We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeview Special”
Review of Hotel Antumalal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Antumalal
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

What a location ! We spent 3 nights from Nov 3 to 6, 2013
Rooms were spacious, great view onto the lake and had all the amenities. We loved the lush grounds, the big fireplace in the main lounge.Our afternoons were spent there with a good glassof wine And the dining room view is spectacular. We had dinner there 2 evenings in a row enjoying the great sunset. Food is very good. What more can you want? Good service that is and we got it. One caveat, because it's location is outside of Pucon proper you will need a car, or order a taxi. It's a 3 min ride to town and the taxi price is about US$5.00/ each way.
Would we come back? With that location and view.... ANY TIME

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joerg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Antumalal here on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your time. And we of course would love to welcome you back once again so you may enjoy our service, views and charm once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

This review reflects numerous mixed feelings from our two-night stay. As has been amply pointed out the building design is architecturally interesting, the generally well maintained grounds are spacious and varied, the location is stunning, and the common indoor areas are inviting and cozy. During our stay we found the staff at reception to be very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant's dinner menu and preparation to be quite good. That said, we had more unfavorable impressions than favorable. Among the items that need attention and certainly should be improved (and ought to have been improved by now based on reading other older reviews and the hotel's responses):
1. Very poor Wi-Fi with a slow weak signal and frequent drops.
2. Poor temperature control in the rooms – sluggish response making it difficult to cool a warm room and difficult to warm a cool room
3. A pervasive, sometimes annoying smoky smell throughout the hotel. Yes, the fireplaces in the public spaces and the individual rooms are part of the original design and “charm”.
4. Unacceptably shoddy attention to cleanliness in individual rooms with details overlooked. It's time to update the linens and in-room window seat cushions.
5. Though the pool and hot tub complex is a spacious appealing amenity we were less than thrilled by debris in the hot tub on two occasions.
6. We found service in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner to be extremely slow (read uncaring and annoying) even though the restaurant was not busy during our stay. Is management paying attention?

A few other items to consider: The hotel's relative isolation is perhaps part of its charm, but be aware it is about a 30 minute walk from Pucon, so restaurants in Pucon may not be a viable dinner option unless you have a car or hire a taxi. The bathrooms are vary small and outdated, as in a 1960s-era motel.

It seems the hotel is trying to rely too much on its past glory, as overall our visit was a so-so 'retro' experience but not deserving of more than three stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2SLOTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su crítica. Hemos leído detenidamente sus comentarios, y a continuación respondo:

1. Durante el último año hemos cambiado e instalado nuevos equipos para ofrecer un servicio de Wifi de calidad y sin interrupciones. La cantidad de comentarios negativos que hemos recibido sobre ese servicio ha disminuido a casi ninguno, así que nos sorprendió leer el suyo sobre este servicio. En que parte de hotel trataban de usar el Wifi? Y se comunicaron el inconveniente a la recepción en el momento?

2. En todas las habitaciones del segundo piso en junio de este año, instalamos máquinas de enfriamiento y calentamiento de aire. Hemos hecho varias pruebas para asegurar el buen funcionamiento de las máquinas, y no hemos encontrado inconvenientes. Ud se comunicó el problema con la temperatura en la habitación al Jefe de Operaciones?

3. Con respecto a su comentario sobre el olor a humo en todo el hotel, lamentablemente con chimeneas abiertas & con el viento del sur de Chile, siempre habra un rasgo de ese olor. Tenemos acondicionadas 2 habitaciones sin chimeneas, para clientes con alergias. No hemos recibido nunca comentarios negativos sobre esto, sin embargo, vamos a mejorar la forma en que funcionan las chimeneas para minimizar este efecto.

4. Con respecto a la limpieza de las habitaciones, obviamente nos preocupa, y ya hemos conversado con todas las camareras, y hemos revisado el listado de todas las tareas que deben realizar en cada habitación antes de entregarla , con el fin de mejorar este servicio esencial.

5. Para poder mejorar la atención en el Spa, nos gustaría saber a cuál hot tub, Ud se referiría: a la pileta de hidromasaje interior, o el jacuzzi exterior? La pileta interior esta tallada a roca natural, & como baja el agua de la roca viva, de vez en cuando se acumula un poco de sedimento natural en la pileta.

6. Y finalmente, con respecto a su comentario sobre el servicio en el restaurant, ya hemos tomado acción para mejorar la calidad y rapidez del servicio para que esto no vuelva a pasar. Gracias por hacernos hincapié de este inconveniente.

Nos gustaría recibir su respuesta sobre las preguntas arriba, para aclarar detalles y tomar la acción necesaria para mejorar nuestro servicio y atención. Como siempre estamos agradecidos de recibir comentarios como los suyos ya que siempre sirven para enfocar nuestra atención en las áreas que requieren acción.

Le saluda muy cordialmente, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hotel Antumalal is breathtakingly beautiful! It's gracious and feels old-worldish, while at the same time provides efficient, thoughtful and helpful services.Throughout the bauhaus-style hotel are sitting rooms, each with a wood-burning fireplace, and with a view over the lake, hills or gardens. We were there at the very beginning of Spring, so mornings and nights were cold and the fireplaces -- whether those laid out ready to light in each room, or already lit in the sitting rooms were cozy and welcome. The rooms are comfortable, cozy but not at all small -- in fact,we had a family room in which the second room (with two single beds) included a large fireplace, two couches and a table -- and each has an amazing view. The spa area is small and lovely, though we used only the jacuzzi -- though not quite hot enough, this is also beautiful, built into rocks, and with a fireplace in the pool area. Everyone at the hotel was helpful -- they provided great suggestions, fresh towels to bring to nearby thermal hot springs, made dinner reservations, were more than tolerant of our weak Spanish, and were friendly and outgoing. Pucon and the surrounding area is absolutely beautiful -- what an added bonus to have a hotel make the indoors as wonderful as the outdoors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antumaco, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful comments! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay to the full. We agree that the views from our rooms are incomparable, and the comfort and service at the Antumalal is always top of our agenda to maintain and perfect. We will look into why the water in the jacuzzi could have been hotter during your stay, so thank you for mentioning this as it will help us to improve that service. We hope you may return to the Antumalal one day in the future. Warm regards and wishing you happy memories from Pucón!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed at this lovely place two years ago, and it still sets the bar for everything I ever want in a hotel. We had just taken an all night bus from Santiago, so actually arrived before anyone was up - which gave us time and freedom to explore this lovely spot - which felt more like an old hunting lodge than a hotel. There are wood burning fireplaces everywhere - including a huge one beside the indoor pool! The views are truly spectacular - every window basically has a view of the lake topped with a perfectly shaped volcano with just enough snowcap to make it almost look fake. I don't remember the food itself, but do remember how beautiful it was eating on the balcony and enjoying my Chilean wine with the spectacular views. Stayed for three nights and want to go back someday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antumaco, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review! We agree that the location and views from our hotel are outstanding and we work hard to preserve that original essence conceived all those decades ago while still offering a luxury stay to our 21st century clients. We too hope you can return one day & enjoy another stay with us at the Antumalal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

It´s a beatiful place, arround of nature, tree and birds, but probably the price is too much, for the services in general.
Foods OK, the rooms are normal, but for it be a five stars hotel, I waited a little more en general.
The spa is a nice place, but the principal pool was cold (19 º C ).
The sunset was amazing, probably the most beatiful.
Anyway, it´s a good option in Pucon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodrigo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Antumalal is a boutique hotel that mix a unique character - a 1950s' mountain lodge and leisure style - with excelent services and facilities. The location is perfect -near town but far enough to be undisturbed- with garden and forests that express the unique Chilean rainforest ecosystem. As it has not many room, the service is personalized and keep the spirit of a family hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fmorenog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antumaco, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of the Antumalal! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay & hope you will recommend us to your friends and family! And of course, you know where we are for your next escape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Antumalal. Comfortable rooms with spectacular views across the lake, beautiful gardens down to lakeshore and a great spa area. We ate at the restaurant every night and the food was great. The hotel also has cars available for rent, which is really convenient and probably necessary to get the most out of the area.....and the town. It would be a bit far to walk comfortably.


Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SnaveSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antumaco, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Many thanks for your comments! We also believe that offering car hire direct from the hotel is of great value to our clients! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that maybe one day you will return to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pucon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
3.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pucon Green Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Vira Vira - Relais & Chateaux
18.5 mi away
Hotel & Termas Huife
Hotel & Termas Huife
#6 of 26 in Pucon
345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#13 of 26 in Pucon
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antumalal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antumalal

Address: Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pucon
#3 Family Hotel in Pucon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
Price Range: £170 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antumalal 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a place to sleep, the Antumalal offers an unforgettable experience. Building began in 1945 fusing vanguard architectural forms with functionality and complete integration with the surroundings. To this day the unique character has been preserved, and all areas offer the amenities of a luxurious boutique hotel. Each of the 22 rooms is paneled with local wood and stone and all materials and furnishings are locally made. The panoramic windows look out over the private park and lake instigating a feeling of calm and total rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Antumalal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antumalal Hotel Pucon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing