We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb dim sum”

Golden Peony @ Conrad Centennial Singapore
Ranked #305 of 10,607 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Marina Bay
Description: If you’re after one of the very best in Cantonese dining, Golden Peony has to be your first culinary stop. An award-winning restaurant, the premium Golden Peony is truly outfitted for the accolades they’ve received; with exquisite teak screens, porcelain displays of Chinese mythology and bamboo-handled tea pots.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb dim sum”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have had several fantastic lunches here. The food is excellent and the service is faultless. Work your way round the dim sum, or get advice from the staff. The bar is separate, use the one by the pool for a great view. I'd suggest that if you want a coffee after, try the pool bar or the new coffee bar outside the hotel. Both great for people watching.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreqTr4v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    42
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
178 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We had Major communication problem - an uninspiring dinner”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We liked the fact that it was in the hotel and convenient -we were exhausted from a very busy Saturday. Sadly, or perhaps appropriate for early January, Golden Peony was 10% full. The appetisers were a nice touch - sugared cashew nuts followed by vegetable and aubergine spring rolls.Because we don't share food they totally confused our order and my prawns and mango in sweet and sour sauce arrived with steamed rice about 30 minutes before my now-starving husband received his meal - chicken with cashew nuts and chilli. The hungriest of us all - my daughter - had to wait even longer. This was definitely a case of mis-communication we have no doubt. Considering the restaurant was almost empty made it worse - perhaps they were on skeleton staff for the holidays and couldn't speak English? Waiting for my glass of French merlot was the classic comedy of errors. The first bottle brought by the waitron was Sauvignon Blanc, next up was Cabernet and last of all was my glass of Merlot. Wait - it does get worse - for my hungry daughter. The incorrect meal was FINALLY brought to her (which she subsequently puked up). Not spare ribs like she had ordered..... How could an international hotel have staff on duty that are unable to serve in English? French would have helped a lot - my daughter is fluent, but communicating in Mandarin would have been impossible. Our daughter subsequently worked out that Asians "share" their food and its communal eating all the way, whereas our Eurocentric way confused them in its selfishness

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bongitole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fine Chinese Dining”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

In Singapore fine dining establishments are so numerous that the citizens can complain that they cannot keep up with the new ones that keep opening.
One dining place that has kept loyal diners happy is Golden Peony in the Conrad Hotel.
This restaurant combines clash dining ambience (for the perfect quiet business meal) with fine cuisine done in personal portions.
Noted will be the golden fried lobster on a bed of spicy bean crumbs and the super savoury salt baked quail with taro chips.
They also conduct frequent wine themed dinners and it pays to be on their email list to catch these events. Great value for money events where you get to sample nice wines paired with their dishes at wallet friendly prices!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiangTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Beijing Duck & Dim Sum”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have been invited to Golden Peony by a business contact. The best Beijing Duck i have ever had in Singapore. Also the waste selection of Dim Sum (for dinner) was impressive.
Service impecable. Highly recommend for high end Cantonese cuisine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,810 reviews
1,109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 672 helpful votes
“No complaints by my HK friends”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were attending a conference at Suntec and decided to walk across the road for a nice lunch at Golden peony. I really shouldn't be bringing 3 hongkong associates to a cantonese restaurant here as they may rather eat local food, but this was 1 of the quieter places for a discussion near suntec

Ordered the lunch set which was of decent value at $48, plus an extra side of roast duck and pork. The latter was very good, and deemed authentic by my HK associates. The set started with a duo of dim sum, which was ok. The doubled boiled soup was delicious. The crispy noodles was average, and the dessert of hot sweet almond puree was not as ok - i prefer something cold and not so sweet for dessert

Before dessert, they even had a palate cleanser of lime juice, which was a nice touch

Overall it was a commendable effort but didn't blow me away

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Peony @ Conrad Centennial Singapore also viewed

 

Been to Golden Peony @ Conrad Centennial Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing