We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners can't be more nice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zapato Amarillo B&B
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We went with my British in laws, my husband and our baby in February 2013. The trip was a bit last minute and originally this wasn't our first choice, specially with a couple of nearly 70 years old! But when we arrived, they allocate us in our own private rooms, one next to the other and they managed to get us a cot for our baby, with bedding and all. My mother in law at the beginning wasn't very impressed, she never stayed in a hostal or anything near it, so she asked the owner if he can change the sheets and no fuzz at all. Then when she relaxed (after a bit of Chilean red wine) she started to chat to the other travellers while we prepared our food and at the end she didn't want to leave! she was really amazed by the big common areas, the friendliness, and the service in general. We all loved our stay and the owners are really, really nice couple. They can't be more nice!! we went to bed quite late chatting with them! Next morning we were very happy with the breakfast, lovely cakes, and bread. The only downside was that the coffee was nescafe. But hey! we had a lovely night under the cozy feather duvets!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

You can do biking, sailing, hiking, etc. The volcano just behind you high up there everyday.
A lot unforgettable memory kept in my mind even half year passed. Just like yesterday. Everything is so fantastic. Highly recommend, esp. that big octagonal house, standing on the top you could see the sheep, cows, and cute small houses with grass on top, everything is like in a fairy-tale world. Love it so much.

The host, a switzerland- chile couple and their daughter are so nice and helpful that they often remind me of the trip to Chile.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yingnan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

You should not miss a stay at Zapato Amarillo. When you drive down the road you do not expect to see the charming sod roofed buildings and the beautiful gardens. We were told by "friends of friends" that you must stay here. We are so glad we did. Nadia and Armin seriously could not be nicer and they ALWAYS have a smile on their face. Nadia helped us with a rental car issue that we never could have done on our own. The rooms are so clean and have beautiful views. The food is delicious and in very large portions. It was probably the best food we had in Chile. We loved the new kittens and the blooming lavender was at it's prime. We had a car, but the bus (from Puerto Octay) stops right at the end of their road. We would stay here over Puerto Varas (too busy, but close enough to visit). You should stay at least two nights and if they have room you will ask to stay longer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Wonderful restful spot where you can unwind and realx. Lovely rooms with excellent gardens and overall spiritual tranquility. Close to Osorno and the western shore of Lake Llanquihue, the largest of ten beautiful lakes, with spectacular views of Calbuco, Osorno and Puntiagudo volcanoes.Nadia and Armin are fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This was my 6th time to Zapato Ararillo in the last 10 years. I've been there while travelling alone, with friends, took the parents there when they came to South America for 6 weeks and most recently stayed there with the girlfriend.

Nadia & Armin are the perfect hosts, friendly and very knowledgeable. They organised a great trip for me and my parents to the thermal waters on the Lago Tupanco. I based my self at Zapato Amarillo when I went to climb the Osorno, Calbuco & Casablanca volcanoes and have stayed there when I have had a stopover in the area as I prefer it to Osorno & Puerto Montt.

Although set in spectacular countryside, there are regular buses every 20 minutes from Osorno so getting there is easy even if you don't have a car; but if you do have a car make sure you drive around the Llanquihue lake to the Vincent Perez Lopez national park, views of the Osorno Volcano and the waterfalls at Petrohue.

Great home cooked food & beautiful gardens. Hands down the best place I've stayed in Chile!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrekHappyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We can't say enough great things about this extraordinary place. When we arrived at 8:30pm there was a delicious meal waiting for us. The owners genuine hospitality and warm heartedness wont be soon forgotten.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

We are a couple on our honeymoon. Rented a car in Bariloche and drove for a few days in Chile.

Zapato amarillo was definitely the most romantic double we've stayed in!
Had fabuolous volcan Osorno view, fireplace, wooden traditional decor and picturesque garden.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nininininininanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Octay
15.3 mi away
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
#1 of 3 in Puerto Octay
79 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal Triwe
Hostal Triwe
#2 of 3 in Puerto Octay
28 reviews
23.6 mi away
Casa Molino
Casa Molino
#12 of 27 in Puerto Varas
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
La Posada del Colono
#5 of 6 in Puerto Octay
5 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hosteria Entre Lagos
Hosteria Entre Lagos
#4 of 6 in Puyehue
30 reviews
21.1 mi away
Cabanas Anulen Puerto Varas
Cabanas Anulen Puerto Varas
#3 of 95 in Puerto Varas
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zapato Amarillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zapato Amarillo B&B

Address: Ruta U-55 | Km 2.5, Puerto Octay 9999, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Octay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Octay
Price Range: £53 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Family Hostel with the legendary green rooves, surrounded by country scenery of enchanting beauty . Here the traveller will find a welcoming place where one can relax, enjoying a delicious breakfast with other guests, for instance, muesli, dairy products, jams, home-made bread, etc., at the same time providing a panorama of the Osorno volcano, as a back-drop. This comfortable, country hostal run by a Swiss-Chilean family, offers a warm and welcoming infrastructure, designed in local wood, dominating the natural surrounding beauty with its grass roofs. We provide double and matrimonial beds with private or shared bathroom, and an original octagonal dormitory for 7 people, with panoramic views. We offer dinner daily to whoever would like to try out our specialities, which are characterized by cooking on low heat. We also offer a kitchenette for exclusive use of guests in the communal area, and, in order to enjoy the open air: terraces, ample gardens, and spaces, containing lavender, rhododendrons and hydrangeas, surrounded by meadows and nearby woodland. For those who enjoy a quiet day, or an intense day exploring the environs, we also offer an invitation to discover, and become captivated by our gastronomic treats. We offer various Chilean specialities, such as baked salmon, pastel de choclo (corn pie), various vegetarian dishes, or dishes based on cheese, such as Swiss fondue or raclette. These are some of the most popular dishes at dinner. We, Nadia and Armin invite you to come and discover this exceptional part of Chile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zapato Amarillo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zapato Amarillo B&B Chile/Puerto Octay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing