We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For sashimi fans!”

Ikoi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #677 of 10,515 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For sashimi fans!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had patronise this restaurant for uncountable times and got to admit this restaurant still serve the best and freshest sashimi that I ever eaten. Most importanly is you can order as many times you want since its buffet thus is very valuable for money. Price is around $35-$40 per pax. Reservation a few days before (especially dinner) is highly recommended because it will be full house very quickly. Overall its a good restaurant. Do note that waiting time is really really long when the restaurant is packed especially festive season, but their service are ok ^^

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank triciateo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    77
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Craving for sashimi satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are a fan of sashimi, this is the place to go. The types of sashimi offered are more than those offered at other a la carte buffet places: swordfish, octopus, tuna & of course salmon. (There are at least 2 more but I can't remember what type of fish.) The sashimi cut is satisfyingly thick & the fish is wonderfully fresh. And when you first arrive, there's a delicious salmon sashimi starter that's the house special. And all this is on top of the amazing selection. I love the salmon skin handroll & the tempura!
Charlie the owner is a warm & gracious host & his team will efficiently get the orders right (& we order a LOT! Lol.) They seem shorthanded at times but that's because the restaurant is always full! We normally make our reservations at least 4 weeks in advance to get our favorite table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auryee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Terrible staff service, very long waiting time.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff service was terrible as had to face staff with long sour faces. Wasted time waiting for food items to appear at table, too way too long. Not recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The food is excellent but they were very understaffed when we visited which meant long waits for everything we ordered. The staff who were be tried their best so we couldn't really complain. Def worth a visit as the food really is good

Helpful?
Thank Nilante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sashimi Sashimi Sashimi 2!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My 2nd visit here n they have maintained their standard and quality of Sashimi n services!

It's quieter here on a weekday dinner time slot. So the services and speed which the food was prepared was a lot faster!

As usual we are here for the Sashimi n we were not disappointed! This time only the Hamachi is not available. Our all time favorite is still the Mekajiki (sword fish) which melts in your mouth!

Complimentary Soup in a Teapot is always a delight!

Will look forward to our next visit!

Helpful?
Thank aurora7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ikoi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Ikoi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing