We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tasty Surprise”
Review of Go India VivoCity - CLOSED

Go India VivoCity
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Tasty Surprise”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We wandered in to Go India after almost 42 hours on the road and were nicely surprised by the friendly staff, and delicate but tasty seasonings in the dishes. I admit that our "home town" doesn't have a large Indian population but all the Indian restaurants there put together don't come anywhere near equaling the quality of the dishes at Go India (Clark's Quay).

You can dine at the bar on the river (fewer food choices) or in air conditioned comfort and with window seating overlook the river, but do give this place a try!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJS-Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
177 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“contemporary ambience,fair spread but something missing...”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

the restaurant is located in vivo city singapore. looks impressive as you walk in(we had reservations confirmed) with some of the chefs seen at their craft through the large glass windows.
both a la carte and buffet options are available but the former options at SGD22 (average per item) sound pricy.if one wants to sample a variety of indian cuisine the buffet is an option.
buffet spread is fair,with salad bar(international and couple of indian items like dahi bada and chaat),couple of soups and fish,mutton and chicken mains. vegetarins too have sufficient options from lentils(dhall),navratan vegetable(nine jewels)forma,a vegetable pattie etc.
desserts were the typical moong halwa(later replaced by carrot (gajar) halwa and rabri (very thick mik based preparation)
pulao rice was available at the buffet station and naan basket was delivered to the tables.

now to the something missing part. the ingredients were there the spread was there but i was wondering what was missing.
yes it was the true blend of spices that would tickle the taste bus. the indian appetizers were bland as was the dhall.
it could be that the management is trying to cater to the diners who may not be able to handle spicy options but perhaps a way out would be lay out their various masalas so that the patrons who wish to spice up their dishes can do so by themselvs(much like they do in thailand where various sauces,chillies,chilly powder,sugar etc are available to patrons to add on to enhance the food to individual taste.
and yes did i miss the condiments which are integral part of an indian meal - chutney,achar,pickled onions etc or were they not there..
perhaps that was lacking...
overall the range of indian cuisine but it was very bland and mild for typical indian taste. perhaps spicing up options suggested above could benefit those who prefer to spice their neals.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rajamanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
221 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great food - not value for money though”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We visited this place in Vivocity mall after completing our Sentosa trip. Though the food is authentic, we fel that the prices were meant more for the affluent locals

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank StanleyPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I and my colleague went to this place on 2nd March 2012 for dinner.

I ordered Kasmiri naan and Zafrani murgh,kaali dal,kababs.
It took them 20-25 mins to serve the order which I thought was a bit too long. The decor of this restaurant is nice and you can enjoy the view of Clarke's Quay from this place.

The taste of the food was good and the service was good. Overall a good dining experience but a bit pricey!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arijitable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
“worst food ever”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Being an indian myself and knowing what indian food is about this place "GO INDIA" is a significant disappointment. Out of all the indian restaurants I have been to this is by far the worst tasting. We ordered several dishes worth $106 but were forced to not touch them after few bites.
So this place should rename itself as "DONT GO INDIA"
I hope this helps!!!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank shan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Go India VivoCity also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing