, and considering the relatively high prices for small portions, this was again not appropriate.
Finally, the stubborn little man ordered the taxi anyway, and triumphantly came to say our taxi was "waiting at the door", while we still wanted to stay: our wine glasses were still full, some dishes un-finished and we were enjoying a nice discussion. I looked at the watch thinking it would probably be something like 11 PM, and guess what? It was...9.20 PM only! The final note was almost 300 SGD for 3 people, which is really expensive even in a city like Singapore.
My best advice to the Manager would be that he takes a couple of deep breathes in before serving customers, and seriously considers adopting a more relaxed, respectful attitude. It doesn't feel nice for Customers to have to be stressed like this for ordering dishes, drinking wine and leaving the restaurant as fast as possible. We aren't just pigeons with wallets that come and drop some bucks. We come here to enjoy a whole experience, and quality of service is definitely part of it. With all the great dining options available in a city like Singapore, the food alone doesn't make the difference. The service and genuine care for customer is as important as the content of the plate.

If you are not shy to go anyway (the food is really worth it), just don't hesitate to cut the man short before he "takes control", and straightforwardly let him know that you intend to choose your dishes by yourself and be left in peace for your meal. If I come back, that's exactly what I'll do.
As a short word of closure, I would have happily put a 4/5 for the great food, but the service is just so far behind that I had to put a 3. I hope service can improve in the future, or be left in the capable hands of a more professional restaurant manager.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Acidinmyfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed True Blue Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to True Blue Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing