We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable stay, excellent rooms and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ayacara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ayacara
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Frutillar
Certificate of Excellence
El Quisco, Chile
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay, excellent rooms and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here so much, we came back a second night! Nicely appointed guestrooms with ensuites, with some antique furnishings. The heat was turned up a bit too high, but this was a minor complaint. Comfy beds, good water pressure & hot water, many rooms have picturesque views of the volcano. Attentive and knowledgeable staff, with some English language support. Very nice simple breakfast, nicely presented. Highly recommended if you're a boutique B&B sort of guest!

Room Tip: The forward facing rooms have great views of the lake/volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    32
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
73
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel is located on the lake shore avenue, close to the end of the town, but very near to the big theatre. It has 8 rooms, but parking space only for 5 cars, luckily during our stay several rooms were occupied by guests who did not arrive with car, so we could always park in the small lot of the hotel. This is very important, because it is extremely difficult to park on the sorrounding streets, besides there is a parking fee of about 1 U$ each half hour during the day. Therefore if you go out to lunch or dinner, it is better to walk, but many of the best restaurants are more than 5 blocks away. If you are somewhat handicapped, this hotel is not for you, there are stairs and no rails even accessing to the hotel, stairs going down to the breakfast room and steep stairs going up to the rooms on second and third level. The rooms are old fashioned, but nice and ample, the bathroom is well furnished. There is a beautiful big common living room with view of the theater, the Llanquhue lake and Osorno volcano, comfortable for reading or using your laptop. Wi-fi is working fine in any place of the hotel. On the first morning I found the breakfast very poor (there is no buffet, only some items prepared on every table), but then I learned from other guests that you can ask for ham and cheese and eggs any style, without extra charge, although I was not advised of this by the personnel. With this information breakfast improved a lot and the service was always very kind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel. The house is beautiful and the room was very comfortable, clean and attractive. The location is perfect, right across the street from the lake. The breakfast was very nicely presented and was enjoyed. The staff was friendly and the price was very reasonable. A great stay even though it had no air conditioning. Great bakery a few doors down!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamosahora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Ayacara over Christmas and had a delightful time. We were looking for a special place to spend the holiday and what we got was a whole lot more. Mari and Julia were absolutely great hostesses and went well out of their way to bring six travelers from around the world together for an evening of interesting conversation and celebration. The hotel itself is a very well done, recent renovation with a homey atmosphere. Breakfasts were delicious with the best coffee I have had in our 10 months in South America.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel was an absolute gem. Lovely room overlooking the lake. Although an old house it had been completely modernised and had a very Scandinavian feel about it. The staff were delightful expecially the lady who ran the hotel. She spoke fluent English and was extremely helpful. We also loved the very friendly dog that had taken up residence by the back door. Being a runner I got up early one morning and had a beautiful run along the lake followed by a very nice breakfast. It was just about the only place in Chile where we had a decent cup of coffee

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobweblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ayacara during our visit to the Lakes Region in October. We were a little early in the season so the weather was on the cool side and we had a bit of rain. Nevertheless the Ayacara could not have been more accommodating. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a fantastic view of the Osorno volcano on the east side of Lago Llanquihue. On a rainy morning we took advantage of the comfortable common room to relax and read (with classical music in the background). The breakfasts were substantial – albeit in keeping with Chilean preferences they were a bit on the sweet side for our tastes; however, when we asked for something a little more basic – e.g. avocado, cheese, toast (the bread was fantastic) and some olive oil the kitchen was happy to comply. We also had a very nice meal at the hotel one evening. At the time my wife was having some problems with her lower back and the staff was very nice about supplying us with bags of ice morning and evening to help relieve her discomfort. We would happily stay at the Ayacara again on a return visit to the Lakes Region.

(Note: The roads in the area are generally good and it is easy to drive to the volcano and other places around the Lake as well as to Puerto Montt. But, for out of area travelers the lack of signage can be a problem. None of the rental car companies at Puerto Montt airport provide vehicles with GPS systems. If you are not bringing a GPS from home, we recommend making your first stop in Puerto Montt where there is a large Mall right on the harbor. The electronics department at Ripley’s has a good selection of low-priced systems loaded with Chilean maps.)

Room Tip: Try for a room in the front of the hotel with a view of the lake and Osorno Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a recommendation of a friend and absolutely love it! We stayed for two nights and had a beautiful room overlooking Lake Llanquihue and Volcano Orsono. At sunset it's just breathtaking. Frutillar is a tranquil lakeside town and that's just what we were looking for. The hotel is an old Victorian house restored into a charming hotel, with high ceilings, wooden, creaky floors, warm lighting and personable staff. Your stay comes with breakfast; fresh juices, breads, strong and delicious coffee, and other offerings. We stayed in room La Tía and could not have been happier. If you want some romance and privacy, this is the prefect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frutillar
0.9 mi away
Hotel Frutillar
Hotel Frutillar
#3 of 6 in Frutillar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elun
Hotel Elun
#2 of 6 in Frutillar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
12.1 mi away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#17 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Werner
Hotel Boutique Casa Werner
#1 of 1 in Llanquihue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa de la Oma
Casa de la Oma
#4 of 19 in Frutillar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ayacara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ayacara

Property: Hotel Ayacara
Address: Avenida Phillipi 1215 | Frutillar Bajo, Frutillar, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Frutillar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Frutillar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ayacara 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Frutillar, a residence which traces its history to the 1900 is the charming setting of the Petit Hotel Ayacara. Situated at the edge of Lago Llanquihue the Hotel has magnificent views of the lake and Volcan Osorno. The house has been superbly restored with a profound respect for tradition recycling the original ancient woods and materials.Today, updated with contemporary amenities and cousy style, Hotel Ayacara keeps the gracious feel of an old fashioned house from the South of Chile. Overlooking the lake and the town of Frutillar, the living room is an inviting spot for reading and relaxation. Our Hotel in Frutillar features 8 comfortable bed rooms with bath en suite . The cousy hideaways designed with casual elegance, individual charm and superbs views from the lake and volcanoes have been furnished with great care over details. A delectable home cooked breakfast with fresh local products welcome our guests every morning at the restaurante. In the heart of La Regiòn de Los Lagos, Chile, our charming Hotel Ayacara in Frutillar is a rare retreat perfect for your stays while you discover the charms of the Lake Distric in Chile. Our dedicated service and friendly team will make your stay unforgettable. Ayacara in Mapudungun, the Mapuche language means "beautiful town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ayacara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayacara Hotel Frutillar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing