We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great ambience to chill over meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garden Slug

The Garden Slug
Ranked #6,135 of 10,496 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Joo Chiat
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great ambience to chill over meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The garden slug is highly raved to be a hidden gem in the east by bloggers and online reviews. Out of curiosity, we decided to check them out during the weekend. It may seems inaccessible as it's not walk-able from any MRT, the nearest would probably be Bedok station. The menu is pretty extensive, from pasta, burgers, steaks and even all day breakfast dishes.

We had, Wasuga Chicken Wings which was kinda disappointing. TGS Mixed Grill Platter inclusive of ribeye steak strips, lamb loin chops, bratwurst sausage, mash potato and greens was good! We had a few kinds of pasta as well. Desserts was decent, we had tiramisu - nothing to rave about.

Overall, the quality of the food were average - some were good, some weren't worth the cost. If you're looking for a place to satisfy your steak craving without spending a bomb, this would be an ideal place to chill over meat :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacq I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Neat local eatery with fast service and good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Visited the Garden Slug last evening as a last minute choice for dinner. We had cowboy burger and a plate of meatballs to share. The burger was well cooked and had beef, bacon, cheese, egg, lettuce and relish and was served with some chunky cut fries. Good portion and delicious taste. The meatballs were also very good and were in a nice tomato based sauce, with eggs, cheese and garlic. Lovely. We never had drinks and the total bill was $48. Which included GST and Service charge. Service was good and the food came quickly despite the place being quite full. A good choice and we would go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank paffytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Boutique restaurant with cosy ambience and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Love the setting and ambience. Food is nice. Serving size is also rather big for one. Good for sharing. Friendly staff who also can accept special requests eg pre-order one of their soups not on that day's menu. Reservation recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but lacking a sense of creativity...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

in preparation and presentationa! After all, paying a restaurant is about the food presentation as well (and service for me). I had the nicely seasoned and delicately done grilled fish with prawns (tails on), plus lettuce and tomatoes with marinated salsa roja (and it is not salsa verde - since I have also lived in California and have many family friends who make salsa verde for a living - granted I am taking into consideration that I now live in Singapore) on a sesame seed bun. I have several issues here: first the combination of grilled fish and prawns on a sesame seed bun is NOT the way to go. "The Garden Slug" folks need to re-conceptualized this entree, personally. Some options could be: serve the fish and prawns in a bed of mixed salad greens, in a bed of rice with veggies or mixed greens with quinoa, or in a wrap/tortilla with some rice - as long as the prawns are deveined and tails are removed. Yes, I mean it, please tails off! Such an inconvenience to take the tails off to begin with using my fork and knife - DON'T CALL IT A BURGER! If they were minced fish and prawns combined as seafood patty burger, then, it is do-able. Second issue which I mentioned already - tails off please! The food is after all SGD$20. Third, wet lettuce and tomatoes with dripping juices would cause such havoc when eating a burger generally, right? YES! I think this is a common knowledge - get a lettuce dryer or pat your lettuce and tomatoes before using them. So the fish/prawns burger were soggy on the bottom which amde the entire meal soggy. However, I cannot complain 100% as the service, the fish/prawns and salsa were tasty and the tiramusu was also deliciously light - granted I typically use mascarpone cheese - it was still delicious. Please reconsider preparation and presentation alternative for this dish as I would like to come back since it is two blocks from where I live.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaceINdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brunch Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I went for brunch - it was decent, but portions are rather small. still might go again - the coffe was ok and the sweets were good.
inside&outside seating.

Helpful?
Thank AlterLachs
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed The Garden Slug also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Garden Slug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing