We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel with an above average price”
Review of Hotel Elun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Elun
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Frutillar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were really looking forward to staying at the Hotel Elun. The pictures looked great and the $145 USD price tag warranted an above average hotel for us during our month long driving tour through Chile. The room was clean and well appointed. The clerk at the front desk was very personable and tried hard to communicate with us in our limited Spanish. (She was much better at English). The hot tub was outside down rough cement steps. The breakfast was OK except the juice was undrinkable and the heater under the Eggs, Potatoes and Whatever was barely lukewarm. A very simple lunch upon arrival the first day was $36 USD for two. The wait staff spoke no English but the coffee, hot water & yogurt were labeled. It was clean and it was average but not a 5 star. Parking is extremely tight, but we felt the car was safe.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JWS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Elun: our stay there was simply wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, the room was nice (clean, good bed, bathroom clean) and had a spectacular view on Osorno's volcano and the lake. The breakfast was good (home-made marmelade) and there was Wi-Fi in all public areas (lobby, living-room).
We recommend this excellent hotel, hope you'll enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelaMarbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Having been an international airline executive for close to 40 years, I guess I can make a value judgment on hotels and destinations. Trust me, Hotel Elun deserves the highest ratings and Frutillar is a true jewel where one finds peace, impressive nature, magnificent music --not to mention the excellent food at the Club Aleman. Not to miss the Museum on German immigration to this area in Chile. A gem indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eldebrickell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed for three days in Frutillar. This hotel was a lovely surprise to us. All the rooms have a view of Lake Llanquihue and the Osorno Volcano. Excellent place to rest, sleep and relax. My husband used the hot tube and was great, actually the only one using it. We enjoyed dinner one night. I recommend this place when visiting Frutillar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy-Rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Frutillar seemed to attract a lot of day trippers but qwe stayed overnight and ate In The German Club. The hotel was great with arvelous views.we had a junior suite with windows on three walls. And views of the volcano.
There is a very nice hot tub and no one went there but us.

Room Tip: The junior suite had walls of glass everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This hotel was the best we stayed in on our trip to Chile. Fairly priced, good location, fantastic town and the most wonderful views. Even if the hotel was the worst in the world I would advise staying just for the view. On a sunny day its magical, on a rainy day its ferocious and at sunset breathtaking.
 
The Hotel has a decent breakfast with real fresh fruit smoothie, a rarity in Chile it seems. The Hot tub was a nice treat at the end of a busy day. The hotel has a simple log cabin feel, tucked away at the end of Frutillar. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Our only regret is we didnt stay longer.

Room Tip: You need a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesr1ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This hotel is small, when we were there we were the only guests.
Rooms all have a view of the lake, we stayed in a superior room just a bit larger than other rooms.
The hotel didn't offer dinner only sandwich, but there are other options in the town, so it wasn't a problem.
The weather wasn't kind so no view of the volcano.
Good stay
I would only stay1 night if I did it over again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frutillar
1.3 mi away
Hotel Frutillar
Hotel Frutillar
#2 of 6 in Frutillar
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ayacara
Hotel Ayacara
#4 of 6 in Frutillar
130 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Werner
Hotel Boutique Casa Werner
#1 of 1 in Llanquihue
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,731 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
#1 of 3 in Puerto Octay
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Salzburg Hotel & Spa
Salzburg Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Frutillar
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elun

Address: Camino a Punta Larga Km 0.2, Frutillar, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Frutillar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Frutillar
Price Range: £102 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elun 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elun is a new and exclusive boutique hotel located at the shores of Llanquihue Lake in the german-style town of Frutillar. Each of the 14 rooms has an amazing panoramic view of the lake and volcanoes. The hotel, surrounded by native vegetation and gardens, is located in the most beautiful and quite place at the center of the Llanquihue province, allowing easy and direct access to a variety the most interesting places in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elun Hotel Frutillar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing