We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!!!”
Review of ELEMENTOS Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ELEMENTOS Hostel
Ranked #13 of 56 Pucon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Fuego's room. Its a very nice room, i don't know about the others bedrooms, but this one is amazing. From the bed, you can see the Villa Rica Vulcano, and the bathroom is huge and clean. The other comuns areas at the hotel are very fine, there is a very helpful kitchen, a cozy room and a lot of differents things and people to know. The location is very good, close to the market, to the downtown, to the bus station and other places. And the price is very good!!

Room Tip: The big bedroom is more cozy compared to the others and the price it's not so different. Because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

The hostess here was very nice, however our overall experience with the hostel was not good. The walls are paper thin and the hostess lives on site with a young baby, whose cries we heard all night. The common area is always full of people, which is great socially but frustrating in the middle of the night when you can hear every word through paper thin walls.

The kitchen is always crowded - it's very very small. There are way too many rooms for such a small kitchen. It was hard to get in and make your meal, and then there would be nowhere to sit anyways because the living area is so small.

It's also dirty. In the mornings there were left out crumbs, grease, carrot shavings, etc. from the night before. The "clean up after yourself" policy isn't very enforced so we were constantly cleaning other people's dishes and messes to cook our meals.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELEMENTOSEcoHostel, Propietario at ELEMENTOS Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your feedback. As a family hostel, I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by my then very young baby daughter. I somewhat noticed your facial expression while she was playing with two Brazilian guest. Most passengers enjoy meeting her and choose a family hostel over a hotel do be in touch with locals and other guest. However, we did not have a lot of privacy and have moved out. So, Nayeli is now only present after Kindergarden.

We know that the southern Chilean, wooden building structure has horrible sound isolation but cannot do anything about it. In our new project, the ELEMENTOS EcoLodge, we will have great natural acoustic isolation and will be in the country side to avoid external noise.

Our kitchen is not the biggest but we usually don´t have problems, as many people cook together or not everyone needs it at the same time. On few occasions, our service to allow guests who have already checked out to stay in the common areas and in the kitchen leads to overflow, which must have been what happened during your stay.

There is a very fine line between enforcing "clean after yourself" too little and too much. I expect travelers to be respectful and not to have to remind them every time they use something, that there Mom doesn´t live here. Unfortunately, some people don´t respect others the way we wish and in rare occasions the same people who disobey the kitchen-closure at 10 PM are the same once who leave their stuff and crumbs all over the place, for you to find it before the cleaning staff arrives in the morning. I agree. It´s annoying but we often hear that we are very clean and strict in comparison to other places.

Greetings from Pucón!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Elementos and loved it. We stayed in one of the cabin rooms which was big and comfy with a table and chairs and wardrobe and loads of room to spread out. We thought it was a bargain compared with value you get in most hostels.
Sarina the owner is a kind of superwoman. She runs around organizing activities for everyone, giving advice, chatting and being sociable, running a tour business and being conscious to make sure everyone was having a good time. She was running it all on her own whilst having a 6 month old baby balanced on her hip. Her friendly open nature gives Elementos a lovely family atmosphere and you will instantly feel at home. She even organized a barbecue whilst we were there and we all contributed something and enjoyed a great night sharing wine, food and stories, haven't laughed so much in ages!
We did the Vilcano trip and whitewater rafting with Sarinas company. Both were excellent. In particular the volcano walk ... All the other tour companies groups were massive and didn't have many guides or personal attention. Our group was 3 people and the guide and we got a lot of care. Also our guide Pablo wasn't just going through the motions he genuinely loves every day he goes up there you could see it so clearly.
If I had any criticism of Elementos it's that it's so good and friendly (and close to the supermarket) that everyone tends to stay in to cook and the kitchen can get a little crowded. If that bothers you I suggest you take the money you saved on such a good room rate and head out for dinner!
Thanks Sarina for a great stay, you rock!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunty_minxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hostel is not in the centre of the town but really close to two huge supermarkets and the station of TurBus. Furthermore, you can book tours to the most important sights (Vilaricca, hot springs, etc.) directly in the hostel itself. Thanks to its smaller size it has a very familiar atmosphere and is great to relax. Only downside is that it can get quite cold during winter times (but this is probably the case in most places).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a nice stay at Elementos. We stayed in the Fuego room and it was very large and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and helpful. They were able to suggest things to do as well as book us on tours. It's located a little out of the downtown but it's a very easy and safe walk. Although we didn't use it with the fantastic food in Pucon, there is access to the kitchen if you would like to make your own meals.

We enjoyed our stay at Elementos.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

From the kind and gentleness approach to the professionalism, we couldn't be happier with our choice! Sarina and Alejandro were the best hosts ever and we're surely will look for them once we get to Pucón again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

The place has a very family atmosphere. Its clean, the service is great, the breakfast is great...you can have private room and bathroom if you want. they also provide all the activities in pucon, which makes it easy. In all the activities someone picks you up at the hostel. everyone that works here makes you feel so good. I will really miss the days here!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.5 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
0.6 mi away
Guest House Victor Gallegos
4.3 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Andes Pucon
Hostal Andes Pucon
#8 of 179 in Pucon
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cabanas Huarranchi
Cabanas Huarranchi
#93 of 179 in Pucon
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruka Pucon Hostel
Ruka Pucon Hostel
#85 of 179 in Pucon
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ELEMENTOS Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ELEMENTOS Hostel

Address: Pasaje Las Rosas 640, Pucon 4920000, Chile
Region: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Pucon
Price Range: £8 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ELEMENTOS Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ELEMENTOS EcoHostel is a cozy, eco-friendly bed & breakfast, perfect for your visit to Pucón. We have a total of twelve beds, distributed in double rooms and dorms, with private and shared bathrooms. All of our beds have new, comfortable mattresses and warm feather beds. Our spacey bathrooms are equipped with bath tubs and have hot water at all times. In our well equipped kitchen, we provide you with everything needed to cook your own meal – from pots and pans to spices. In addition, all of our guests are invited to free tea and coffee during the time of their stay. We have plenty of space to enjoy a hearty Chilean “asado” (BBQ) and to relax in the living room or in the garden. Our pets, two goats, two dogs and two cats, ensure you are well entertained and also safe. Wi-Fi and computers, as well as private parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your ELEMENTOS Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing