We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but ok, and close to my condo”
Review of Nihon Mura

Nihon Mura
Ranked #7,855 of 10,679 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cheap but ok, and close to my condo”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The best thing about this chain is the price. It is even cheaper than sushi in the US, which is saying something considering prices in Singapore. I usually get sushi and sashimi rather than the cooked food. In general, I do not like the rolls at this place, only the sushi & sashimi. I go here about once per month, either the Cathay Mall (currently being renovated) or Leisure Park Mall. The system with Popsicle sticks to order drinks & hot food is strange the first time, but after you get the hang of it, not a problem at all. Just remember your table number before you get up to choose your food. You will need the table number to place your orders.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VERY RUDE SERVICE ATTITUDE”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Nihon Mura @ City Square. If you really have no where else to spend your $ i would suggest that this is the best restaurant to go for a lifetime experience of the most rude service you can ever get from the restaurant staff Dexter. I do not not know what service others are getting but what we experienced this evening was the worst service attitude we have ever encountered throughout our years of dining in restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average Food with Slow Service”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Went to Nihon Mura @ Yio Chu Kang Stadium for their dinner buffet today..their food is ok but i must say that they're really really slow in their service..after we made our order and i think we waited around 40min (or longer) to come.. And I think they might have took even longer if we didn't rush the waitress.. If they're really busy I wouldn't be so pissed off..but the problem is there were quite a number of waiters walking around and they just ignored us when i called for them! When a waitress finally came over, my friend sounded really pissed and asked why our order took so long..it was only until then when all our food started coming out..so i guess the only good thing about this restaurant is that their price is affordable..but looking at their service today, i can't guarantee if I'll come back again..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shcizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheap Japanese Food”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Been to Nihon Mura a week ago (on a Friday night) with a friend.

The seating capacity is pretty limited and the ratio of staff to customer seemed to be inbalanced.

Quality of food is average - almost comparable to some fastfood Japanese chain but the price is definitely affordable. For Friday buffet for 2, both of us slightly over 25 items (including sashimi), and it costs us under $60.

The staff were friendly but I guess they are under-staff and hence at times looked overwhelmed.

A good place for family who wants to Japanese food but is on a budget.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylviagckoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't Go Here (Cathay)”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Don't go to Nihon Mura @ The Cathay

The Cathay is an under-customised shopping centre at the bottom end of Orchard Rd. The restaurant is just too big for the low volume of traffic the mall receives, so I expect that this is why the food is not fresh.

Absolutely awful. It's more or less self ordering using silly ice cream sticks you choose by walking round a big food station. You then give these to a cashier who processes the order.

Food was poor quality; we had chicken on a stick (a Japanese style plain satay) that was inedible. (We asked for this not to be charged to our bill and the manager thankfully agreed.)
The California roll wasn't fresh; the chicken rice on a hot plate (bowl) had almost no chicken to speak of. $3.50 for a bowl of Miso soup that was about 100ml of fluid.

Plenty of Japanese places in Plaza Singapura, 100m away, so suggest you go there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nihon Mura also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Nihon Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing