We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean, awesome kitchen, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Donde German Hostel
Ranked #12 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The picture above is from the "Nuevo Donde German", i.e. the NEW hostel. Make sure you are aware which one you book as the "old" one is 4km out of town. My review is for the new one.

The location is fantastic - only 6min walk from the Tur-bus station, several big supermarkets and veggie/ fruit stores nearby. Laundry place only down the street (you pay after kg and drop off and pick up the same day).
The whole hostel is more like a cabin in the mountains and build of pine logs. It is really cozy and once you get in, you feel like home. The communal kitchen is large and very well equipped with spaces to store the food with room number. The whole hostel is spotless clean, and I can even recommend the shared bathrooms as there are several.

We stayed in a double bed room with private bathroom, but realized as said above, that one could have easily saved the money because the shared ones were great. Good pressure on the showers, always warm water.

Rooms upstairs have volcano view and have heaters (even though it was difficult to communicate that they would turn on the heaters at night).
Perfect, fast wifi connection. Tour office available.
Great garden with awesome pool, sun stretchers etc.

Only negative point: staff doesn't speak English at ALL. Might be a problem if you have the same abilities with Spanish ;)

Room Tip: Upstairs with volcano view are the nicest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luzifrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed in a twin room with private bathroom which was clean, new and with a fantastic view of one of the Volcanos. The entire hostal is built in pine and very like an alpine home. It was clean, spacious and modern. All the rooms and common areas were to a high standard and plenty of space.

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcy1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The new Donde German in Pucón is great. There's a huge kitchen, a pool out back, and super cozy rooms. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights and loved it. Really quiet, perfect place to stay for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The 1st time I encountered an hostel that gives each guest a pair of slippers. You are not allowed to go up to rooms with shoes. On 1st floor there are big drawers for shoes/slippers.
They only lack room numbers on doors and on these drawers.
Kitchen, dining room, living room, TV room and yard are great.
Location is great - quiet street parallel to main st. and near bus station.
Jeremy at reception speaks good English and was very helpful with various problems we had.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hostel is located just one street off the main road in central Pucon and, as other wrote, is built nearly completely from wood. This gives a nice atmosphere to the building, even though there are a few shortcomings, e.g. the doors and windows do not close completely (you can take a peek outside along the sides of nearly any windows & door in the house) and - as you can see in one of my pictures, someone forgot (?) the railing on the upper staircase resulting in the risk of a 3m drop to anyone not careful enough.

We were greeted by Tatiana, the host, who first of all explained the "rules": no shoes beyond the antry area, only use the provided slippers in the "wooden" areas. No smoking (ok - it is wood). No cooking fish in the self-catering kitchen nor any use of strongly smelling food.

The rooms were comfortably equipped, each one a little different & with enough storage space and amazingly comrtable beds.

Even though we did not use the pool, we did use the garden, there are enough lawn chairs & desks provided.

Wifi is free (even though the thick wooden walls dampen the reception quite effectively so you might be without wifi expecially in the second floor).

One of the nicest & cosiest acommodations I encountered in Chile.

Room Tip: If available ask for a room with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we stayed in the new "donde german" in Pucon for 3 nights at the beginning of November 2013. It is a beautiful wooden villa which is managed by its owner Tatiana with lots of passion and enthusiasm. It is more like a "boutique bed and breakfast" except that you will have to cook it yourself using a very large and nicely equipped kitchen. There are a few rooms. We were on a large matrimonial room with large windows with a beautiful view of the Volcan and private bathroom. We were very lucky to share all the house with only 2 other guests from Germany. We stayed here 3 days and this was the best accomodation we´ve found in whole of Chile. I think that the two other guests from Germany shared the same view since they stayed there for 9 days...Great price - quality ratio. We liked also that Tatiana is fairly strict about house-rules to keep it clean and quiet to allow its guests to enjoy the beautiful house and relax as if you were at home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We loved this little hostel in the middle of Pucon. It is the NEW Dondegerman Hostel and it was really gorgeous - we didn't expect this for the price.

The service was great. Our room was really cute with beautiful colourful linen in great taste. It also had gorgeous views of the Volcano (which we only saw for a few hours before clouds came over). The bathroom though is sooo amazing!!! I think each room is a little different but our bathroom was huge with a giant shower with pretty blue tiles. The whole hostel is made from timber which gives it a warm european feel.

The common areas are pleasant and clean with a great kitchen. There is no washing machine but I think this is fairly usual in Chile so you'll need to use a laundry if you need to clean clothes or I think they have a laundry service through the hostel.

The town of Pucon is really great too. We didn't have much time to see it and wish we could have stayed a little longer.

Room Tip: We had the blue room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pucon hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
0.1 mi away
Lacustre Trip Hostel
Lacustre Trip Hostel
#6 of 176 in Pucon
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#10 of 176 in Pucon
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nuevo Donde German Hostal
3.5 mi away
Okori Hostel
Okori Hostel
#4 of 176 in Pucon
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donde German Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donde German Hostel

Address: Las Rosas 590, Pucon, Chile
Region: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Pucon
Price Range: £14 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Donde German Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing