We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy restaurant with Okay food ”

Komala Villas Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 10,930 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Little India
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Filthy restaurant with Okay food ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

It serves indian fast food (south and north indian)
Taste is good but Cleanliness is a big issue ... There was uncleared vomit at basin in main dining room . Dirty dustbin located in dining room . Filthy floors.
About food hygiene : is a big concern.
Food quality : at times very oily and unhealthy.
Better option are avaliable for indian food!!! Good for money savers who don't care for health ....

Helpful?
1 Thank PrateekSPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    262
    93
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good, no frills Indian food that comes out quick and at a decent price. When I arrived and saw that it was full of Singaporeans of all ethnicities I knew I made the right choice. I left happy and full and I now know why it is something of an institution.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lestah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dosai”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The dosais at Komala Villas are excellent...choice of paper dosais, masala dosai, rava onion dosai etc with tasty chutney. There were 5 of us there for brunch and we ordered various things from dosais to iddiappam, somoas, sweets etc. We enjoyed the experience and it was cheap, tasty and huge portions. We didn't enjoy the teas - too sweet for us! The restaurant does get noisy and people do share tables with other patrons, which surprised us! We went there for the food and weren't disappointed, the service was fast and efficient!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic masala dosai.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This place is your cheap Indian fast food type of joint. Don't expect anything fancy with service or ambience. The potato masala dosai that we had however was extremely good and was bursting with flavours. Would definitely go back again just for that when we pass by Singapore in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go at your own risk!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Komala Villas is apparently known for cheap South Indian 'fast food'. I went there in March 2013 - the food was ok. Iddiappam was great, fresh and delicious! But the lassi made me sick sick sick.

Now in May 2014, I almost forgot about my experience last year and ordered home deliver - big mistake: onion rava masala dosa- terrible, iddiappam - terrible, dry, no condiments, puri sabji - terrible.

Moral of the story - don't get delivery. When your there make sure whatever your getting is cooked fresh. Don't have milky drinks (or have them if you must at your own risk).

There are much better places to eat in Singapore for similar food and prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Komala Villas Restaurant also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Komala Villas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing